Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: opinion of Krupps Grinder

  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    9

    opinion of Krupps Grinder

    Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Ive only just got a cheap coffee machine and so am only just starting out with my coffee hobby! I was looking on a website that sells stuff cheaply - best not mention any names, came across this grinder...does anyone have an opinion on it?
    It is a Krups Burr Coffee Grinder and is being sold for $99, these are the specs
    # 17 Fineness selector

    # Quantity Selector: 2 - 12 cup selection

    # Removable upper Burr for easy cleaning

    # Removable and translucent ground coffee container

    # Auto stop after grinding

    # 200g bean capacity

    # 100W

  2. #2
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,665

    Re: opinion of Krupps Grinder

    $99 for the grinder, $1000 in complimentary heartbreak included in the box ;). Remove the "U" from the brand and replace with an "A" and you have the general idea...

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    3,498

    Re: opinion of Krupps Grinder

    Gday annb,

    Yep, dont touch it with a ten foot pole - unfortunately you get what you pay for.... but in this case you will get less that what youve paid - and thats not much !!!

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    145

    Re: opinion of Krupps Grinder

    If you are thinking about upgrading your machine at some stage then its probably best to look at a more expensive grinder that will last you and wont need upgrading when you get a better machine. Of course it all depends on how much you can afford to spend.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    9

    Re: opinion of Krupps Grinder

    righty ho!! glad i asked then!

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1,673

    Re: opinion of Krupps Grinder

    Ann, have a read of the following threads

    http://coffeesnobs.com.au/YaBB.pl?num=1163393754
    http://coffeesnobs.com.au/YaBB.pl?num=1167626020

    The Iberital and the MDF are both around the $300 mark, BUT are both very good some info on both grinders and grinders in general is on these two threads.

    There is also the sunbeam for under $200, however a lot of people have been having difficulties with them, and I dare say a lot of people havent.

    My advice is that if you have a low end machine consider the Gaggia MDF or the Iberital Challenge. Also, if you are very new to this coffee malarky than maybe consider the MDF as there is less fiddling around than the Iberital Challenge. You will always be able to sell it for a good price if you decide to upgrade to something much fancier.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    979

    Re: opinion of Krupps Grinder

    from what I can gather those grinders are pretty much the same as the sunbeam and brevills that retail at about $50 or $60 dollors and are oten on ebay for $10. there worth is reflected in their resale imho.

  8. #8
    Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    86

    Re: opinion of Krupps Grinder

    Howdy,
    I think my first grinder was a Krupps. It was on sale for about $39 (down form around $90).
    It did a good job grinding beans, but once you selected a finer setting it could jam or stop .. also, if you made the mistake of letting it grind after it had delepeted the supply in the bean hopper, the motor sped up (as no resistance anymore) and i thought it was going to launch itself of my kitchen bench and into orbit ... the one time i let it go for a second or two to see what happened it a nasty electrical burning smell started to whiff out from it .. yikes, i turned it off quickly .. still worked though.

    Maybe not to bad if you want a VERY cheap unit just for plunger grinding ... but not what you need for espresso


  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    1,562

    Re: opinion of Krupps Grinder

    They arent a coffee grinder... they are a coffee cruncher :) Stay away!

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    1,530

    Re: opinion of Krupps Grinder

    More useful as a spice mill IMO.

  11. #11
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Wagga Wagga
    Posts
    21

    Re: opinion of Krupps Grinder

    There is also something about Krupps and their links to Nazi Germany, paying the party for 70,000 cheap Jewish labourours, which would keep me away from their products... http://www.theawfultruth.com/salbmw/ ...Something to think about.

  12. #12
    Senior Member robusto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,713

    Re: opinion of Krupps Grinder

    Stirring up some old wounds there, tmid. Krupps did manufacture equipment for the holocaust, extermination ovens I think.

    Its up to you to exercise your conscience and vote with your feet.

    But then, is the Krupps or today anything like the Krupps of 60 years ago. In name only, perhaps?

    Is the Germany of today anything like the Germany of the Nazi era? In name only, perhaps.

    Food for thought over a coffee.

    --Robusto

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    389

    Re: opinion of Krupps Grinder

    So much potential of opening a can of worms there Robusto, many more ethical decisions have to start to be made once you go down that path, eg. is you super invested in companies that run sweatshops? But as you say all things for us to personally decide and a good excuse to have another coffee to chat about it all. ;)

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Wagga Wagga
    Posts
    21

    Re: opinion of Krupps Grinder

    Just good to have it out there, the topic was regarding opionions of Krupps, its a personal decision.

    How to live ones life is certainly something to mull over,

    Over a coffee.

    tmid.



Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 20
    Last Post: 22nd December 2010, 08:37 PM
  2. krupps xp 7240
    By tatik in forum Brewing Equipment - Entry level (sub $500)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 8th July 2010, 09:11 PM
  3. thinking of buying a krupps grinder
    By geoff_d in forum Grinders
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th June 2008, 03:50 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •