Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Isomac Tea II retro steam tip upgrade for cooltouch steam wands - Review

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    268

    Isomac Tea II retro steam tip upgrade for cooltouch steam wands - Review

    Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi all,

    I recently upgraded my TEA II steam tip from the standard 2 hole cool touch wand tip which comes with the machine, to the tip being offered as an upgrade package by 5 senses coffee (Moderators, i assume that its ok to mention them since they are the only ones currently offering the upgrade package?).

    The difference is night and day. While the tip that comes with the cool touch wand on the TEA II has two large holes, the new tip has two slightly smaller holes. You wouldnt think such a thing would make a big difference, but it really does. If you are struggling with the standard cool touch tip, its probably not due to lack of skill. The standard tip is poorly matched to the machine as the holes are too large, so you end up with:

    - large volume of steam being released quickly, at low speed/pressure
    - steam running out quicker than it should
    - steam being not quite as dry as it could be

    With the new tip, you get higher pressure steam, it lasts what seems like forever (i have measured it as about twice as long as before), and the steam seems dryer.

    The installation is relatively simple and 5 senses have done a great job of including all the components you need, including a slightly longer teflon tube to keep the wand cool to the touch, and a set of spare washers. I completed the installation in around 15 minutes and i took my time doing it.

    Milk texture is now perfect and its so much easier to get great microfoam. Steaming takes a little bit longer than before to reach temp. Note: the little white washer you see in pics below was put on the wrong way by myself - ive swapped it around and now it cant be seen.










  2. #2
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,665

    Re: Isomac Tea II retro steam tip upgrade for cool touch steam wands - Review

    Interesting Rival,

    From what I can see, the tip is the coffeeparts 1.2mm 2 hole as shown in http://coffeeparts.com/accessories/steam-tips.html

    It looks like you had to lose the cool touch wand as well in the process?

    Its a shame, as that wand looks like a copy of the Giotto wand and is excellent, though perhaps not for the Tea which does have a very small boiler for a HX machine?

    I am sure that site sponsor Coffeeparts can supply this crossgrade and most likely at a better $$ as well...

    2mcm

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    268

    Re: Isomac Tea II retro steam tip upgrade for cooltouch steam wands - Review

    No, the cool touch wand stays. The only thing that is replaced is the tip and the teflon tube.

    I should take a photo of the kit. It comes with an extended teflon tube, some rubber washers to prevent steam going back up the wand etc.

    Also note the extension piece which is a male-male adaptor - this is needed to fit the female thread on the steam tip. It is not possible to simply buy the tip and screw it on as two females dont connect. No one else seems to have stock of the extension piece... or the other parts.

  4. #4
    Site Sponsor Di_Bartoli's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    647 Botany Road, Rosebery, NSW 2018
    Posts
    931

    Re: Isomac Tea II retro steam tip upgrade for cooltouch steam wands - Review

    I was intrigued why you would change the tip of this machine . So I decided to throw up a quick video using the standard tip - i cant see much problem in quality of milk etc.

    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NWec-Y6BTjA

    Renzo
    Di Bartoli Home Barista Centre

  5. #5
    A_M
    A_M is offline
    Guest
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    6,381

    Re: Isomac Tea II retro steam tip upgrade for cooltouch steam wands - Review

    Quote Originally Posted by 567B4D507360667D7E7B120 link=1275514826/3#3 date=1275545287
    I was intrigued why you would change the tip of this machine . So I decided to throw up a quick video using the standard tip - i cant see much problem in quality of milk etc. *


    Renzo
    Di Bartoli Home Barista Centre
    Nicely done.. I like it for teh Latte art alone..

    [media]http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NWec-Y6BTjA[/media]

  6. #6
    Senior Member bennett's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    294

    Re: Isomac Tea II retro steam tip upgrade for cooltouch steam wands - Review

    Renzo, stop showing off. *;D

    Was that you or David in the video ?



Similar Threads

  1. Steam Wands... Looking to upgrade.
    By AtomicGrog in forum Brewing Equipment (non-machine specific)
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 18th February 2012, 07:20 AM
  2. Extreem Machine...8 boilers, 6 Groups, 3 Steam Arms, 6 motors and Foot pedal steam wands!
    By ccraf in forum Brewing Equipment - Extreme Machines ($3000+)
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 23rd February 2010, 10:34 PM
  3. No burn steam wands, different steam?
    By yeeza in forum Brewing Equipment (non-machine specific)
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 3rd September 2008, 12:44 PM
  4. Gaggia Steam Wands
    By AJzCafe in forum Brewing Equipment (non-machine specific)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 21st July 2005, 01:58 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •