Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: Regarding CHOICE reviews

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Posts
    28

    Regarding CHOICE reviews

    Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Must be careful about what I write here, but beware of their reviews on anything at all, certainly coffee stuff. *Many years ago I bought a tennis racquet that they rcommended, made by Dunlop. *WHAT A PIECE OF CRAP. Had it restrung, doubted myself etc. *Then found out that the racquets were "tested" at something like the NSW tennis academy (or whatever) *- and guess who sponsors all of the players - 8)
    I have read their reviews of espresso gear and they would have you believe that Poundys roaster is a a "small, economically priced, apartment sized" model. And that rancid International Roast being squeezed out of a bricklayers sock is the benchmark in quality coffee that they tried to get the machines to emulate.
    Absolutely laughable. *::)

  2. #2
    CoffeeSnobs Owner Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    17,087

    Re: Regarding CHOICE reviews

    International Roast being squeezed out of a bricklayers sock
    ;D Total Cack! ;D

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    291

    Re: Regarding CHOICE reviews

    they dont care about people actually drinking coffee...
    or what it really takes to make a good coffee
    just about something thats ez to keep clean and will sit and look pretty on the bench!

    "squeezed out of a bricklayers sock"
    isnt that what the nespresso pod system does automatically???

    clarexican

  4. #4
    CoffeeSnobs Owner Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    17,087

    Re: Regarding CHOICE reviews

    ;D Still Cacking ;D
    I am so easily amused somtimes. ;)

    A little off topic but I came across a patent registration for a Nestle pod system for cars. Its easy to poo-poo the pod system for home-use but built into the dash of my car could be good if (like 2muchcoffeeman suggested) you could fill the pods with your own roast!

    :D

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    291

    Re: Regarding CHOICE reviews

    i am sure there are posts about doing that on a.c.
    the worst bit though is you would get the "filter paper" taste :-X

    they seem to like them in America? esp with home roast

    clarexican

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    439

    Re: Regarding CHOICE reviews

    No the Nespresso thingys are capsules, not pods, and the loading of the capsule punctures the capsule at 2 ends for the water to flow in and out. It doesnt flow through a paper wall like ESE pods.

    Home reloading of the capsules would be rather difficult from what Ive seen.

    And yes, the Choice reviews are total BS, even when there isnt a hidden agenda. The reviewers just arent competant in the fields (eg Gaggia machines rate badly for usability because the PFs are too heavy :-X).

    Greg


  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    291

    Re: Regarding CHOICE reviews

    Behmor Brazen - $249 - Free Freight
    Hi Greg,

    I understand now :), I thought they were pods...oops
    thanks for clearing that up.

    clarexican



Similar Threads

  1. WA Cafe Reviews on MCR
    By greenman in forum WA
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 31st March 2009, 06:12 PM
  2. Saeco Via Venezia reviews?
    By 10ett in forum Brewing Equipment - Entry level (sub $500)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 31st March 2009, 05:22 PM
  3. Cafe reviews
    By jimmyb in forum General Coffee Related...
    Replies: 76
    Last Post: 16th July 2008, 06:21 PM
  4. Choice chooses choice machines
    By robusto in forum General Coffee Related...
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 30th September 2005, 02:39 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •