Results 1 to 25 of 25

Thread: Mazzer Mini vs Compak K-3 Elite - Review

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    2,165

    Mazzer Mini vs Compak K-3 Elite - Review

    Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi guys,

    12 months after sitting down with these two grinders, a camera, some coffee and a laptop computer; an interstate house shift, a job change and a baby later, Ive finally finished the write-up on the comparison between them! ::) Its not quite in the same format as the Silvia 6910 review and I suspect not quite as easy to read (component-based rather than workflow-based) but hopefully this is of some use for any CSers considering either of these units, both of which are excellent products.

    http://www.coffeetamper.com.au/kb/reviews/mini-k3/

    Greg

    P.S. If you notice anything that needs to change dont hesitate to let me know!

  2. #2
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,665

    Re: Mazzer Mini vs Compak K-3 Elite - Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Greg Pullman link=1205471613/0#0 date=1205471613
    Hi guys,

    12 months after sitting down with these two grinders, a camera, some coffee and a laptop computer; an interstate house shift, a job change and a baby later, Ive finally finished the write-up on the comparison between them! ::) Its not quite in the same format as the Silvia 6910 review and I suspect not quite as easy to read (component-based rather than workflow-based) but hopefully this is of some use for any CSers considering either of these units, both of which are excellent products.

    http://www.coffeetamper.com.au/kb/reviews/mini-k3/

    Greg
    Great writeup Greg!

    Thorough, considered and unbiased I reckon....

    Wanna go help Choice review some espresso machines? They could use a hand ;)

    Well done...

    Chris

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    2,165

    Re: Mazzer Mini vs Compak K-3 Elite - Review

    Thanks Chris, but reviews are kinda a loooong exercise (well they take me a while anyway) and I think my family might have other ideas if I suggested that! :o Thanks for the K3 in the first place too, twas a difficult decision to move it on.

  4. #4
    Banned
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    623

    Re: Mazzer Mini vs Compak K-3 Elite - Review

    Great review Greg, it was well thought out and very specific.

    one thing that would be nice to see. At a previous job we had a set of metal sieves to measure grind consistency. They were basically 10 sets of mesh, as you vibrated them (or got the new kid(me) to shake them) the ground coffee would separate into each chamber. We then weighed the contents of each chamber or screen to get a chart showing varience. I only ever used it for conical burr Cimbali grinders and the factory grinders, but would be interesting to see the test applied. Not sure where you could get some as the ones we had looked as old as the company itsself (30+ years)

  5. #5
    Mal Dimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Warwick, QLD
    Posts
    16,862

    Re: Mazzer Mini vs Compak K-3 Elite - Review

    Probably a set of Laboratory Screens Jason.....

    They can be acquired via various laboratory supplies outfits, especially those that supply equipment to Industrial Labs. Doubt they would be cheap though and at their likely cost, I think you would need to have good justification for outlaying the funds.

    An easier (and cheaper) proposition might be to provide samples to a such a Lab and request a Size Fraction Distribution Test. Wouldnt imagine that this would be too expensive, given that they would probably use a hapless trainee or cadet too.... ;D

    Cheers,
    Mal.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Posts
    106

    Re: Mazzer Mini vs Compak K-3 Elite - Review

    Great review, and nice to see someone weighting scores, I was getting worried reading it when grind adjustment was given the same number of points as things like the hopper.

    For mine (and Ill admit Ive only played with a Compak for about 5 seconds) the Mazzer wins purely because I love the grind adjustment, it works perfectly for how I use my grinder. However the incredible value for money of the entire Compak range cant be overlooked, and add to that the fact that they really seem to be paying attention to what their users want (look at the K10 WBC for proof of that). I think that there is a pretty good chance that my next grinder upgrade would be a Compak conical.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    162

    Re: Mazzer Mini vs Compak K-3 Elite - Review

    Hi Greg,
    Tis indeed a great review, and well worth the long effort you put into it for all of us Snobs. I agree that the weighting is an excellent component of the review to keep things in perspective. Final scores will always be contentious, but at least everyone can see how things were considered and conclusions arrived at.

    I would only say that you might want to update it a little, as certainly the Mazzer, and probably the Compak, has changed since your test model was built. The switch, as you are no doubt aware, is now a timer, which is significant if comparing to an automatic like your test K-3 (dont know about current K-3s).

    On my MM, at least, there is definitely a different sound if the doser does not complete the sweep. But I doubt anyone would judge dose by clicks, anyway. It might also be worth noting that doser levers are designed to be used with two fingers and with much greater speed and force than shown in the video. They are, after all, commercial units. Incidentally, the power cord placement is also a commercial consideration. The screw in the middle of the doser adjustment star is to enable you to remove the whole mechanism (great for the sweep mod). Not sure how you do this in the Compak. The lugs on my grinds tray are intact after a year - but users should always make sure the tray is flat on the counter before sliding it into place.

    Aesthetics are very hard to assess, being entirely subjective, and I think you always made it very clear when you were making that kind of judgement. Some things have overlapping form/function considerations. For example, the screws you didnt like on the front of the MM doser allow you to move or remove the silly tamper, whereas the integrated design of the K-3 means you cant move it, and I found that the nose combined with the high pf fork made it very difficult to see the dose and impossible to really heap up the coffee. Important for me, not for some.

    Altogether, a very worthwhile exercise, and one of the best of its kind. Thanks Greg!

    matt

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Posts
    107

    Re: Mazzer Mini vs Compak K-3 Elite - Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Dolcimelo link=1205471613/0#6 date=1205983873
    I would only say that you might want to update it a little, as certainly the Mazzer, and probably the Compak, has changed since your test model was built. The switch, as you are no doubt aware, is now a timer, which is significant if comparing to an automatic like your test K-3 (dont know about current K-3s).

    The Mazzer Mini comes in 3 versions:

    - Timer Switch
    - Manual Switch
    - Auto

    ;)



  9. #9
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,665

    Re: Mazzer Mini vs Compak K-3 Elite - Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Metreo link=1205471613/0#7 date=1206018827
    The Mazzer Mini comes in 3 versions:

    - Timer Switch
    - Manual Switch
    - Auto

    ;)
    Too true that the mini is made with a variety of switches and in colours as well- including polished aluminium.

    Alas (in Melbourne at least), our choices with new importer are Silver or Black, mini-manual only....

    Chris

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    162

    Re: Mazzer Mini vs Compak K-3 Elite - Review

    Sorry, obviously Im not up-to-date :-[

    Still, perhaps even more reason to list available versions which might influence someones choice. Ive only ever seen the timer for sale here recently. Are there other versions of the K-3 Chris?

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    2,165

    Re: Mazzer Mini vs Compak K-3 Elite - Review

    Quote Originally Posted by Dolcimelo link=1205471613/0#6 date=1205983873
    I would only say that you might want to update it a little, as certainly the Mazzer, and probably the Compak, has changed since your test model was built.
    Yep I was aware of this potential issue and commented on this at the end of the Introduction. Unfortunately I dont have access to current models so until a nice distributor decides to send me one of each with which to pick up these updates I wont actually know whats changed apart from hearsay.

    Quote Originally Posted by Dolcimelo link=1205471613/0#6 date=1205983873
    It might also be worth noting that doser levers are designed to be used with two fingers and with much greater speed and force than shown in the video. They are, after all, commercial units.
    Agreed, though the videos were to show the smoothness / noise of the mechanism not typical usage.

    Quote Originally Posted by Dolcimelo link=1205471613/0#6 date=1205983873
    Incidentally, the power cord placement is also a commercial consideration.
    This item was already weighted as more important commercially than domestically (5/10 commercially, 2/10 domestically) :-? Unless I misunderstood your comment?

    Quote Originally Posted by Dolcimelo link=1205471613/0#6 date=1205983873
    The screw in the middle of the doser adjustment star is to enable you to remove the whole mechanism (great for the sweep mod). Not sure how you do this in the Compak. The lugs on my grinds tray are intact after a year - but users should always make sure the tray is flat on the counter before sliding it into place.
    Thanks re doser screw, never removed it so far on mine. The Compaks doser adjustment mechanism just keeps unscrewing until it comes off. Well done re the grinds tray lugs; I took pretty good care of mine after hearing about this, hardly ever removed it and they still broke within about 3 months. ::)

    Quote Originally Posted by Dolcimelo link=1205471613/0#6 date=1205983873
    Aesthetics are very hard to assess, being entirely subjective, and I think you always made it very clear when you were making that kind of judgement. Some things have overlapping form/function considerations. For example, the screws you didnt like on the front of the MM doser allow you to move or remove the silly tamper, whereas the integrated design of the K-3 means you cant move it, and I found that the nose combined with the high pf fork made it very difficult to see the dose and impossible to really heap up the coffee. Important for me, not for some.

    Altogether, a very worthwhile exercise, and one of the best of its kind. Thanks Greg!

    matt
    Sure thing, its a bit hard to entirely segregate components that affect more than one area and I agree re the nose on the Compak grinder; which is why the final decision depends on how you use the unit. Hopefully theres enough objective information in there to help people make the decision thats right for them. Thanks for the feedback!

    Greg

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    162

    Re: Mazzer Mini vs Compak K-3 Elite - Review

    Hi Greg,
    Im curious as to how your tray lugs broke. I remember when I first got mine, and noticed that sometimes the tray didnt sit flat (which would put a lot of strain on the lugs if you pressed on the tray). However, I realised that it was designed to be put down flat on the counter and then slid in under the base, rather than put in at an angle, as I had done (and most of us would naturally do...). But the lugs are not really flimsy, either.

    The point about the cord placement was simply a reference to the comment that it was irrelevant in a commercial environment. Small point, but electrical appliances for commercial use often have the cord on the side so that they can be put flush against a wall without constraining the cord, thats all. I agree entirely with your weighting - and most of your review!

    Thanks again for writing it.

    matt

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    2,165

    Re: Mazzer Mini vs Compak K-3 Elite - Review

    Hi Matt,

    Re the lugs, not too sure really. I read they were prone to breaking and mine were still intact but when I checked I noticed a hairline crack running through one; it broke off completely within a month, and from what Ive read its quite a common thing. I guess if you constantly remove it to clean it (as most would) then its likely to happen as they have to bend inwards quite a way before they lock in. Perhaps some of the resellers of these units will have a better perspective on what causes the breakage?

    Point taken about cord placement; I guess irrelevant may be a bit distorted since it got more weighting than domestic. I was mainly looking at it from the perspective that where the cord comes out is overall probably of no consequence since it largely depends on your setup, however the clean back of the Mazzer facing the customer was a plus. But I guess if its back is to the wall then a side exit is another plus for the Mazzer, which is in front commercially on this score anyway.

    Greg

  14. #14
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,665

    Re: Mazzer Mini vs Compak K-3 Elite - Review

    I agree that the design of the Mazzer tray is really poor and the lugs are prone to breaking. If you drop it, breakage is pretty much guaranteed. Id know as I have shelled out for at least 6 trays so far. Mazzer are on a good wicket with absurd prices placed on items which should be cheap. Hoppers are also ridiculous. For example a replacement SJ hopper has a RRP of $80 :o and the price of a mini hopper is still over $60 which is outrageous.

    I much prefer the design of the Macap tray. It has a hole cut into it which locates it under one of the feet of the grinder. Its not going anywhere and even if you do drop it, it wont break.

  15. #15
    Mal Dimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Warwick, QLD
    Posts
    16,862

    Re: Mazzer Mini vs Compak K-3 Elite - Review

    Quote Originally Posted by 2muchcoffeeman link=1205471613/0#13 date=1206917064
    I agree that the design of the Mazzer tray is really poor and the lugs are prone to breaking. If you drop it, breakage is pretty much guaranteed. Id know as I have shelled out for at least 6 trays so far. Mazzer are on a good wicket with absurd prices placed on items which should be cheap. Hoppers are also ridiculous. For example a replacement SJ hopper has a RRP of $80 :o and the price of a mini hopper is still over $60 which is outrageous.
    Maybe a visit to a local sheet-metal shop guru could sort this out once and for all by knocking up a replica(coffee grinds tray) made from stainless steel :-?

    Mal.

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    162

    Re: Mazzer Mini vs Compak K-3 Elite - Review

    I must just be lucky, then, as I remove and replace mine every day. But it doesnt feel tight getting it in. Oh well, if it breaks then Ill know I had a good run of it. It does catch the grinds really well...

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    2,165

    Re: Mazzer Mini vs Compak K-3 Elite - Review

    Have a really close look at where the lugs are attached. The crack on mine started off just looking like a plastic molding seam but was in fact the beginning of the end.

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    162

    Re: Mazzer Mini vs Compak K-3 Elite - Review

    I guess some sorts of plastics fatigue like metal, but mine still dont show any sign of it. Mind you, even if they break, I dont think it will make much difference in my situation, as there is nothing that is going to disturb the tray. However, thats not a good reason to make something non-durable (especially from Mazzer).

  19. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    1

    Re: Mazzer Mini vs Compak K-3 Elite - Review

    I just read the review because I am considering either the mazzer mini or the K3 touch (doserless version). the difference price at the moment, for me in canada, is $200CAD. the one area of concern based on the review is the grind adjustment. i am wondering if compak upgraded the grind adjustment - the reason is because if you take a look at the current manual, it looks like they have a much wider adjustment - i dont see those circles on the top. can anyone confirm?

    here is a link to the compak k3 manual

    http://www.compak.es/docs/en/K3_K3Elite_K3Touch_en.pdf

  20. #20
    Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    48

    Re: Mazzer Mini vs Compak K-3 Elite - Review

    The grind adjustment is now different from the review and the link to the manual you give shows this somewhat. Ive taken a couple of photos of mine which I hope will show this better, but unfortunately they are not very good.

    There are now scale marks added to the top moving ring and these are numbered at intervals of five, ie 5, 10,15 ...... There is unfortunately and perplexedly no corresponding point to line up with on the body of the grinder so Ive put a mark at the top centered over the grind chute in permanent marking pen. This works for me :) It is light and ony just visible in the top photo. The second photo shows the scale markings and numbers. In practice my settings vary from 31.5 to 32 depending on the bean variety. I generally have at least two different beans on the go so Im changing it all the time. I dont find making a 1/2 mark adjustment too hard and the results seem quite repeatable to me.

    Overall I am very happy with the Compak K3 Touch, but then it is my first real grinder so I have nothing to compare with. It will be my last grinder as its projected life is longer than mine!!!!





  21. #21
    Mal Dimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Warwick, QLD
    Posts
    16,862

    Re: Mazzer Mini vs Compak K-3 Elite - Review

    A judicious and very carefully filed groove using a jewellers file, later filled in with white paint (or colour of your choice) would look very spic Id reckon 8-)

    Mal.

  22. #22
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    12

    Re: Mazzer Mini vs Compak K-3 Elite - Review

    So where is a good place to purchase a compak at a a good price on the gold coast and/or brisbane? any suggestions??
    thanks

  23. #23
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,665

    Re: Mazzer Mini vs Compak K-3 Elite - Review

    Quote Originally Posted by 292424311721232726480 link=1205471613/21#21 date=1239693491
    So where is a good place to purchase a compak at a a good price on the gold coast and/or brisbane? any suggestions??
    thanks
    I think the closest compak selling site sponsor to you will be Veneziano coffee- in West End...

    Many site sponsors sell Comapk and Im sure that all will be able to freight to you.

    Happy shopping...

    2mcm

  24. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    367

    Re: Mazzer Mini vs Compak K-3 Elite - Review

    Thanks for this great, extremely detailed, write up, which i admittedly used more as a information source on the mazzer than a comparison with the K3.

    Keep up the good work mate,
    cheers,

    Matt.

  25. #25
    Site Sponsor
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    257

    Re: Mazzer Mini vs Compak K-3 Elite - Review

    Quote Originally Posted by 7E73736640767470711F0 link=1205471613/21#21 date=1239693491
    So where is a good place to purchase a compak at a a good price on the gold coast and/or brisbane? any suggestions??
    thanks *
    Ally Ikon

    We sell the Compak grinder and are based in between Brisbane and the Gold Coast at Yatala. If you are able to pick up we are happy to include a training session on best use and maintenance. We can also ship Compak and a variety of other grinders if pickup isnt an option.

    FULL Kudos to Greg for doing such a comprehensive review! Its become a bit of an institution for those looking at upgrading their grinders!



Similar Threads

  1. Best deal on Mazzer Mini or Compak K3E
    By soccerstuie in forum Grinders
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 4th June 2011, 09:49 PM
  2. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 13th February 2010, 11:29 PM
  3. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 11th January 2010, 04:06 PM
  4. Compak K3 Touch vs Mazzer Mini?
    By tom-tom in forum Grinders
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 10th September 2009, 08:01 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •