Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: OMRON H3YN-2 Timer (power supply question)

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,520

    OMRON H3YN-2 Timer (power supply question)

    Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hey CS electricians / techs / smart people.

    looking at this timer is the below right?
    OMRON H3YN-2 Timer
    its the short range time model

    it needs a supply voltage of 24v ac to power it up
    but it can timer / switch at 240v circut?



    spec sheet .
    http://www.omron247.com/doc/pdfcatal.nsf/24E4F8D2A9925FD486256B8300528588/$FILE/D19H3YN0302.pdf

    many thanks
    Leeham

  2. #2
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    28

    Re: OMRON H3YN-2 Timer (power supply question)

    Hi Maheel,

    You are correct, 24vAC to power the unit and it can switch up to 240vAC or 30vDC but you are limited to a current of 5Amps so nothing too big or the contacts will weld together.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,520

    Re: OMRON H3YN-2 Timer (power supply question)

    Thanks RR

    but bugger now i need 24 volts...... I had a laugh

    lucky they were cheap.....

  4. #4
    A_M
    A_M is offline
    Guest
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    6,381

    Re: OMRON H3YN-2 Timer (power supply question)

    Quote Originally Posted by 5F535A57575E320 link=1254193101/2#2 date=1254206074
    Thanks RR

    but bugger now i need 24 volts...... I had a laugh

    lucky they were cheap.....
    Some of teh laptop PS are around 24V... You could even get a simple and cheep plug pack, as the power to drive the unit is not great... Just check ya specs of teh Plug pack and the unit... Note: Allow some margin as the values are only indicators :-)

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,520

    Re: OMRON H3YN-2 Timer (power supply question)

    yeah i picked up my Toshiba laptop power pack right beside me.....
    19V hmmmmmmm

    thanks AM :)

    how about this?

    http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=MM2009&CATID=19&form=CAT&SUBCAT ID=411

    jaycar CAT. NO. * * MM2009

  6. #6
    A_M
    A_M is offline
    Guest
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    6,381

    Re: OMRON H3YN-2 Timer (power supply question)

    Quote Originally Posted by 333F363B3B325E0 link=1254193101/4#4 date=1254206643
    yeah i picked up my Toshiba laptop power pack right beside me.....
    19V hmmmmmmm

    thanks AM :)

    how about this?

    http://www.jaycar.com.au/productView.asp?ID=MM2009&CATID=19&form=CAT&SUBCAT ID=411

    jaycar CAT. NO. * * MM2009

    NO *NO NO

    The secondary is all AC and then you have to make DC from it and then box it and etc etc etc *It is also working with 240AC and thus needs to be checked and tagged by a Licensed person..

    Let me check the actual DC Output on the Toshiba... Have a few here...

    19.8V DC ... I would give it a go... to see how the time works... But dont connect the timer / contact to any thing...

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Posts
    1,520

    Re: OMRON H3YN-2 Timer (power supply question)

    Yeah dont i need 24 AC for the timer?

    Is the jaycar one AC -> DC?

    i thought the jaycar was AC 240 -> AC 15-30

    i didnt want any DC ( i thought)

    dont worry a sparkie will build it for me, B-law is one (and he was a inspector for the QLD lecy saftey mob) so he is very safe.

  8. #8
    A_M
    A_M is offline
    Guest
    Join Date
    Mar 2006
    Posts
    6,381

    Re: OMRON H3YN-2 Timer (power supply question)

    Quote Originally Posted by 79757C717178140 link=1254193101/6#6 date=1254207839
    Yeah dont i need 24 AC for the timer?

    Is the jaycar one AC -> DC?

    i thought the jaycar was AC 240 -> AC 15-30

    i didnt want any DC ( i thought)

    dont worry a sparkie will build it for me, B-law is one (and he was a inspector for the QLD lecy saftey mob) so he is very safe.
    YA right it is a 24AC control.. Blindness is an affliction of teh old and cheep PC screens *;)

    I have some AC plug packs... Let me look and I will take care :-) Might be one at about 24AC....

    Your LUCKY DAY... How about rated @ 20 AC at 750ma and measures 24.4AC with no load...

    OK... Time to beg for Assistance / postage from Qld :-)

    Send me a PM... with ya details, but beg in PUBLIC 8-)



Similar Threads

  1. Power supply change on Breville Barista Express BES860XL Machine with Grinder
    By Allison in forum Brewing Equipment - Midrange ($500-$1500)
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 12th October 2012, 02:51 PM
  2. Dumb question re: 3 phase power
    By redzone121 in forum Brewing Equipment - Extreme Machines ($3000+)
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 2nd October 2009, 08:35 AM
  3. re Faema Due, power settings question
    By telemaster in forum Brewing Equipment - Extreme Machines ($3000+)
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 24th June 2009, 09:43 PM
  4. Mazzer super jolly automatic (timer?) question
    By Neekolas in forum Grinders
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12th May 2009, 08:45 PM
  5. Replies: 16
    Last Post: 26th July 2008, 04:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •