Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 50 of 73

Thread: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    126

    Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Sorry for the "urgency" here - where I live in New Zealand sales are few and far between, but this weekend there is 15% off at the local retailer that sells grinders (the only place I know of locally actually).

    Anyway here is my shortlist (unsure if they are doser/less models):

    Mazzer luigi mini manual $795

    Rocky rancilio - $595

    Isomac Grand macinino - $599

    Isomac (I think) - Macinino professional $395

    My "budget" is more around the $500 mark so the Mazzer would be a complete budget blowout. Therefore I would like an opinion with regards the relative merits of these machines.

    I know this question has been asked before but I couldnt find it on a quick search. I also have read the "reviews" thread which was helpful but what I would like to know is whether you think it is worth blowing the budget to get the Mazzer.

    Buying one of these grinders will leave me no money whatsoever to upgrade the Breville Cafe Roma, but Im not worried about this. From what Ive read I will never regret buying a decent grinder! So please help me make a good decision :D Also let me know if any of these are machines I should AVOID AT ALL COST!

    P.S. What prices are you CSs paying for these machines? Just so I get an idea of how much we New Zealanders are being ripped off!!

  2. #2
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,665

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    Hi Ahmad,

    From your list, DEFINITELY the Mazzer- which will very likely be the last grinder that you ever buy. Macap and Compak are both great as well. Are they available in NZ??

    These three are commercial quality and worth every cent of the extra spend. The stepless/micrometric grind adjustment is also a big bonus.

    At present, low $700s inc GST will get a Mazzer in Aust with Macap a tad more expensive and Compak a little cheaper.

    I guess option 2 would be the Rocky- but its not as good as the big 3 and some people find the stepped adjustment irritating.

    Buy the best grinder you can possibly afford.....

    regards

    Chris

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    126

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    Quote Originally Posted by 2muchcoffeeman link=1226003979/0#1 date=1226005452
    DEFINITELY the Mazzer- which will very likely be the last grinder that you ever buy.
    Hi and THANKS for your quick reply! Nothing like a "limited time offer" to pump the adrenaline and spur me into a rushed decision :D

    Not sure how to put this but the Mazzer is basically "too expensive" for me but I could just close my eyes and do it (and hurt later).

    So you can understand that I only want to even CONSIDER the Mazzer if it is the most amazing machine ever.

    Would $200 now save me buyers remorse and upgrade fever later???

    Sounds like $680 NZD would be a great price if you are saying this is $700 in AU - is that a "best price" or an average price?

    And with those prices I quoted should I throw Isomac out of my shortlist?

    Thanks!!

  4. #4
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,665

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    If the Mazzer is available at that price Ahmad, GRAB IT!

    RRP is now $820 AUD...

    Chris

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    126

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    Quote Originally Posted by 2muchcoffeeman link=1226003979/0#3 date=1226007792
    If the Mazzer is available at that price Ahmad, GRAB IT!
    Sorry to keep "questioning" you on your clearly stated opinion, but as you can appreciate this is a LOT of money for me :(

    Having said "buy the Mazzer", would buying the Rocky cause disappointment in your opinion? Do you see a lot of people here choose the Rocky over the Mazzer and later regret it or upgrade?

    Also something I havent asked or found out in reading here - how much do I have to budget for repair and maintenance of these grinders? Will I need to allow $x for ongoing maintenance as this may eat further into the budget.

    I am the only coffee drinker in the home and average less than a cup a day (at home) presently.

  6. #6
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,665

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    Quote Originally Posted by ahmadnz link=1226003979/0#4 date=1226008202
    Quote Originally Posted by 2muchcoffeeman link=1226003979/0#3 date=1226007792
    If the Mazzer is available at that price Ahmad, GRAB IT!
    Sorry to keep "questioning" you on your clearly stated opinion, but as you can appreciate this is a LOT of money for me *:(

    Having said "buy the Mazzer", would buying the Rocky cause disappointment in your opinion? Do you see a lot of people here choose the Rocky over the Mazzer and later regret it or upgrade?

    Also something I havent asked or found out in reading here - how much do I have to budget for repair and maintenance of these grinders? Will I need to allow $x for ongoing maintenance as this may eat further into the budget.

    I am the only coffee drinker in the home and average less than a cup a day (at home) presently.
    You may upgrade a Rocky but you will be very unlikely to want to upgrade the Mazzer. Its simply in a different league.

    Maintenance should be pretty much nil (new burr set every 200-400kg). Other than that, just clean it.

    The Mazzer will come with you if you upgrade your machine. You may choose to leave the rocky behind.

    Chris

  7. #7
    Senior Member ozscott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    BRISBANE
    Posts
    2,002

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    You can do mods (very easy and almost at no cost) to make Rocky stepless and remove burr carrier play...the jump from there to Mazzer is then less than before the mods, but its still a jump. *The Mazzers impress with fit and finish as well as grind quality and consistency of grind. The Rocky is not as elegant to look at but make no mistake it is a very heavy and well built grinder and I doubt that it would be "outlasted" by the Mini.*The Mini is probably no faster at a guess than the Rocky, but Chris would know the answer to that. * I really think that the Rocky is still a great grinder particularly with the modifications. *I did notice though that there is a definite (albeit incremental) improvement in the cup with my Mazzer Super Jolly (faster than the Mini, but according to the reviews on this site about the same grind quality as the mini) using my commercial machine. *I have not tried the 2 grinders side by side with my EM6910 to see what the difference is....I should because the Rocky works very well with the EM producing really nice coffee on a daily basis.

    Cheers

  8. #8
    Sleep is overrated Thundergod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    10,496

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    ahmad I agree with Chris.
    The Mazzer is a step up from the Rocky.
    I was originally considering a Rocky but decided on a Macap.
    No regrets and Ill never need another grinder.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    433

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    ahmed, that is a good price for the Mazzer, I have only seen it for +/- $800 online. Is it from a local retailer / online (trademe perhaps?) - can u PM me if its online, cheers

    Sen
    oh, and better to spend the $1 - 200 now than want to upgrade in a month or a year and neeed to spend $3 - 500 on the upgrade

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    126

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    The price needs to be confirmed, but I was told by this local retailer that it is $795/800, and I just see in the newspaper today that they have 15% off everything in store unless on special already.

    So Im guessing that it should be $680.

    The retailer in question has a presence in other cities (Im in Dunedin), but Im not sure if the discount applies to other stores (it may just be a local thing).

    They are not a big retailer and I would not have expected the price to be this low. Therefore I need to confirm the pricing.

    If it is ok to mention the retailer then let me know - I am unsure of the rules here.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    2,165

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    Ive had a Mini for 18 months now. Ive only used a Rocky (doserless) once but (sorry Rocky owners) while it did the job of grinding coffee, by comparison it struck me as plasticky, slow, messy and noisy. I recall the grind was set to 2 on a scale of 1-25 to get the right fineness for espresso, whereas the Mini has plenty of range to go. Ive upgraded to a Super Jolly but that was only because it was a very good price - the Minis still a great grinder.

    Only you can say if you have the money but so long as you have the space you simply wont regret getting the Mini if you can find the money, whereas you may regret getting the Rocky, particularly if you upgrade the machine down the track. Factor into your purchase losing $200 if you sell the Rocky in a years time and spending $150 more on the Mini and youll be well ahead by buying the Mini now purely on a financial front, let alone the better coffee and the lack of fuss and bother in upgrading later.

    Greg

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    126

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    Cheers Greg, I really appreciate you sharing those experiences.

    I hate limited time offers. Now I have 2 days to make a decision (if I want one discounted).

    I will get to see both side by side today. May help, who knows.

    Is it insane to spend more on the grinder than I might ever spend on an espresso machine??

  13. #13
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,665

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    Quote Originally Posted by ahmadnz link=1226003979/0#11 date=1226021404
    ....Is it insane to spend more on the grinder than I might ever spend on an espresso machine??
    How little he knows!

    Welcome to a life of poverty once the upgrade bug bites.....;D

    Grab the offer and bolt before they change their minds...Clearly they dont know of the price rises ;)

    Chris

  14. #14
    Senior Member ozscott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    BRISBANE
    Posts
    2,002

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    For that price on the Mini you cannot go wrong. Greg and I differ over the Rocky doslerless but the world would be dull if people agreed on everything. I think that the tube mod for the Rocky really does step it up a league in terms of sound levels, grind control, grind consistency etc. The case is stainless steel and the motor HD - I would like to see the weight comparison between it and the Mini - they would be close I reckon. Anyway the Mini is at a great price so get it and dont look back.

    Cheers

  15. #15
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    126

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    Yes this is playing on my mind. I did some ringing around (in my city you have to talk to the right people if you want to buy these machines - they dont live at Harvey Norman!) and was told that the new price will be over $1000....

    Once in a lifetime?

  16. #16
    Senior Member ozscott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    BRISBANE
    Posts
    2,002

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    most probably mate

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    433

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders!I ;)

    Id get the price confirmed with the retailer before you get all excited as it may not be a "ranged" item (special order) and potentially not subject to the 15% off deal (I could be wrong, but it would surprise me if a bulk retailer (Sm City?) stock the mazzer in their std range). Im happy to be proven wrong here, but just check and confirm before doing your head in

    Sen

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    126

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    Yes I am aware of this and this is why Ive kept the retailer name close to my chest :p

    I wont be disappointed if the price isnt what I thought - it will put the Mazzer well out of my budget (from out of the world to out of this universe), so it will help in my decision making :D

  19. #19
    Sleep is overrated Thundergod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    10,496

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    Quote Originally Posted by ahmadnz link=1226003979/0#11 date=1226021404
    Is it insane to spend more on the grinder than I might ever spend on an espresso machine??
    No.

    Fresh beans + good grinder + cheap machine = coffee
    Fresh beans + bad grinder + expensive machine = waste of time, money and effort

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    126

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    A "coffee merchant" I spoke to earlier today disagreed that the grinder is "just as important if not more important than the machine".

    Was this so that he could interest me in the espresso machines he went on to talk about??

  21. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    2,165

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    Quote Originally Posted by ozscott link=1226003979/0#13 date=1226022557
    For that price on the Mini you cannot go wrong. *Greg and I differ over the Rocky doslerless but the world would be dull if people agreed on everything. *I think that the tube mod for the Rocky really does step it up a league in terms of sound levels, grind control, grind consistency etc. *The case is stainless steel and the motor HD - I would like to see the weight comparison between it and the Mini - they would be close I reckon. *Anyway the Mini is at a great price so get it and dont look back.

    Cheers
    My experience was a single use of the Rocky three months ago compared to extensive Mini use so Ill defer to your greater experience about how it can be improved but my comparative recollection definitely fell in favour of the Mini.

    Anyway Ahmadnz, as TG said the grinders very important. Id rather have your machine and a Mini than my machine and a whirly blade grinder! And if you have the opportunity to see (or even use!) both side by side, Im sure thatll go a long way in helping you appreciate the differences (and in fairness where the Rocky already sits quality-wise cos its still a good grinder in itself, its just the Mini is definitely a step up).

  22. #22
    Sleep is overrated Thundergod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    10,496

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    Quote Originally Posted by ahmadnz link=1226003979/0#19 date=1226025014
    A "coffee merchant" I spoke to earlier today disagreed that the grinder is "just as important if not more important than the machine".

    Was this so that he could interest me in the espresso machines he went on to talk about??
    Yes.

    Think about it.....Im not trying to sell you a grinder or an espresso machine.

    That means Im impartial.

    The grinder IS more important.

  23. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    126

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    I should have read the fine print :p

    "Excludes electrical" should exclude the grinder I had a laugh

    (yes I am an idiot)

  24. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    2,165

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    Quote Originally Posted by ahmadnz link=1226003979/0#19 date=1226025014
    A "coffee merchant" I spoke to earlier today disagreed that the grinder is "just as important if not more important than the machine".

    Was this so that he could interest me in the espresso machines he went on to talk about??
    Totally, or he doesnt know what hes talking about. Particularly for espresso. Cheaper machines tend to have more flex in the (often plastic) burr assemblies, which leads to less consistent particle sizes and less consistent shots. Something like the Mazzer Mini has the upper burr sitting in a brass burr carrier which screws into a thread in the same chassis that holds the motor and thus the lower burr.

    Greg

  25. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    126

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    I think Im in love with the Mazzer ;(

    Having seen the two side by side I dont think I could buy a Rocky, but this is definitely on an emotional level rather than any rational one.

    Its sad but right now Im going through the stage where if I cant afford the Mazzer, I dont want to buy ANYTHING!!!

    I even examined the Sylvia instore after I worked out that the only way to get anything discounted off the Mazzer would be to buy MORE in the store!!!

    This is rather sad...

  26. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    539

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    Quote Originally Posted by ahmadnz link=1226003979/20#24 date=1226033976
    This is rather sad...
    Oh well, start saving up a bit more.

  27. #27
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    433

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    Ive already done the upgrade thing once (from a Breville "burr" grinder to my current sunbeam) which fortunately didnt cost me anymore than the actual purchase price of the sunbeam as HNs agreed to allow me to just return the breville, but already I am scouring the pages of trademe, drooling over the commercial style grinders that are there from time to time.

    No money at the moment to upgrade, so its a bit of a pipe dream for the foreseeable future, and the sunbeam "does the job", but there is always the thought in the head that it could be much better.

    Ofcourse, the minister of finance wouldnt have initially approved the budget for a more expensive grinder to begin with, so its a moot point, but if you can afford it (or justify the expense) then go for the better one first time

    Sen

  28. #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    126

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    The NZ dollar is at a 5 year low with no sign of bottoming out (I remember a 38c dollar....).

    Price rises are sure to come, which makes this a super difficult decision.

    Spend savings now and repay the saving account??

    Do you think a Mazzer Mini plus Silvia would lead me to want FURTHER upgrades? I dont know if Im thinking straight!

  29. #29
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    126

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    Sen - I just noticed that you got a Sunbeam EM6910. Thats $800 retail - did you pay this?

    Reason I ask is that the Rancilio Silvia I saw today was $1100 - not sure if thats an average street price - and not too much more than the Sunbeam.

    How do you find your Sunbeam? I know NOTHING of machines - I only mention the Silvia because it keeps coming up in discussions here.

  30. #30
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    433

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    I think I paid around $650 - 700 or so from HNs under one of their int free deals about this time last year, and they often are included in Farmers / HNs / Noel Leemings etc sales at 20% off or so. I wouldnt want to pay much more than that TBH.

    There are some online retailers in NZ that sell the Silvia, some for less than the figure u mention, others for about that.

    There are differing thoughts about the Silvia vs 6910, most of the time it comes down to the almost assured longevity of the Silvia vs the milk strength of the 6910 (and possible "appliance" lifespan of the 6910).

    As for how do I find my sunbeam, bloody fantastic. Can get very very good coffee, regularly & without much fuss. Have very limited desire to buy coffee from a cafe as it just generally doesnt measure up. I go through about 500gr of beans a week, which is about $14 / week + milk on top, certainly more than I initially expected, but I wasnt expecting to enjoy the coffee so much that EVERY morning, I make 2 lattes

  31. #31
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    126

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    Am really enjoying this discussion.

    Could you tell me what you have seen the Silvia going for in NZ price-wise just to know that Im in the right ball park when looking?

    Dunedin is such a small town that Id expect to be paying a premium price for the lack of choice and competition.

    This journey for me started when I considered a 2nd hand EM6910 owned by a non-coffeegeek/snob. Now Im considering spending $1500+ on new equipment!!!!

    To be fair I dont think Id ever feel the urge to upgrade if I went for the Mazzer/Silvia (nor would I have much money to do so), so it might actually be cheaper to "do it right first time".

    The dollar slide is also on my mind.

  32. #32
    Sleep is overrated Thundergod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    10,496

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    I use a 6910 every day at work but know now from 11 months of use that it wont last anywhere near as long as a Silvia.

    Its been through 3 group seals and neds the colar replaced.

    As Senator says though, it makes a good coffee.

    I recommend them to those on a limited budget, so long as they accept the warning that it is not going to last as long as theyd like.

  33. #33
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    126

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    Someone recently sold a Silvia on an auction site here. Actually I missed out and this was only 2 days ago!! 2 days!!!

    They seem to be rare as hens teeth here too.

    Anyway they mentioned that it had had "yearly servicing". I dont know if it was used semi-commercially (the photo showed it in what looks like a domestic kitchen), but why would you need to "service" the machine with the Rancillio distributor?

    I havent until today done any reading about the Silvia (I was looking for a grinder, not an espresso machine!), and Im concerned about this variable temperature issue - can you possibly summarise the issue for me in plain English?

    Some things really did annoy me on the Silvia, although they are not important for the art of espresso - the stupidly small drip tray and water tank, and the difficult to remove water tank.

    Also - if you have experience - can you take off the tip of the steam wand on the Silvia for cleaning?

  34. #34
    Senior Member Stan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Just North of Brisbane
    Posts
    948

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    I went from a cheap grinder to the Mazzer and I noticed the difference in the taste. I have not used a Rocky and have no information about them but I have never regretted the purchase of the Mazzer. It added a further dimension to the taste of the coffee even on the EM4800 that I was using when I bought it (A $120 machine and a $700 grinder). I now have the EM6910 and if reports regarding the group head wearing are correct may have to upgrade in the not to distant future. However I know that whatever machine I end up buying the Mazzer will be up to the job. Good Luck. :)

  35. #35
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    126

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    How do you adjust the grind on the Mazzer mini?

    I was told by the retail staffer that you have to take the hopper off to do this - is it an easy thing to do? I heard something about the possibility of beans going all over the place.

    The reason I ask is that Ive been led to believe that adjustments may need to be made according to a number of variables - how easy it is to make those adjustments obviously is important to me.

  36. #36
    Senior Member greenman's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    Perth, Western Australia
    Posts
    3,174

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    Sounds like the "coffee merchant" is talking out of his a.....e!!!!
    Good place to stay away from Id say...................

  37. #37
    Senior Member flynnaus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    4,264

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    Ahmad

    Just below the hopper is a metal collar which is rotated to adjust the grind. Screwed into the collar is a short metal bar (about 4cm) to allow you to turn the collar. I dont know if you have many options on where to buy the more upmarket coffee equipment in NZ but I agree you might need to try other outlets if these guys dont understand the equipment they are selling.

    Yes, there are a number of variables and sometimes they come together but as you become more experienced, being able to anticipate the correct adjustments becomes easier. I am not there yet.


  38. #38
    Senior Member Stan's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Just North of Brisbane
    Posts
    948

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    You dont have to remove the hopper to make the adjustment but you should have the grinder running when you make the adjustment (or so an earlier thread stated). *I do this when I adjust the grind and have had no problems. *I have also forgotten and adjusted the grind without the motor running and the earth did not move and I had no problems. *But to be safe I now ensure the motor is running when I adjust it (just to be safe) as I have found the advice from Senior members very accurate and reliable. *:)

  39. #39
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    126

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    Haha :) I was told by this staffer that the hopper needed to be empty for the adjustment too :)

    But I wont be harsh on her. She genuinely knew 100 times what the usual appliance salesperson would know, and at the end of the day she was a retail salesperson first and foremost. Its just an added bonus that she was an enthusiast and welcomed me to "CoffeeGeek" to seek a review for the Silvia.

    She just wasnt familiar with the Mazzer Mini herself - Im guessing that they dont sell a lot of those in the store and most of them are cafe orders bought "sight unseen".

    Very impressed that after phoning in advance to ask if they had the MM and Rocky instore to view/demo, they actually set both machines up especially for me.

    Im guessing that their markup on the Isomacs is higher so they push them? - I can understand this even if I dont agree with retailers doing such things.

  40. #40
    Senior Member ozscott's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    BRISBANE
    Posts
    2,002

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    Arrhh....well the retailers staff member knows nothing about grinders, but then again if you are asking at an appliance centre that might be expected. Dont need to remove anything to change grind.

    Cheers

  41. #41
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    126

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    Yeah as I said, she did know far more than your average "Walmart/Harvey Norman" generic salesperson was a bonus. So no complaints really. We have no "specialty coffee" retailers in town - this is an "upper class" home appliance and homeware retail store and is the only one I know of that has these instore. Some of the coffee merchants can get them to order from suppliers of course.

    Another of my many questions - the talk about that "coffee merchant" who questioned the opinion that the grinder is more important than the machine reminded me of another thing he said: that cheap "15 bar" machines cant maintain that pressure full time and that would only be their "maximum pressure".

    However Im just starting to read an espresso guide/FAQ at "home-barista" which mentions 8-9 bar?

    Is this another sign of that coffee merchant not really knowing what hes talking about??

  42. #42
    Sleep is overrated Thundergod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    10,496

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    No. Hes correct this time.
    The 15 bar everyone loves to emphasise in their brochures is the maximum pump rating.
    9 Bar is whats required at the point of hitting the coffee.

  43. #43
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    126

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    So 15 bar is required to deliver the 9 bar at the head?

    As he was suggesting that 15 bar consistently is required.

  44. #44
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    2,165

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    15 bar means the amount of pressure it can deliver into a dead end. Meaningless if you want to actually flow some water! ::) The over pressure valve should open at 9 bar to bleed any excess pressure back to the tank.

    Anyway, the Mazzer Mini is the grinder for you, move fast or youll be paying more in a years time almost undoubtedly. Silvias do come up here from time to time but you need to be on the ball. $NZ1100 for a Silvia is probably about right, but since theyre $AU820, and Mazzers are $AU820 and theyre selling the Mazzer for $NZ790 or whatever its definitely a good deal.

    Do you think a Mazzer Mini plus Silvia would lead me to want FURTHER upgrades? I dont know if Im thinking straight!
    Hard question to answer. Why does the bloke with a McLaren F1 want to upgrade to something faster? It just depends on how fussy you are. This is the same combo I have and its done well for 18 months now (with PID for 12 of those) but Im thinking of upgrading. However its a long way better than anything in its price range. When you look to upgrade youre looking to spend more normally, and naturally more expensive machines have the potential to be better. But then youre not comparing apples with apples. At the price point I dont think youll do any better than the Mazzer/Silvia. You may choose to upgrade two years down the track, but in the meantime youll have had great coffee, a lot of support from the squillions of Silvia owners around the world and will get a good resale value on it.

    If you havent already, have a read through:
    http://www.coffeetamper.com.au/kb/reviews/sunbeam-silvia/
    http://www.coffeetamper.com.au/kb/reviews/mini-k3/

    Theyre comparisons against others but you learn a fair bit about the machines themselves in the meantime.

    Greg

  45. #45
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    126

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    Hi Greg and thanks.

    The reason I dont think I would want/need to upgrade from a "$2000 setup" is that I wouldnt be able to justify EVER spending more than that (as Ive said, even around $2000 is far more than I even imagined I would ever spend on espresso equipment).

    Given that its well above what I can justify spending already, its highly unlikely I could afford to ever UPgrade.

    What Id like to know therefore is whether the Mini/Silvia combo would satisfy me completely in the sub-$2000 price range - ie. would I regret not having bought other options within this same price range.

  46. #46
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    433

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    I dont think there are a lot of other options in that price range in NZ. We dont as a rule get the non HX version of the VBM machine (levetta / vashetta or what ever name it has on it now). If you do a nz page google search for a macap grinder, it will lead you to the Isomac vendor in NZ who has various machines listed, but no prices (I think he sells mostly on trademe) and there are various versions of the Rocket E61 machine available also.

    You seem to be searching for a definitive answer / guide as to what you should do. If your budget allows for the Mazzer now, then by all means, get that and some non pressurised filters for your Breville and see how that goes, then you can decide after that if a new machine upgrade is a "must have" now, or you are happy with the combo you have. Like the 6910, your breville wont last forever, so it wont so much be an upgrade, but a replacement at some point.

    The Silvia undoubtedly would be a massive step up from your current Breville and the Silvia is unlikely to need to be replaced in the short - medium term (IE it shouldnt wear out) so it would certainly have to be something that will need to suit your needs for a period of years. Some users find its small(ish) boiler to be a limiting factor when doing large quantities of milk based drinks, but find it perfectly adequate for 1 - 4 milk drinks at a time, but if this is not something you wont need to do, then it shouldnt be an issue.

    Upgrade paths from the Silvia I suspect would be to a Heat Exchabger (HX) pro-sumer style machine (Viebiemme Super, Giotto etc). These go for around $2500 - 3000 or so. If the lotto numbers were right, this is what I would go for in a heart beat, but failing that, my 6910 would have to go to the great coffee machine graveyard in the sky before I woud even be allowed to think about something like these beauties.

    Good luck with your choice, and as always, pics or it hasnt happened :)

    Sen

  47. #47
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    126

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    Hey thanks Sen. I sent you a PM about NZ options for getting a Silvia :) Hope to hear from you about that.

  48. #48
    .
    Join Date
    Aug 2004
    Posts
    2,312

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    a) We can supply to NZ if the buyer is prepared to pay the freight and NZ customs duty and GST etc upon landing... For export, obviously we do not charge Australian GST so the oz price is already lowered by 1 eleventh of the RRP here, and we also provide a good discount over and above that (lack of GST) because the equipment is unlikely to ever come back to us for service or a warranty claim.

    b) The above includes
    i) Silvia, 350ml-ish-boiler, best domestic on the market in the world under a thousand of our dollars.......or a step up to
    ii) Diadema Perfetta, also a non heat exchanger machine but with a thermosyphoning E61 group and 750 ml boiler so....a much bigger capacity to entertain than a Silvia......or
    iii) Any of our Diadema semi commercial heat exchanger machines.

    A note resulting from something I read in one of the posts above.......Anyone that complains about the capacity of a Silvia....which is basically the larget capacity domestic machine in its class, because they are trying to steam / texture / froth milk in a 1 litre jug or more (ie for 4 or more coffees at a time), is not using the equipment properly or for the purpose the machine was designed and built.

    Anyone that wants to do lots of coffees or atleast...lots of milk...needs to buy something bigger and more suitable instead of trying to overuse what basically has been designed as a "couples" machine OR.....should manage the use of the machine better, have some patience and realise that a little more time is involved when entertaining. This comes down to no more than the necessity to have a good understanding of the equipment being used.

    Newcomers please note, there is more to life than the 2 or 3 types of *machines that are continuously and cyclicly mentioned and recomended around here....by a mostly small number of active participants.

    Having said all of the above, I would encourage you to buy local, get good equipment that is supported locally and where you will be able to get good local service backup. If on the other hand you decide to go mail order and maybe even international mail order, then we are here to help as are all other of the site sponsors.


    Regardz,
    Attilio, first / original CS site sponsor.

  49. #49
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Posts
    1,995

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    Quote Originally Posted by Fresh_Coffee link=1226003979/40#47 date=1226134658
    Newcomers please note, there is more to life than the 2 or 3 types of machines that are continuously and cyclicly mentioned and recomended around here....by a mostly small number of active participants.
    Quote Originally Posted by Fresh_Coffee link=1226003979/40#47 date=1226134658
    Silvia, 350ml-ish-boiler, best domestic on the market in the world under a thousand of our dollars
    :-?

    Cheers,

    Luca

  50. #50
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2008
    Posts
    126

    Re: Urgent opinion please regarding Grinders! ;)

    Quote Originally Posted by Fresh_Coffee link=1226003979/40#47 date=1226134658
    A note resulting from something I read in one of the posts above.......Anyone that complains about the capacity of a Silvia....which is basically the larget capacity domestic machine in its class, because they are trying to steam / texture / froth milk in a 1 litre jug or more (ie for 4 or more coffees at a time), is not using the equipment properly or for the purpose the machine was designed and built.

    Anyone that wants to do lots of coffees or atleast...lots of milk...needs to buy something bigger and more suitable instead of trying to overuse what basically has been designed as a "couples" machine OR.....should manage the use of the machine better, have some patience and realise that a little more time is involved when entertaining. This comes down to no more than the necessity to have a good understanding of the equipment being used.
    Hi and thanks. Are you saying that the Silvia is not designed to make more than 4 coffees in one sitting, or that it will just take time?

    Would making more than 4 coffees on a regular basis lead to some sort of damage/early failure?



Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Similar Threads

  1. Urgent HELP with Moka Pot!
    By Dandilion in forum Brewing Equipment - Manual Coffee Brewing Processes
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 6th November 2011, 08:09 AM
  2. URGENT LONDON
    By t3bcx3 in forum General Coffee Related...
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 18th March 2009, 06:34 PM
  3. Urgent need a decent coffee !!!
    By rich00 in forum General Coffee Related...
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 9th December 2008, 06:42 PM
  4. New grinder, urgent help reqd pls..........
    By Darky in forum Grinders
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 30th January 2008, 07:46 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •