Results 1 to 42 of 42

Thread: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    160

    Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Howdy all,

    I have a theory: Consumption of SOY-CHAI (not only excessive consumption but any consumption at all) has an adverse effect on the consumers complaint regulation system, causing the consumer to find fault in all things directly and/or indirectly related to any establishement they enter. This complaint regulation fault seems to render the SOY-CHAI consumer incapable of saying anything that any non SOY-CHAI consumer deems listenable and results in the consumer complaining of things unworthy of complaint.

    ....or is it just me and the SOY-CHAI consumers that enter my cafe?

  2. #2
    Wine_of_the_Bean
    Guest

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    Its funny seeing the incredulous looks I get when I tell customers we dont have soy. I can understand that people have allergies or intolerances to dairy. That Im fine with if it is stated prior to ordering. However, it seems like the guilt trip is laid out far too often _after_ theyre told its not available.

    Had three customers come in near closing on a Saturday afternoon. I greeted them and asked what they would like. The mum asks for a soy latte. I said sorry, we dont do soy. Her reply: "I dont take dairy." Im fine with that, but then she produced a packet of Jarrah white choc something, and asked me to make a long black with it. I quickly looked at the ingredients, and lo and behold, the first one was milk solids. Then it was the sons turn...He was severely indecisive, and asked for a Fanta, to which his mum told him off, and have something not so "sticky." After about five minutes, he begrudgingly ordered a skim strawberry milkshake (or at least his mother ordered for him). I went to get the ice cream, when the boy asked what brand the ice cream was. I thought it odd, and just replied its plain vanilla ice cream. The mother butted in and said he has a nut allergy and mumbling something about certified nut-free. Instead of letting me know of life-threatening food allergies beforehand, they would have let me discover that fact by having their son convulsing on the floor on my own. She said just use ice, and skim milk. It was a revolting drink with next to no flavour to speak of. I found out later that he was dumping packets of Equal into it to make it palatable. At least nan was tactful in ordering a simple cappucino.

    I seriously dont know if the son really had a nut allergy, and wasnt going to risk finding out. But Im pretty certain the mother was a true hypocrit.


  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    188

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    I had a laugh, read that as compliment gene and was thinking of the complement cascade/immunity.

    Hey, Ive been known to have a soy chai now and then (hubby is on a quest to brew a good chai concoction) though I do like your observation. I reckon your statement is even true-er if the person is a yoga, pilates (yogalates?) fan.

  4. #4
    Wine_of_the_Bean
    Guest

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    I have no problems with chai. It should be left as a milk/soy-free product however.

    Now correct me if Im wrong, but isnt pilates based in part on yoga? So combining the two would merely be just modifying yoga?

  5. #5
    Sleep is overrated Thundergod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    10,496

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    Pilates is a modern invention and I think youre right about the yoga base.

  6. #6
    Super Moderator scoota_gal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    4,126

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    The way milk prices are heading, Im about to tell people we dont stock skim, low fat or soy milk...Or at the very least add another 50 cents per drink for such milk. Has anyone else seen the price of milk lately!? I swear, its worse than petrol!

    And before I totally bag out Dairy Farmers....check out the price of 3 litres against 2 litres for yourselves...you might notice something that we did and its not all good! :o



    Nunu, Id love to know why you dont stock soy. Is it cost/convenience related?


    And we dont do any chai latte stuff. Nor am I about to.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,339

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    We were at a cafe at Cronulla for lunch yesterday - coffee was $3.30 and soy or skim an extra 50c. *First time Ive seen a surcharge for skim.

    3 litres of Pura whole milk costs me $4 at Woolies.

    Sue had a chai latte - twas mainly latte! :P

  8. #8
    Super Moderator scoota_gal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    4,126

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    In our local stoopidmarket, 3 litres of Dairy Farmer is costing...

    $6.30 (or thereabouts)

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    838

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    Quote Originally Posted by scoota gal link=1208770762/0#5 date=1208777875
    The way milk prices are heading, Im about to tell people we dont stock skim, low fat or soy milk...Or at the very least add another 50 cents per drink for such milk. Has anyone else seen the price of milk lately!? I swear, its worse than petrol!

    And before I totally bag out Dairy Farmers....check out the price of 3 litres against 2 litres for yourselves...you might notice something that we did and its not all good! *:o
    Every couple of days I buy 6 litres of milk. :o I used to only buy low fat for years,.. but I stopped recently because of the price and now get regular milk except when I get a chance to buy from Aldi,..then Ill get low fat. Buying approx 21 litres a week,.. with sometimes up to an extra $1 per 3 litres for low fat (depending where I can get it at the time),..all add up to um....almost 3kg worth of green beans. ::)

    So scoota,..whats the go with the 3L against 2L?? Dont tell me I could have been saving money by buying the 2L.

    Hey,.. did anyone catch the recent story on milk..maybe on ACA??? I only caught a bit of the promo and it was something about milk not being all that we think it is or something like that.


  10. #10
    Super Moderator scoota_gal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    4,126

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    We discovered that we were getting charged more per litre to buy 3 litres of Dairy Farmers and so have decided to not use 3 litre bottles anymore and just stick with the 2 litres.

    So much for buying in bulk...::)

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    838

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    Quote Originally Posted by scoota gal link=1208770762/0#7 date=1208780294
    In our local stoopidmarket, 3 litres of Dairy Farmer is costing...

    $6.30 (or thereabouts)
    Woolworth Light is $4.27 and Pura Low fat $6.79 ::) WTFrock?? nudging upwards to the $7 mark for 3L ????? >:(

  12. #12
    mwatt
    Guest

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    Scoota thats crazy! I pay around $1 less for the exact same milk! *:o

    Woolies home brand was $3.19 when I grabbed 3L of that the other day!

  13. #13
    Super Moderator scoota_gal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    4,126

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    Yep...Id be willing to be the dairy farmers themselves arent seeing those sorts of returns either.

    Meanwhile, we still sell a loaf of sliced bread at 2.70 a loaf. Whilst wheat prices have nearly hit the 1000 dollar a tonne mark.

    So much for the "basics" being affordable...

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    838

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    Quote Originally Posted by scoota gal link=1208770762/0#9 date=1208780841
    We discovered that we were getting charged more per litre to buy 3 litres of Dairy Farmers and so have decided to not use 3 litre bottles anymore and just stick with the 2 litres.

    So much for buying in bulk...::)
    a local service station here has been selling buy 2 x 2L milk for $5 ,..and so I grab those whenever I go there to fill up because it is waay cheaper than buying 3Ls from my local supermarket going by price per litre.

  15. #15
    Sleep is overrated Thundergod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    10,496

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    I noticed a local service station selling the 2 x 2L for $5, it was Coles branded milk.

    I noticed 7/11 was costing me way too much for bread and milk when I dropped in on the way home so they dont get me in there any more.

    I found a new service station to buy my petrol from on the way home and found that they sell Dairy Farmers 3L for $5.

    Even the new local newsagent charges only about $5-50.

    Scoots - $6-30 is ridiculous!

  16. #16
    COFFEECHASER
    Guest

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    I found the fruit market across from me sells 3L Dairy Farmers for $4.55, which is cheaper than the supermarket in the same complex. The buying power of a large supermarket chain doesnt get passed on it seems. It does work out cheaper than 2L as price per litre for me.

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    160

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    Quote Originally Posted by scoota gal link=1208770762/0#5 date=1208777875
    And we dont do any chai latte stuff. Nor am I about to.
    Thats the spirit Scoots!

    If it were up to me Id be the same!

    ...just sold up and doing the 14 day change over with the new owners...they seem to be aiming at different cliental than I...the fussy complaining type apparently!

  18. #18
    Senior Member askthecoffeeguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Preston, victoria, 3072
    Posts
    817

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    i just worked out that I sell anywhere between 850 and 1000 chai soy lattes per week, more if you include my new store, with an average sale price of $3.40ea, at an average cost of 70c ea to make

    on behalf of my accountant and the tax department i would personally like to thank all yoga poseurs drinking chai soy lattes everywhere...

    pat ;D

  19. #19
    Wine_of_the_Bean
    Guest

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    I dont stock soy because demand doesnt justify carrying it. We might get one per week asking for soy. I also dont approve of serving someone a coffee that would be at a lower temperature than normal milk-based drinks. Youre just inviting complaints doing that.

    Im not ashamed to say that we stock home brand full cream milk and Woolies brand skim. Id have to charge a fair bit more for coffees if I were using branded milk. Havent had one complaint about not using branded milk.

    We use a loose leaf, rooibos-based chai, not some sugary chai-flavoured syrup. We also use African red drinking chocolate instead of Cadbury etc.

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Werribee, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    737

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    Brothers girlfriend asked for chai latte the other day :o I dont have any chai.
    So Im asking anyone here how do you make it? :-/

  21. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    160

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    Quote Originally Posted by martybean link=1208770762/15#19 date=1208809862
    Brothers girlfriend asked for chai latte the other day :o I dont have any chai.
    So Im asking anyone here how do you make it? :-/
    1st you get a bag of extremely low quality tea, hold at face height and complain non-sensically for 8-10 min then put it in "new age" styled packaging and sell for $4 p/cup.

  22. #22
    Senior Member askthecoffeeguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Preston, victoria, 3072
    Posts
    817

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    you cant go past a good loose-leaf based chai that has been properly infused - we use a plunger at my work - for at least five minutes. then strain this off into a mug with steamed milk of choice in the bottom occupying say a third of the cup. add honey as required

    otherwise we use a chai concentrate from new zealand which is fully organic with no crap added, which is quite spicy, and another from queensland, which is more aniseed based (also nothing artifical added) - whack 20 to 30ml of the concentrate in the bottom of a standard sized latte glass (depending upon concentration of the product you are using)

    add a third of the steamed milk that you are using (doesnt have to be soy) into the glass, the quickly flash steam these ingredients - then top with milk of choice

    takes all of half a minute to make and youve just made three bucks or more depending upon size

    obviously chai lattes are not for everyone, and are not suitable for all environments, but if you can develop a specialty niche market (my current project is called "Shanti Bhagwan - Urban Chai Temple" - and weve been open for five weeks) - there is a very lucrative mark up on the product

    but it has to be made well to ensure return patronage, and not merely added on as an after-thought

    my two cents...

    pat

  23. #23
    Wine_of_the_Bean
    Guest

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    My chai contains rooibos tea, cinnamon, cardamom, citrus peel, ginger bits, pepper, star aniseed, and cloves. Its probably easier to buy your own than make the tea itself.

    I can put mine in the portafilter, and "pull shots." You have to start and stop the shot to make sure the chai isnt too weak. Fill the cup/glass about halfway with chai, and the rest with textured milk. Flushing afterwards is imperative, to keep the chai flavours from affecting the espresso.

  24. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1,077

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    From an old fashioned thinker at times
    • Does milk actually have a price tag? It just goes in the trolley or gets delivered, its rather like toilet paper, you need it or settle for buying a cow and using squares of newspaper.
    • Soy - what a simple way to ruin a good coffee
    • Chai latte - what happened to proper quality tea from a tea pot?
    ;)
    Mal

  25. #25
    Super Moderator scoota_gal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    4,126

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    It is TG!

    But the reality is that out here, Dairy Farmers is charging us $5.60 for 3 litres of milk. Now we need to add some cost to that in regards to maitaining fridges and paying electricity, staff wages etc. So, weve just decided that its too expensive and have dropped it.

    I think personally, Dairy Farmers is making a rod for their own back and are going to lose sales as people can go and get IGA milk for a little over 3 bucks for 3 litres.

    Cant really see why DF has to sell the 3 litres at double the cost! I thought that they were getting their product direct from the farmers... :-?

  26. #26
    mwatt
    Guest

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    If I knew that the extra price of DF (over a no-name brand for example) was going straight to the farmers - Id buy it without blinking. But I remember when milk went up 50c recently, a farmer I heard interviewed on the ABC said theyd be lucky to see 7c of that. >:(

    But to stay on-topic, Ive had chai tea, and it was ok, but I cant for the life of me understand the desire to put foamed milk in it - and especially steamed soy! But then, Im married to a guy who thinks putting milk in coffee in any concentration greater than as per a macchiato is bizarre... :) So I suppose everyones odd in someone elses eyes ...

  27. #27
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    202

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    I used to work at our local IGA and could nt decide between Dairy farmers or IGA brand. The manager told me the IGA brand was dairy farmers milk anyway!

  28. #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    1,562

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    And Wollies milk is Pura!

    DF is a nice product, but the pricing is insane! Pura aint much better

    Aldi Lite Milk is cheap and tasty and is the main stay in my household.

    I would add caution to the wind when viewing ACA and TT. They are "in the gutter" reporting shows and are extremely bias. When they decide to run a story, they give the other side (generally the accused) less than 24hrs, sometimes just hours before the report goes to air, to respond. - ACA and TT almost all the time never report gospel! Be careful!


  29. #29
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    1,562

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    Quote Originally Posted by Wine_of_the_Bean link=1208770762/0#1 date=1208773667
    Its funny seeing the incredulous looks I get when I tell customers we dont have soy. I can understand that people have allergies or intolerances to dairy. That Im fine with if it is stated prior to ordering. However, it seems like the guilt trip is laid out far too often _after_ theyre told its not available.

    Had three customers come in near closing on a Saturday afternoon. I greeted them and asked what they would like. The mum asks for a soy latte. I said sorry, we dont do soy. Her reply: "I dont take dairy." Im fine with that, but then she produced a packet of Jarrah white choc something, and asked me to make a long black with it. I quickly looked at the ingredients, and lo and behold, the first one was milk solids. Then it was the sons turn...He was severely indecisive, and asked for a Fanta, to which his mum told him off, and have something not so "sticky." After about five minutes, he begrudgingly ordered a skim strawberry milkshake (or at least his mother ordered for him). I went to get the ice cream, when the boy asked what brand the ice cream was. I thought it odd, and just replied its plain vanilla ice cream. The mother butted in and said he has a nut allergy and mumbling something about certified nut-free. Instead of letting me know of life-threatening food allergies beforehand, they would have let me discover that fact by having their son convulsing on the floor on my own. She said just use ice, and skim milk. It was a revolting drink with next to no flavour to speak of. I found out later that he was dumping packets of Equal into it to make it palatable. At least nan was tactful in ordering a simple cappucino.

    I seriously dont know if the son really had a nut allergy, and wasnt going to risk finding out. But Im pretty certain the mother was a true hypocrit.
    This is quite funny and pathetic at the same time.
    My son (I think Ive mentioned this in a previous discussion) has Anaphylaxis reactions to Dairy, Nut, Wheat and Egg. I would NEVER order anything at a cafe for him on this basis alone. The person in question Nunu is quite nutty - if I can use the term correctly. If you are Anaphylaxis to Nuts, you just dont take second chances as it seems she did in this instance. Which tells me, they were nuts and/\/or dont really understand the ramifications. :-? or is indeed as you say "a Hypocrite" and no such allergy exists of a serious nature like Anaphylaxis.

    Furthermore, if its a guilt trip, they are lying through there teeth!
    But, as you know, the customer is always right, even when they cause you to raise one of your eyebrows :-)



  30. #30
    Wine_of_the_Bean
    Guest

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    Hmm...Maybe I can invent some sort of soya chai smoothie. Thatll get the customers flying through the door.

  31. #31
    Senior Member Dennis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    4,512

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    Quote Originally Posted by Wine_of_the_Bean link=1208770762/15#29 date=1208822120
    Hmm...Maybe I can invent some sort of soya chai smoothie. Thatll get the customers flying through the door.
    Which way? ;D

  32. #32
    Wine_of_the_Bean
    Guest

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    I said through the door, not the window mate.

  33. #33
    Senior Member askthecoffeeguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Preston, victoria, 3072
    Posts
    817

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    Quote Originally Posted by Wine_of_the_Bean link=1208770762/15#29 date=1208822120
    Hmm...Maybe I can invent some sort of soya chai smoothie. Thatll get the customers flying through the door.
    done it - just add ice and milk blend for 60sec pour into a large takeaway and charge five bucks

  34. #34
    Wine_of_the_Bean
    Guest

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    I was thinking some more dairy-free.

  35. #35
    Senior Member askthecoffeeguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Preston, victoria, 3072
    Posts
    817

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    what about a warmed chai toddy with whisky, loose leaf chai concentrate, lightly steamed apple juice, honey and fresh ginger?

  36. #36
    Wine_of_the_Bean
    Guest

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    Some candles and Barry White to go with it too? Heh.

  37. #37
    Senior Member askthecoffeeguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Location
    Preston, victoria, 3072
    Posts
    817

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    i usually keep a hip flash of johnnie under the counter just in case...

  38. #38
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    846

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    Quote Originally Posted by Wine_of_the_Bean link=1208770762/30#35 date=1208828753
    Some candles and Barry White to go with it too? *Heh.
    ;D

    "... cant get enough of your soy, baaaby ..."

  39. #39
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Werribee, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    737

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    Thanks for the help everyone.Seems to be a million ways to make a chai latte,I might invent my own using coffee and milk. Whatdoyathink

  40. #40
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    160

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    Quote Originally Posted by martybean link=1208770762/30#38 date=1208850782
    Thanks for the help everyone.Seems to be a million ways to make a chai latte,I might invent my own using coffee and milk. Whatdoyathink
    For goodness sake! Keep that to yourself MB or the bloody SOY-CHAI drinkers might catch on.
    Then how would we differenciate THEM from US?
    My god, just think of it...a horrible upsie-down town effect...the lunatics taking over the asylum...my golly-gosh...its too terrible to imagine...

  41. #41
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Location
    Werribee, Victoria, Australia
    Posts
    737

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    Im thinking the coffee rush might be to much for those that like chai, could you imagine what would happen if you made them a hot chocolate.Hmmm the mind boggles

  42. #42
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    160

    Re: Soy-Chai adversly effects the complaint gene.

    Behmor Brazen - $249 - Free Freight
    Quote Originally Posted by martybean link=1208770762/30#40 date=1208853118
    Im thinking the coffee rush might be to much for those that like chai, could you imagine what would happen if you made them a hot chocolate.Hmmm the mind boggles
    yes, true.
    We could all make them a hot chocolate, but I would much rather make them GO AWAY!!



Similar Threads

  1. Snobby Chai -  Chai Spice!
    By Andy in forum Cup Tasting Room
    Replies: 56
    Last Post: 5th July 2015, 01:23 PM
  2. size of roast effects on  Gene Cafe roast tim
    By herbie in forum Home Roasting - Tips, Tricks, Ideas
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 21st April 2007, 10:30 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •