Results 1 to 21 of 21

Thread: Anyone have an opinion on the Gino Rossi Deli Grinder?

  1. #1
    Senior Member Vinitasse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Mornington Peninsula VIC
    Posts
    1,251

    Anyone have an opinion on the Gino Rossi Deli Grinder?

    Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi all,

    I need a deli grinder to stand up to approx 5-10kg per day and cam across the Gino Rossi Deli Grinder for just $699 here in Australia. Now it seems to me that this is a very low price for a new deli grinder and I was wondering if anyone knows anything about these grinders. *Its conical burrs are only 63.5mm and this worries me a bit.

    Any feedback on the manufacturer and/or this particular machine?

    Details:

    Gino Rossi Deli Grinder *
    This is a Commercial Automatic Deli Coffee Grinder with the following features:
    Chute & Spring Clip for direct grinding into bags
    Hopper Capacity: 1.2 Kgs
    Grinding Blades: 63.5 mm diameter
    Output of approximately 9 kg per hour
    Dimensions: 200mm (W) x 280mm (D) x 570mm (H)
    Available in Anthricite
    Price: *$699 including GST (Australian Dollars)

    Thanks,

    Bruce

  2. #2
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,665

    Re: Anyone have an opinion on the Gino Rossi Deli Grinder?

    Quote Originally Posted by 6B545354495C4E4E583D0 link=1292748614/0#0 date=1292748614
    ts conical burrs are only 63.5mm and this worries me a bit.
    The burrs in this grinder are planar, not conical and it would get pretty warm- even over a 250g grind with degradation of the final product. Consider it equivalent to perhaps a Mazzer mini-e or SJ- little more than domestic grinders. its the cask wine of deli grinders.

    Real bag grinders are far more expensive and the planar varietes have burrs of 80-140mm diameter.

    With grinders, you gets what you pays for CW ;)

    Youd be better off to look for an old dedicated bag grinder.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Port Fairy
    Posts
    2,993

    Re: Anyone have an opinion on the Gino Rossi Deli Grinder?

    Yep to small. Go the bay of evil for a Climax branded deli grinder (15-20kg/hr). They turn up one or two a week most times. Still available new too at $1.2-1.4k I think.

    For the really serious bag grinders look at Ditting, think they start at $2k+

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,339

    Re: Anyone have an opinion on the Gino Rossi Deli Grinder?

    Quote Originally Posted by 484F4B444C465343444D2A0 link=1292748614/2#2 date=1292811323
    Yep to small. Go the bay of evil for a Climax branded deli grinder (15-20kg/hr). They turn up one or two a week most times. Still available new too at $1.2-1.4k I think.

    For the really serious bag grinders look at Ditting, think they start at $2k+
    Curious to know why youve recommended just one brand here bf?


  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    759

    Re: Anyone have an opinion on the Gino Rossi Deli Grinder?

    Climax and Ditting makes 2, no?

    Theres also Mahlkönig

  6. #6
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,665

    Re: Anyone have an opinion on the Gino Rossi Deli Grinder?

    Quote Originally Posted by 42404C44444A4D50230 link=1292748614/4#4 date=1292814302
    Climax and Ditting makes 2, no?

    Theres also Mahlkönig
    ...and Compak

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,339

    Re: Anyone have an opinion on the Gino Rossi Deli Grinder?

    Quote Originally Posted by 6E31293F343F333A3A3939313D325C0 link=1292748614/5#5 date=1292814645
    Quote Originally Posted by 42404C44444A4D50230 link=1292748614/4#4 date=1292814302
    Climax and Ditting makes 2, no?

    Theres also Mahlkönig
    ...and Compak
    And DIP! ;D

    The smallest Ditting Deli Grinder will overheat the coffee if you are doing 5 to 10kg a day, unless you rest it between bags. I guarantee it.

    I dont think the Climax would do any better, though happy to stand corrected by anyone who actually has first hand knowledge of these grinders.

  8. #8
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,665

    Re: Anyone have an opinion on the Gino Rossi Deli Grinder?

    Quote Originally Posted by 4355505041434F46464545200 link=1292748614/6#6 date=1292815022
    The smallest Ditting Deli Grinder will overheat the coffee if you are doing 5 to 10kg a day, unless you rest it between bags.I guarantee it.

    I dont think the Climax would do any better, though happy to stand corrected by anyone who actually has first hand knowledge of these grinders. *
    Correct you are Den,

    I have the Ditting and have used the Climax extensively. You wouldnt grind more than 500g-1kg (max.) in either without giving them a good rest.

    Chris

  9. #9
    .
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    2,312

    Re: Anyone have an opinion on the Gino Rossi Deli Grinder?

    For the kind of volume you are talking about on a bench grinder....you are talking say 250 gram retail sales as a minimum with occasional kilo sales?

    Depends on the volume you intend to do in one "sitting" really. A modern Climax should be good for 250 grams at a time with a little *time to rest in between.....so also depends on whether your 5 to 10 kg is evenly spread through the day or not.....starting price these days probably around $1400.00??? But I dont know that I would put a kilo through one for that you would need to ask no one but them....

    I recently imported a new grinder that is suitable to the purpose you describe.

    It still cost me a good $2000.00 or more plus GST to import direct from the manufacturer, and it has 120 mm grinding plates. This is a "cheap grinder".

    I have a very good name floor standing grinder with 150 mm plates with dedicated air cooling system....just the grinding plates alone cost around $1000.00 or more per set. *Certainly this is for much higher volumes than you require.

    However, somewhere in there lies a happy medium, and you would be best to stick to good name grinders and deal with reputable importers and their dealers who can advise you properly.

    That is not to say that Gino Rossi is not a good brand, quite the opposite is true, but there are horses for courses and in the new price bracket you mentioned and 63 mm grinding plates I would venture to say there is nothing that will work properly for you except if your total volume is small with grinding done in small short bursts.

    Hope this helps answer the question.

    Regardz,
    Attilio
    very first CS site sponsor

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Port Fairy
    Posts
    2,993

    Re: Anyone have an opinion on the Gino Rossi Deli Grinder?

    Quote Originally Posted by 6C7A7F7F6E6C6069696A6A0F0 link=1292748614/3#3 date=1292811890
    Curious to know why youve recommended just one brand here bf?
    Just a few brands extra to look at, not saying they are better or best. I am sure there is a dozen+ brands of quality bag grinders to look at. Also these are a couple I have used.

    The Climax I have after 500g for Plunger beans are just warm (still under 30 degrees I guess). In my case never a problem as that would be a max lot more normal is 250g.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Posts
    239

    Re: Anyone have an opinion on the Gino Rossi Deli Grinder?

    My Dip is happy to grind 500gm (2 x 250gm bags) without getting too warm.

    I have not pushed it as I dont need to. I can grind a bag, bag some whole beans then come back and grind another. Giving any bag grinder a rest just makes common sense I think.

    As long as it is a true bag grinder.

    Heat build up will always be a by-product of grinding and friction, some do it better than others but no matter what the brand on the front of the grinder, it cant bend the laws a physics.

  12. #12
    Senior Member Vinitasse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Mornington Peninsula VIC
    Posts
    1,251

    Re: Anyone have an opinion on the Gino Rossi Deli Grinder?

    Thanks for all the advice guys... much appreciated. I recently landed a contract to supply many 250g bags of ground coffee on pretty much a daily basis. I tried to talk the client out of buying ground but they wouldnt have it any other way so I definitely have to get myself a suitable machine to keep up with the demand. I could easily enough stagger the grinding throughout the day but it would be easier to get it done all at once if possible. But seeing as how capacity and heat management come with a far higher price tag I will probably have to settle with a more affordable machine and get the job done in dribs and drabs until I can afford something up to the task.

    I am curious... what kind of money are we talking about for a Compak machine that might get the job done semi-affordable... and what does DiP have on offer? (theyre Romanian arent they?)

    Thanks again

    Cheers,

    Bruce

  13. #13
    Senior Member Vinitasse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Mornington Peninsula VIC
    Posts
    1,251

    Re: Anyone have an opinion on the Gino Rossi Deli Grinder?

    FYI... Ive been abusing a spare EM 0480 in the mean time... it has been holding up remarkably well but that wont last

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2,334

    Re: Anyone have an opinion on the Gino Rossi Deli Grinder?

    You guys need to live on the edge a little and push your little deli grinders a little harder ::)

    Ive ground 60+ kg of coffee non-stop on a Ditting KR1403 and a Malkoenig VTA 6SW running side by side, 500 grams at a time. Decaf and ground, nuff said.

  15. #15
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,665

    Re: Anyone have an opinion on the Gino Rossi Deli Grinder?

    I think it was less of a can you and more of a should you argument Dave ;)

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    505

    Re: Anyone have an opinion on the Gino Rossi Deli Grinder?

    Quote Originally Posted by 635C5B5C4154464650350 link=1292748614/11#11 date=1292861238
    I am curious... what kind of money are we talking about for a Compak machine that might get the job done semi-affordable... and *what does DiP have on offer? (theyre Romanian arent they?)

    Thanks again

    Cheers,

    Bruce
    I thought Compak are Spanish? You might have been thinking about DIP, they are Romanian.

    Anyway, The last I checked and got quotes the Compak actually cost more than the Ditting and Mahlkoenig equivalents.

    If you want to save money DIPs are probably what would fit your needs. The DK 40 was quoted to me July this year at $3000. It has no bag shaker. Talk Coffee supplies them in Melbourne?

  17. #17
    Senior Member Vinitasse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Mornington Peninsula VIC
    Posts
    1,251

    Re: Anyone have an opinion on the Gino Rossi Deli Grinder?

    What about the Eureka Deli Pro? It claims up to 25kg/h with 75mm blades and sells at $1490 here in AU. Is it batting in the same league as those mentioned already or...?

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,339

    Re: Anyone have an opinion on the Gino Rossi Deli Grinder?

    Quote Originally Posted by 23203232362038410 link=1292748614/15#15 date=1292915536
    The DK 40 was quoted to me July this year at $3000
    140mm burrs and rated at 1kg per minute.

    Theres a smaller model with 80mm burrs rated at 500gm per minute - DK30.

    Quote Originally Posted by 23203232362038410 link=1292748614/15#15 date=1292915536
    It has no bag shaker.
    Found them to be useless anyway.

    Talk Coffee is the distributor in Vic.

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    505

    Re: Anyone have an opinion on the Gino Rossi Deli Grinder?

    Quote Originally Posted by 6B545354495C4E4E583D0 link=1292748614/16#16 date=1292916580
    What about the Eureka Deli Pro? It claims up to 25kg/h with 75mm blades and sells at $1490 here in AU. Is it batting in the same league as those mentioned already or...?
    The DK 40 claims 60kg per hour. It also has 100mm blades. http://www.dipgrinders.ro/dipeng/index.php@id=56,0,0,1,0,0.htm
    Remember area of a circle is Pi time radius squared, so a little bigger is a lot both on speed and heat.
    KR/F1203 claims 84kg per hour and has 120mm blades. Mine grinds a 250g bag at plunger grind in 10secs, which is about 90kg/hour. I have found then bag shaker to be useful.
    Cheers

  20. #20
    .
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    2,312

    Re: Anyone have an opinion on the Gino Rossi Deli Grinder?

    You need to think carefully about claimed rated output per hour on silly spec sheets as it has nothing to do with use in normal circumstances of a grinder.

    These small grinders are not intended to be run continuously and the rated figures are nothing more an indication of speed of output that you might extrapolate into the realistically short bursts of work that the grindera are used with.

    The real question is not one of total rated output but what you are intending to do. *If it is to do with short bursts of regular domestic production (usually 250 grams) then any of the grinders mentioned with do endless separate lots of 250 grams....

    ...but if you want to plan for growth or look to grinding larger or wholesale quantities in a sitting, *you will not be wanting to buy a "minimum" grinder.

    Eg: grind say 5 or 10 kilos in one sitting and repack into whatever size bags you like. That requires a different kind of grinder and not may I suggest, small bench grinders or those intended primarily for supermarket use.

    You really need to talk to those that sell the grinders who understand these concepts for real world use and who can guide you with their knowledge of what sort of use any particular model grinder is really intended for.

    Buy right and save money in the long run, instead of buying cheap or small and having to keep upgrading eventually spending more money and suffering the frustration of working with inadequate equipment.

    Just my opinion.

    Regardz,
    A.

  21. #21
    Senior Member Vinitasse's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Location
    Mornington Peninsula VIC
    Posts
    1,251

    Re: Anyone have an opinion on the Gino Rossi Deli Grinder?

    Quote Originally Posted by 754156405B6C705C55555656330 link=1292748614/19#19 date=1292979989
    Buy right and save money in the long run, instead of buying cheap or small and having to keep upgrading eventually spending more money and suffering the frustration of working with inadequate equipment.
    As true as that may be... for someone such as myself who has just set up a new roastery without financing or family assistance and only relying on what was in my wallet I will have to settle for something semi-adequate and semi-affordable for the time being and that was the point of my initial question. I need something good enough to get through 5-10kg per day and will hopefully later on be able to afford and justify a grinder that will be able to do 5-10kg per minute.

    Baby steps for now Im afraid.

    Thanks for all the thoughtful and informative feedback thus far though.

    Cheers,


    Bruce



Similar Threads

  1. !!!SOLD!!! - Gino Rossi deli grinder
    By askthecoffeeguy in forum SOLD
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 25th June 2011, 06:49 AM
  2. FS - Gino Rossi CC45 Del Grinder
    By mad_coffee in forum SOLD
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 4th September 2007, 08:32 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •