Results 1 to 9 of 9

Thread: Web page competitions

  1. #1
    Senior Member Lovey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    South Coast NSW
    Posts
    842

    Web page competitions

    Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Gday all,
    I have a question for the computer gurus out there in relation to web browsing. Ill try and explain my problem and please forgive my lack of tech terms or descriptions :-[.

    When I surf the net Ive usually got a couple of windows open, with three tabs per window. Ive noticed that some web sites seem to take over and jump back onto the screen when moving in between pages on another tab or window.

    Whilst moving between the pages on CS for example (ebay is another special for this) I flick over to another window to continue browsing. Just after Ive changed to the new window, CS/ebay then pops back up onto the screen.

    When this happens, the window tab at the bottom of the screen isnt depressed, so you cant navigate around that screen with the mouse until you click on the screen somewhere, and you have to click on the original window twice to get it back.

    I know its a minor annoyance, but an annoyance it still is.
    Is there some setting on my browser (IE8) that can rectify this, or is it just a feature of some sites that they are grabby and its something that I have to learn to live with?

    FWIW, Im happy with IE (faults and all) and I dont want to install another browser.

    Thanks in advance,
    Steve.

  2. #2
    Sleep is overrated Thundergod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    10,496

    Re: Web page competitions

    Im not sure Steve but Ive experienced the same and have always put it down to that window not being completely loaded and it pops back up when something else loads.

    I am open to being corrected.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Posts
    505

    Re: Web page competitions

    Hi Steve,

    This is called stealing focus and it effects Windows.
    There are some people who claim that there are fixes;
    http://pcsupport.about.com/od/windowsxp/ht/stealingfocus02.htm

    But from what I have read/seen this isnt possible.
    Windows has a register called ForegroundLockTimeout. This "locks" the foreground for a period of time so other programs cant steal focus. You can go in and change it (as in the link above). But, and here is the problem, so can other programs (making the register pointless!!!). So you can set the register to a high value and a program comes and changes it back to zero.

    I had this problem with IE. The only half fix I found was using FireFox. This fixed the problem when on the net but not for other programs.

    The going joke with the I.T. geeks, is that the solution is called Linux.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    173

    Re: Web page competitions

    Quote Originally Posted by 5F7C65766A130 link=1243822479/0#0 date=1243822479
    Whilst moving between the pages on CS for example (ebay is another special for this) I flick over to another window to continue browsing. Just after Ive changed to the new window, CS/ebay then pops back up onto the screen.

    When this happens, the window tab at the bottom of the screen isnt depressed, so you cant navigate around that screen with the mouse until you click on the screen somewhere, and you have to click on the original window twice to get it back.
    I have installed IE8 but cannot reproduce this problem... Have you checked out the Tab option?

    Tools -> Internet Options -> Tab -> Settings... play around with the settings and see how it goes...

    BTW: *IE8 is pretty COooOL.... better than what I expected.. Im trying to switch over from Firefox... too much memory consumption with multiple tabs open!!! :o *(Good work Microsoft).

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    173

    Re: Web page competitions

    Quote Originally Posted by 3A2E2828323E392E3C3C3A3A5B0 link=1243822479/3#3 date=1243957234
    BTW:IE8 is pretty COooOL.... better than what I expected.. Im trying to switch over from Firefox... too much memory consumption with multiple tabs open!!! Shocked(Good work Microsoft). *
    I take back my words... super lag browser after leaving pc on overnight. *Back to Firefox. >:(

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1,077

    Re: Web page competitions

    I think I.E. stands for Internet Eventually !!!

    Anyone know of a tool to change your default browser with the click of a button say to run a routine rather than having to adjust settings of the actual browser the longer way?

  7. #7
    Mal Dimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Warwick, QLD
    Posts
    16,869

    Re: Web page competitions

    Yep,

    Just right-click on a HTM(L) file in Windows Explorer and select the default program you want to use. Or, start your preferred browser and make it the default one under Options or the pop-up that often appears asking you the question....

    Mal.

  8. #8
    Senior Member Lovey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2005
    Location
    South Coast NSW
    Posts
    842

    Re: Web page competitions

    Gday all,
    thanks for you suggestions and help. Although I said that I was happy with IE, it really started to give me the schaisers in the last few days. When I was on a separate tabs, each with its own focus stealing windows, the computer couldnt decide who was the stronger thief and the screen was flicking back and forward between the two >:(.
    Ive installed Firefox 3 today and Ill give that a go.
    Thanks again all,
    Steve.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2009
    Posts
    180

    Re: Web page competitions

    Google Chrome is another option you might consider using a Windows variant. I dont think it suffers from the memory usage problems that firefox has, so might be a better bet, however firefox does have some nice extensions like adblock (I have CS whitelisted) and better control over scripting than Internet Exploder has.

    /edit Says I running Firefox on Ubuntu.



Similar Threads

  1. Competitions
    By Aaron89 in forum General Coffee Related...
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 16th March 2010, 09:52 PM
  2. Barista Competitions
    By Lindzcarpenter in forum General Coffee Related...
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 23rd August 2009, 08:21 PM
  3. Web page help
    By Lovey in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 13th June 2009, 10:46 PM
  4. Competitions
    By Intellidepth in forum General Coffee Related...
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 17th December 2008, 07:20 PM
  5. New CS Members Page
    By Di_Bartoli in forum General News
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 9th December 2008, 07:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •