Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Opinions on Mocopan Coffee?

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    51

    Opinions on Mocopan Coffee?

    Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Anybody have experience with them? I bought 500grams the other day and at the moment its tasting very stale. Mind you i had to grind it on my now returned KG100 on its finest level but the coffee tastes pretty tepid.

    Im currently waiting for my Iberital Challenge to come in.

    I need a new place to source FRESHly roasted coffee from (melbourne)

  2. #2
    Senior Member fatboy_1999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    2,121

    Re: Opinions on Mocopan Coffee?

    Ive only tried them once.

    I also thought it was stale when I used it.

    I bought my Silvia from them a few years back and they included 500g or a kilo of their coffee gratis.

    I saw it come from the wall of coffee, so it was the same stuff they were selling everyone else. They seemed to be doing a good amount of business, so I thought I would try it when I got the machine going.

    I had been roasting my own for a while at that point and had been pretty happy with the results.

    When I got the machine going, I dialed in with my coffee so I could compare the old machine taste to the new. After we had done a couple with my coffee, I dialed in theirs. Made 2 flat whites, extraction times were good, shots looked OK but not great, taste was disappointing.

    Brett.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1,673

    Re: Opinions on Mocopan Coffee?

    I have only ever had it in cafes and I wasnt really impressed. Even Vittoria tastes better (plus they are a good source of storage tins, ristretto cups etc).

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    623

    Re: Opinions on Mocopan Coffee?

    Quote Originally Posted by nicholasm link=1171243541/0#0 date=1171243540
    I need a new place to source FRESHly roasted coffee from (melbourne)
    Im sure any number of sponsors here would be able to sort you out there. Mail order can be just as good a way to try different roasters beans.

    Try me here: http://www.coffeeroastery.com.au/

    or to see all the sponsors here:http://coffeesnobs.com.au/YaBB.pl?board=Sponsors

  5. #5
    Sleep is overrated Thundergod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    10,496

    Re: Opinions on Mocopan Coffee?

    Quote Originally Posted by nicholasm link=1171243541/0#0 date=1171243540
    I need a new place to source FRESHly roasted coffee from (melbourne)
    Dont limit yourself to Melbourne.
    By the time your freshly roasted beans arrive from a sponsor, theyll be ready to use.

  6. #6
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    29

    Re: Opinions on Mocopan Coffee?

    Hi nicholasm,

    Try Veneziano (or more specifically take a trip to First Pour cafe). http://coffeesnobs.com.au/YaBB.pl?num=1163934198

    Theyve got some nice blends, and SOs and if you want really fresh beans I think they can even run some green beens through their sample roaster. Havent tried that yet (not enough will power to wait for the degas), but noticed some pricing by their green bean cupboards.

    All the staff Ive spoken to out there seem to be really into their coffee and dont mind chatting about it (even to a newbie like me).

    I work in the city so when I run out of beans I jump on the tram during lunch and re-supply.

    Of course a lot of the fun with coffee is sampling a heap of different roasts/blends. Im sure all the site sponsers are passionate about their coffee so theyll be the best place to start finding what suits your taste.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2,334

    Re: Opinions on Mocopan Coffee?

    You can roast your own or buy some of their green beans and roast there for about $16 I think? If youre not so inclined to do so, their roasted stuff is just as good. According to Cassie, there is always turn over in their silos on the wall so youll never get stale stuff.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    7

    Re: Opinions on Mocopan Coffee?

    Wild bean cafe located at some BP service stations sell mocapan coffee..To me it tasts beter than Mcdonnalds....I only buy it on the go of course.....

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    163

    Re: Opinions on Mocopan Coffee?

    Behmor Brazen - $249 - Free Freight
    I think Mocopan is a coffee everyone has had. They were one of the first big commercial roasters, a lot of people started their history from there. I remember mocopan was one of my first ever coffees. I use to love it 25 years ago. Hmmmm 80s caps. I dont think an 80s cap can be made without Mocopan.



Similar Threads

  1. First time grinder - Mocopan
    By nu2coffee in forum Grinders
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 14th June 2008, 04:15 PM
  2. Coffee bean storage, opinions pls
    By Darky in forum Roasted Bean Storage
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 29th January 2008, 04:01 PM
  3. Opinions on Nadines Coffee Beans
    By nicholasm in forum General Coffee Related...
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th March 2007, 09:47 AM
  4. Need your opinions on a good decaffeinated coffee
    By speeder in forum General Coffee Related...
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 2nd August 2006, 09:33 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •