Results 1 to 23 of 23

Thread: Opinions on the Mazzer Super Jolly?

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    2,165

    Opinions on the Mazzer Super Jolly?

    Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Im surprised how little press the Super Jolly receives relative to the Mini within most coffee fraternities. The Mini is a great grinder as I can personally testify, but the Super Jolly both grinds quicker and has a better dregs tray than the Mini, but hardly gets a mention. It isnt that much larger either (apart from the Eiffel Tower hopper which is interchangeable I believe with the smaller units anyway).

    Is it too expensive for the home user? For that matter whats a good new / second hand price for it anyway? Or is there some other reason the Mini appears preferred based on?

    Greg

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    979

    Re: Opinions on the Mazzer Super Jolly?

    I love my super jolly. sooo easy to dial in and clean. However I think that maybe there isnt enough/any difference in grind quality to justify the extra size and money for a home grinder. In a cafe setting they will leave you wanting extra speed if grinding on demand. I originally started looking at them because they come up more often ex/cafe second hand at very good prices. I think a good second hand price would be somewhere between $300-$600 depending on age and condition.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    169

    Re: Opinions on the Mazzer Super Jolly?

    Great grinder, I too love my SJ. I got it mainly for when I do the odd fund raising coffee making for my daughters school. The auto grind function is fantastic when making multiple coffees one after the other. For home use I just put the appropriate amount of beans in the hopper and grind away, flick the doser and job done - super quiet - super consistent - super imposing - super jolly really. I think that it gives me a sweeter espresso than diminutive Rocky next to him.

  4. #4
    Super Moderator Javaphile's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Earth!
    Posts
    15,667

    Re: Opinions on the Mazzer Super Jolly?

    I have a couple of Mazzer Super Jollys which are great machines. They do take up a bit of bench space though. ;D

    List on them is I believe over $USD1,100. Ive seen them for sale here as low as $USD600 new.


    Java "They keep the counter from blowing away!" phile

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2,334

    Re: Opinions on the Mazzer Super Jolly?

    I dont like the super jolly. Its too slow for me, but a marked improvement on the Minis speed. For size however, Id take the Mini if I needed to fit it under cabinets. For speed, Id take the SJ...obviously...however the doser needs work

    Good decaf grinder at work

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    2,165

    Expressions of interest: Brand new Mazzer Super Jo

    Interesting. They certainly sound like a good unit to me; but I wonder how many home users would be interested?

    I was looking for one myself and have subsequently been offered an opportunity to make a bulk purchase of brand new units at a good price with the intention to resell them to CSers; but Id only take this if theyre the sort of grinder people would be prepared to buy, otherwise Ill end up with half a study full of Super Jollys! :o What would you be prepared to pay for one brand new?

    Greg

  7. #7
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,665

    Re: Opinions on the Mazzer Super Jolly?

    Im not overly thrilled with the SJ...

    At 600mm its pretty big for home and if its flat blade, gimme a Major any day.

    I wouldnt mind a Kony, but its still a tad large for home....

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    979

    Re: Opinions on the Mazzer Super Jolly?

    Quote Originally Posted by 2muchcoffeeman link=1184479362/0#6 date=1184545041
    Im not overly thrilled with the SJ...

    At 600mm its pretty big for home and if its flat blade, gimme a Major any day.

    I wouldnt mind a Kony, but its still a tad large for home....
    Chris you would know better than anyone. How do you think grind quality is compared with a mini/major obviously speed is somewhere in the middle. do different sized burrs make a difference or is it just a speed thing?

    Greg I think If you could sell at or around the price of a mini people would buy them. It seems like there is a consensus that the reason they are not talked about is because the mini is more suited to the home environment and is cheaper. For cafe use they arent fast enough. They dont really fit either market. thats not to say that they are not a good grinder.

  9. #9
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,665

    Re: Opinions on the Mazzer Super Jolly?

    Quote Originally Posted by muppet_man67 link=1184479362/0#7 date=1184553795
    Quote Originally Posted by 2muchcoffeeman link=1184479362/0#6 date=1184545041
    Im not overly thrilled with the SJ...

    At 600mm its pretty big for home and if its flat blade, gimme a Major any day.

    I wouldnt mind a Kony, but its still a tad large for home....
    Chris you would know better than anyone. How do you think grind quality is compared with a mini/major obviously speed is somewhere in the middle. do different sized burrs make a difference or is it just a speed thing?

    Greg I think If you could sell at or around the price of a mini people would buy them. It seems like there is a consensus that the reason they are not talked about is because the mini is more suited to the home environment and is cheaper. For cafe use they arent fast enough. They dont really fit either market. thats not to say that they are not a good grinder.
    MM- you sorta hit the mail on the head there. The SJ has faster throughput than the mini, but its not right for a busier site. A major is a better option. The major seems to produce a more consistent grind IMHO and the throughput is great- but grind consistency might be just in my mind. For me, its just a big mini...

    In a cafe, if it was to be Mazzer, Id want at least a Major, preferably a Robur.

    How much of this is relevant to home? Probably not much ;)...though Id love it if my mini was quicker....

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    2,165

    Re: Opinions on the Mazzer Super Jolly?

    So would that then make the SJ a better home grinder than the Mini provided size wasnt as much of a problem?

  11. #11
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,665

    Re: Opinions on the Mazzer Super Jolly?

    Quote Originally Posted by Greg Pullman link=1184479362/0#9 date=1184561445
    So would that then make the SJ a better home grinder than the Mini provided size wasnt as much of a problem?
    And the robur would be even better still- providing size is not a problem :P

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    2,165

    Re: Opinions on the Mazzer Super Jolly?

    ;D I guess I was thinking the SJ would still suit the domestic market as its not THAT much bigger (not having seen them side by side admittedly). Got a side by side photo by any chance?

    Any idea how much quicker the SJ is than the Mini? I can put up with the speed on the Mini though quicker would be nicer but dont need the speed of the Robur. How much faster will a SJ will grind say 20g compared to a Mini?

  13. #13
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,665

    Re: Opinions on the Mazzer Super Jolly?

    Quote Originally Posted by Greg Pullman link=1184479362/0#11 date=1184570320
    ;D I guess I was thinking the SJ would still suit the domestic market as its not THAT much bigger (not having seen them side by side admittedly). Got a side by side photo by any chance?

    Any idea how much quicker the SJ is than the Mini? I can put up with the speed on the Mini though quicker would be nicer but dont need the speed of the Robur. How much faster will a SJ will grind say 20g compared to a Mini?
    I guess its just some maths Greg. Mazzers website has the SJ at 150-220g per minute- but doesnt quote the mini or the major...

    The mini has 58mm blades, the SJ has 64mm blades but the Major has 83mm blades. The Major is super quick...much quicker than the Major or the mini for that matter...

    Chris




  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    167

    Re: Opinions on the Mazzer Super Jolly?

    This is the best pic i had on file, couldnt find a head on shot.



    An updosed 16g (20g) takes about 10 seconds with the SJ and the mini would take atleast double that.
    In my relatively small cafe I get by with the SJ but when ive got the take away orders lined up i wish I had a major or greater.
    Grinding to order I find myself waiting quite often with the SJ....the mini is nauseatingly slow but with the timer model ive gotten the feel for how long to set it and can setup saucers etc while its grinding.

    The SJ is 60cm tall as I measured it for my new house, with a short hopper itd fit quite easily under overhead cabinets.

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2,334

    Re: Opinions on the Mazzer Super Jolly?

    Quote Originally Posted by 2muchcoffeeman link=1184479362/0#6 date=1184545041
    Im not overly thrilled with the SJ...

    At 600mm its pretty big for home and if its flat blade, gimme a Major any day.

    I wouldnt mind a Kony, but its still a tad large for home....
    Just go to the Robur - not much of a size difference at this end of the spectrum with the same doser height. Kony is slower than the SJ not to mention expensive...with costly burrs!

    Andy Schecter a (well respected?) home user has a 3 phase Robur paired to a highly modified Silvia for home....hard-to-the-core. 8-)

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    2,165

    Re: Opinions on the Mazzer Super Jolly?

    Interesting stuff guys. So I guess the SJ isnt going to be the sort of thing home users would be interested in... thats a shame if its a similar price to the Mini but grinds twice as fast. Maybe Ill just get one for myself (although the other half of the Pullman family has other ideas... ::)) ;D

    Takeaim thanks for that photo, its sufficient to see the comparison. I reckon the SJ would be a similar height to the Mini with the 2/3 hopper.

    Greg

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    485

    Re: Opinions on the Mazzer Super Jolly?

    The Mini Electronic has 64mm burrs ie the same as a Super Jolly.

    I just returned from the kitchen and at its current grind setting my Mini Electronic took approximately one second per gram of coffee ground. This was with a half full hopper. I then adjusted the grind collar one notch coarser, after fifteen seconds I had ground 17 grams. This was a larger difference than I thought only one notch would make. The caveat here is that when talking grams and seconds the margin for error shouldnt be ignored.

    The speeds above are way under the Super Jollys 150-220g per minute that Chris mentioned. I had a look at the Mazzer site and the RPMs were the same but the Minis motor was a lower wattage than the Super Jolly. I can only guess that Mazzer time their grinders on a very coarse setting *:-?







  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2004
    Posts
    439

    Re: Opinions on the Mazzer Super Jolly?

    The Mini-E can get away with the larger burrs as it cannot be run continuously so the motor does not need to be heavily rated. If it had a doser, then there would be a danger of overheating the motor as someone could leave it grinding for long periods. It really is the ideal combination for home use (fast, small size, no doser to clean) except for the cost.

    Its like the starter engine in a car could not run for long periods turning over a car engine but for short bursts, the overloading it is fine.

  19. #19
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    16

    Re: Opinions on the Mazzer Super Jolly?

    Hi Crew
    Im the proud owner of a SJ, had it for a couple of weeks so its still all new and polished ... I can only whole heartedly reccommend them. No grinder will ever be 100% perfect, (thats why we enjoy playing with them so much) but if you are looking for something to do justice to a home or small cafe (less than 14kg per week) set up, then I think they are a great balance between $$ and capability. It wipes the floor with Rossi and the likes and (Mazzers) is every bit as good as a Ditting for their intended environment. I use mine for home next to the Minore II..... Beauty and the beast - they look fine (actually awesome) and I have no issues at all with space.

    My advice to anyone would be if you have a basic machine, first - buy a great grinder (as much as you can afford) and then update to a great machine.. Grow into it....

    The difference between a truly great grinder and an pretty good one is huge as far as quality goes. Even if it takes 6 months longer or you need to sell another toy to get one (a great grinder)... At least then youll have one for 10+ years that needs only standard servicing.

    Dont overlook the SJ, if you can pick up any good grinder... GO FOR IT youll never stop smiling!

  20. #20
    Super Moderator Javaphile's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Earth!
    Posts
    15,667

    Re: Opinions on the Mazzer Super Jolly?

    If the Super Jolly can put out even the lower end of Mazzers specs per minute (170g) even using 20g baskets that would be enough to keep up with continuous pulls for 4 groups. Youd have to be a very busy cafe for a SJ to be slowing you down.


    Java "Numbers, numbers everywhere and not a one to drink!" phile

  21. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2006
    Posts
    2,334

    Re: Opinions on the Mazzer Super Jolly?

    Yep...the Super Jolly would have blown up in half an hour at a cafe I used to work at....they had 2 roburs.

    I have a Super Jolly on bar at the moment as my main grinder...we only do 3kg a day....so its okay. But I have 4 or 5 Majors lying around doing nothing....unplugged and unused.

  22. #22
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    979

    Re: Opinions on the Mazzer Super Jolly?

    Quote Originally Posted by Javaphile link=1184479362/15#19 date=1184848087
    If the Super Jolly can put out even the lower end of Mazzers specs per minute (170g) even using 20g baskets that would be enough to keep up with continuous pulls for 4 groups. Youd have to be a very busy cafe for a SJ to be slowing you down.


    Java "Numbers, numbers everywhere and not a one to drink!" phile
    If you are using the doser then it is fine. Speed isnt an issue unless you insist on dosing on demand.

  23. #23
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    16

    Re: Opinions on the Mazzer Super Jolly?

    In the context of the original question posted, speed is not an issue as it was more in reference to an alteratve to the mazzer mini (presumably for home / small cafe use) Im sure the SJ will keep up with most peoples demands... but I think I was referring to quality and quantity not to mention the lifecycle of the grinder for its intended use... If I was in a venue doing continuous pulls on a four group then Id obviously go a robur (plus the extra money wouldnt be an issue :) ) In the framework of the original post, If money was no issue youd get the robur, but then Id also have a La Marzzocco on my kitchen bench too ;)

    Mazzer and most companies have great information available on reccommended duty cycle and servicing requirements (eg approx bur replacement intervals) Its pretty easy to use this information to pick the right tool for the job... In the context of the original post I think the SJ is worth considering alongside the mini.

    Ultimately as said earlier no grinder is 100% perfect for all occasions it about buying the best possible one (value and quality) for each individual reason... Im a fussy bstd and the SJ has impressed me for what it delivers next to my Minore II



Similar Threads

  1. Mazzer Super Jolly
    By Bubbacullen1 in forum Grinders
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 14th May 2010, 05:46 PM
  2. Mazzer super jolly
    By AREXTwo in forum Grinders
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18th August 2009, 09:31 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •