Results 1 to 25 of 25

Thread: Cunill grinders - opinions

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    86

    Cunill grinders - opinions

    Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Has anyone used Cunill grinders before? What are your thoughts?

  2. #2
    DONT USE
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    432

    Re: Cunill grinders - opinions

    hi garbage

    these are not expensive grinders, mostly plastic outer bodies but with good size motors, dont give much probs and grind reasonably consistent

    graham

  3. #3
    DONT USE
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    432

    Re: Cunill grinders - opinions

    They definitely are not plastic outer bodies but Black pressed metal
    if you did your homework,
    you will find that
    the cunil grinder is available in many different models, not just the one you have
    http://www.cunill.com/2.0/index.html

    the tranquilo is available in black metal or stainless with plastic doser or dispenser RRP $495

    cunil space grinder is available with a plastic body, or light weight stainless sheet, with plastic doser

    Bi motor is plastic body withg plastic doser
    Hawaii is stainless steel (deli)
    Marfli is plastic body with plastic doser

    Price - I cant imagine a better grinder in the under-$200 price range,
    and it could probably hold its own in the under-$300 range.
    at this price ill buy 20

    Having upgraded from a Solis Maestro that didnt work well for me, this is a day & night difference.
    this is a domestic grinder, if the cunil didnt kill it id want my money back, plus.

    the tranquilo grinder is suitable for home or low end commercial usage, the main one sold is the black metal body with doser, mostly for a second grinder eg decaf

    as i previously said, the cunil grinders
    dont give much probs and grind reasonably consistent
    and most have a plastic outer body, the tranqilo being the exception

    have been selling and servicing these grinders for about 20 years

    graham

  4. #4
    cremakid
    Guest

    Re: Cunill grinders - opinions

    the tranquilo is available in black metal or stainless with plastic doser or dispenser RRP $495
    So $395 for Black and $440 for S/steel ormal price at "No Names Can Be Mentioned" seems pretty good. What is your price Graham? Particularly in light of the fact that the $AU is almost matching the $US I guess you are selling them for much less, yes/no? ::)

  5. #5
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,665

    Re: Cunill grinders - opinions

    Quote Originally Posted by cremakid link=1216083271/0#3 date=1216174207
    Particularly in light of the fact that the $AU is almost matching the $US I guess you are selling them for much less, yes/no? ::)
    :-?I would have thought not....

    Firstly, Australia doesnt have the buying power nor economies of scale on freight that the US has (even in the current state of play). Secondly, we dont purchase 110V stuff. Finally, this brand and other European brands are purchased in Euro, not $US....

    Now, to get back to the original discussion, they are quite good although noisy. I personally find the stepped grind increments which were on the ones I have used to be pretty big...

    2mcm

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    112

    Re: Cunill grinders - opinions

    Quote Originally Posted by 2muchcoffeeman link=1216083271/0#4 date=1216183745
    Quote Originally Posted by cremakid link=1216083271/0#3 date=1216174207
    Particularly in light of the fact that the $AU is almost matching the $US I guess you are selling them for much less, yes/no? ::)
    :-?I would have thought not....

    Firstly, Australia doesnt have the buying power nor economies of scale on freight that the US has (even in the current state of play). Secondly, we dont purchase 110V stuff. Finally, this brand and other European brands are purchased in Euro, not $US...
    Agreed it isnt the OPs topic, but it is an interesting point nonetheless.

    The economies of scale are the better argument but not really the whole story. The USD has weakened by 10% against the Euro in the last few months - so their prices should be going up on imported European products. The AUD has strengthened against the Euro in the same time - allbeit not at the same rate. It is hardly an arguement to suggest our prices should be falling, but in comparison to US consumer prices the gap between us and them should be getting smaller. None of it has to do directly with our dollars relationship with the USD.

    The consumer confusion however is because the media bangs on about ours and the US dollar in the main, and because prices are often compared to RRPs. This is where the relationships get real interesting: When our dollar only bought 0.60 USD and about 0.43 Euros RRPs between the US and Australia were about 30 - 40% different. A product that was "RRP $999" in the US was likely to be "RRP $1399" here. Our dollar now buys 0.97 USD and over 0.61 Euros and yet that RRP gap remains about the same...

    Its a weird old world on the money markets and consumer index...

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    1,687

    Re: Cunill grinders - opinions

    I went to a friends place who had one.... only comment that I could make, was that it was fairly noisy. I didnt like the coffee, but that was more about the nut on the end of the machine, not necessarily the grinder... I actually had a glass of water that day from memory.

  8. #8
    cremakid
    Guest

    Re: Cunill grinders - opinions

    Secondly, we dont purchase 110V stuff. Finally, this brand and other European brands are purchased in Euro, not $US
    This may be or is true but coffee machines are not the only thing to compare pricing/exchange rate differences. Cameras for instance dont require 110V in the US so that is not why they are cheaper.

    I personally find the stepped grind increments which were on the ones I have used to be pretty big
    Strange. Maybe I got the only one in Australia that has very fine adjustments and more than one will ever need in the life of the machine. One of the main reasons I like it.

    I didnt like the coffee, but that was more about the nut on the end of the machine
    I think there is more truth re the nut than the machine, the grinder anyway. What happens between the grind and the cup is another question! >:(

    A small quote from "GEEKS",

    Thus far, the unit has produced unbelievably fine grinds with no hint of powder - consistently...every time. *In the end, isnt this what its all about?


    While the grind setting wheel takes time to learn, the possibilities of grind settings seem endless. *Nice!


    The unit is quite heavy and made mostly of metal construction. *It definitely lives up to its "commercial" quality.


    I was surprised at how quiet the unit runs. *It is quieter than my Braun burr grinder purchased specifically for home use 10 years ago.
    Looks like different horses, different courses!

  9. #9
    Mal Dimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Warwick, QLD
    Posts
    17,578

    Re: Cunill grinders - opinions

    Out of interest "ck"....

    What are the Model and Type details from the manufacturers nameplate?With apparently so many models available, it might be helpful for anyone else who might like to buy one, :)

    Cheers,
    Mal.

  10. #10
    cremakid
    Guest

    Re: Cunill grinders - opinions

    What are the Model and Type details from the manufacturers nameplate?
    Mal, I can do that but cannot before Sunday night due to my accesss to both my grinder which is situated at my home and the internet connection which is situated elsewhere.

    Also my model as far as I know is actually made for the distributor/importer as the badge says "Cunill unico Splendor by *******" Distributors name withheld so it wont be edited out as before. Also as far as I know in Sydney at least it is only available from one retailer who I am prevented from naming also. Maybe a particular site sponsor will disagree with availability from the retailer.

    Whether the details on the nameplate will may or may not be exactly the same as the Tranquilo but I will post on Sunday.

  11. #11
    DONT USE
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    432

    Re: Cunill grinders - opinions

    it is a cunil cafe tranquilo
    available in black metal or stainless finish

    same specs different finish
    noise level 77db

    the black unit is also sold as an Iberital Gourmet


    the Stainless steel version was available from some site sponsors before the importer put his name on the front face

    we carry the black unit with and without doser and order the stainless as required

  12. #12
    .
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    2,312

    Re: Cunill grinders - opinions

    A Cunill grinder, of indeterminate model type and situation, could be one mans treasure, at the same time as being another mans garbage....just the same as a mazzer, a macap, a compak, a gino rossi, a rancilio, or anything else. We need to know what the client has in mind so as to answer the question properly.

    I too have used Cunils extensively.

    They are an excellent, basic commercial grinder but ultimately, whether one of the Cunil models suits you depends on what you want to do with it, your situation, and the model you are interested in. *

    Just like any other grinder they have their pros and cons.

    For example, the Tranquilo has a problem with static causing it to be rather messy....but in every other respect it is an excellent grinder, in the right situation.

    Another example, would be that while auto doser Cunil cafe grinders I think have an equal ***grind quality*** to any other brand grinder of commensurate model type, the quality of their plastic fittings on the doser/dispenser is way below standard and they dont last the distance in heavy commercial use needing much more frequent service than others.

    ******However, in a small cafe or in a home or office use***** they are very good grinders.

    Depends on the situation.

    The price of stuff in the US is irrelevant except if the originator of the topic lives there. *The price that individual service providers want to sell their stuff for is their business, only they can make a calculated decision on whether to sell stuff for no profit or not. *They do not win anything by selling stuff cheap and putting themselves out of business so they wont be there to offer you service next week. *CoffeeSnobs is not a discount club and you cant have it both ways, lowest price AND service.

    Regardz,
    Attilio
    aka FC,
    first / original CS site sponsor.



  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    86

    Re: Cunill grinders - opinions

    Thanks for the responses everyone. My original post was quite an open ended question for a reason. I have been using a doserless Cunill Cafe Tranquilo for about 5 years now and wanted opinions on how this compared to other grinders. Im considering a second grinder for more variety. I dont get any static as was reported by one other person, and none of the plastic bits have broken. Its not exactly the most user friendly grinder to adjust the timer (needs a screwdriver) but once set, it doesnt usually need to be changed. The machine is fairly noisy though, compared to the Rocky.

  14. #14
    .
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    2,312

    Re: Cunill grinders - opinions

    Well thought out post Wrecker..

    Re your "Question 3" above. I think is pretty much on topic for the following reason:

    As I stated above the Tranquilo is a great grinder with only one real flaw which is open to interpretation depending on the individual owner (some are very fussy and cant stand the "mess", while others are perfectly ok with it).

    Virtually noone in the list to the LHS of the page has it listed and infact, neither do I. *Yet I have been selling Tranquilos for years and the sales are almost non existent....ergo, its not a priority tp have them on my website.....this is the chicken chasing the egg.

    If they are such a great grinder, why dont they sell?

    I think you need to look within special interest internet coffee sites to find the answer.

    The Tranquilo is a regular stepped small commercial grinder. What have special interest websites been telling their participants for years.......that stepped grinders are no good.....and up until recently, that nothing bar a mazzer would do.

    And in the context of the tranquilo, when someone mentions it in a topic, *respondents go straight to the "its messy" thing without mentioning the caveat that it really is up to the individual. No one seems to mention that apart from that, its actually a bloody good grinder for the purpose, which in the main in these parts is for a home body to grind enough coffee for 2 cups a sitting with at home..........

    Clients that come in have been, and in the main still are, running scared to look at anything bar a mazzer or something with stepless adjustment because of the amount of influence posts in websites like this have. Stepless adjustment is not the be all and end all of a good coffee grinder and neither is a brand name.

    The same thing goes for other excellent and much better quality grinders overall than the tranquilo, where they are passed over because they have stepped adjustments.

    Ill stick my neck out and say, that the tranquilo offers incredible value for money over the mini mazzer E and M4D macaps, particularly in home use.....but ofcourse it will ever have the snob value.......

    Look within.

    Garbage......you wont get any thing breaking on a Tranquilo. The stuff I was referring to is to do with the dispenser *mechanisms on volumetric doser grinders used in the main, in cafes.

    Regardz,
    Attilio
    aka FC
    first / original CS site sponsor.

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    112

    Re: Cunill grinders - opinions

    Quote Originally Posted by Fresh_Coffee link=1216083271/0#13 date=1216262025
    Well thought out post Wrecker..

    Re your "Question 3" above.
    ;D Which post would that be FC?

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    107

    Re: Cunill grinders - opinions

    garbage,

    I have a Cunill Cafe Tranquilo grinder rebranded as an Iberital De Recanvis. Here is my second crack worth, so take what you feel is relevant to your situation.

    I think its a great grinder. *I used it domestically for a few years until I upgraded to a Mazzer Mini, only reason being I wanted a stepless grinder. *I use the Mazzer all the time now so dont need the Cunill but I love it so much I cant part with it (apparently selling it was a condition when I bought a Gene Cafe, but shhhh my husbands forgotten that! Surely I have a need for a 2nd grinder??!!!)

    Using the Mazzer has made me realise how noisy the Cunill/Iberital De Recanvis is, but thats the only negative I see in it. *I dont find mine messy either, but thats certainly something I immediately noticed about the Mazzer Mini. *I love the "steplessness" of the Mazzer so am glad I purchased it to experience it.



    Attilio/Fresh Coffee,
    Thats very interesting that no one stocks them as I think theyre great value for money and just assumed others wouldve thought so. *If it was stepless I would never have thought to upgrade and wouldve been perfectly happy.

  17. #17
    DONT USE
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    432

    Re: Cunill grinders - opinions

    A small quote from "GEEKS",
    Quote:
    Thus far, the unit has produced unbelievably fine grinds with no hint of powder - consistently...every time. In the end, isnt this what its all about?

    While the grind setting wheel takes time to learn, the possibilities of grind settings seem endless. Nice!

    The unit is quite heavy and made mostly of metal construction. It definitely lives up to its "commercial" quality.

    I was surprised at how quiet the unit runs. It is quieter than my Braun burr grinder purchased specifically for home use 10 years ago.
    the only probs with this quote is the comparison of a 10 yearold cheap braun appliance to a new small commercial grinder
    it would be different if the comparison was against another small commercial unit

    so yes different horses, different courses!

    the unico splendor sticker is a sales ploy, not a diffenet model

    it does look good in stainless, sitting alongside the unico or any other stainless / shiny machine

  18. #18
    DONT USE
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    432

    Re: Cunill grinders - opinions

    the main sales of tranquilo grinders is to low consumption cafe users
    who wouldnt buy a rocky because of its small size means it is domestic use not commercial
    some are not interested in the quality of coffee just the aroma to sell more milky coffeeeees

  19. #19
    Mal Dimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Warwick, QLD
    Posts
    17,578

    Re: Cunill grinders - opinions

    Thread has been unlocked so post away CSers....

    Mal.

  20. #20
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,665

    Re: Cunill grinders - opinions

    Seems to me that there are way too many emotions here... ::)

    If you have your grinder and are happy with it, who cares what others think?? We are all entitled to opinions, but it when the opinions of others get rammed down throats that issues occur....

    FWIW, I replaced my 2nd grinder at home- previously a chrome micrometric M4D with a silver stepped one- more convenient to bang out to plunger grind and as a cupping grinder. It does the job exactly as I want it done- even though others would consider it inferior. My K10WBC is stepless and probably overkill for home and I dont care what others think about that either!

    Bottom line is that nobody needs to defend their choice in grinder, or machine for that matter. If its right for you, so be it....

    Were here for the coffee. Remember?? :-?

  21. #21
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    86

    Re: Cunill grinders - opinions

    Ive since upgraded my machine from a Nemox Cafe Del Opera to a VBM Domobar Super and still have it paired with my Cunill Tranquilo. Im seeing all these threads of people who swear by their Mazzers/Compaks/Macaps, so Im wondering what kind of benefit there would be upgrading the grinder to something around the Mini/K3 Touch price bracket. Interested to hear from others who have made the jump from a $350 grinder to a $550-650 grinder.

  22. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    554

    Re: Cunill grinders - opinions

    How about those who jumped from a $300 grinder to a $1400 grinder (thems are US dollars, pardner)?

    Seriously- I went from a Rocky to a Kony. The difference is nearly dramatic. The Kony is conical, so that is a part of it, but the construction of the Rocky is a toy compared to the Mazzers. The best comparison is to take the Rocky hopper which is screwed to the upper burr carrier and rock it side to side. The play is noticeable. The Mazzer upper burr carrier has as close to zero play as you could ever expect- at least to say, it would take a precision tool to measure it if there is any play at all.. Less than 0.0005" certainly.

    If you can find a deal on a used Mazzer Super Jolly you will not be disappointed. Except for those who got bad used ones, I do not remember reading about anyone who was disappointed with the coffee from that grinder.

  23. #23
    Senior Member GregWormald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,288

    Re: Cunill grinders - opinions

    I went from a well-tweaked Rocky to a Macap M5D, and had both of them in the house at the same time. While the differences were subtle, they were also profound, and the Macap is still there while the Rocky has been sold.

    It really is a matter of how much you want to spend, and whether coffee is a drink, a hobby, or an obsession.

    BTW--I got what I consider to be a similar improvement in taste with a Pullman tamper custom fitted to a Synesso basket.

    Greg

  24. #24
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    86

    Re: Cunill grinders - opinions

    Quote Originally Posted by GregWormald link=1216083271/20#22 date=1224925925
    BTW--I got what I consider to be a similar improvement in taste with a Pullman tamper custom fitted to a Synesso basket.
    What machine do you use?

  25. #25
    Senior Member GregWormald's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    2,288

    Re: Cunill grinders - opinions

    VBM Domobar (not super).

    Greg



Similar Threads

  1. Anyone Familiar With Cunill Grinders?
    By Bobulon in forum Grinders
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 23rd November 2009, 11:56 AM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 13th July 2009, 05:07 PM
  3. Cunill grinders......
    By jezzajv in forum Grinders
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 2nd February 2009, 10:41 PM
  4. Barazi Bezzera grinders - any opinions?
    By tempestv8 in forum Grinders
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th April 2007, 10:04 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •