Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: Freeview TV

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    214

    Freeview TV

    Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight

    Hi CSers,

    If anyone is from new zealand this question is for you. I just got a Digital Freeview received. I hooked it up to the satallite and TV but i am getting no signal. I can see the screen where it automatically scans for channels but its not picking up anyting. :(

    Any suggestion or quick fixes ? :(

    Pleash help.

  2. #2
    hazchem
    Guest

    Re: Freeview TV

    anu, Im not from NZ, but have a rough idea on these things.

    When you say you hooked it up to your satellite, is that where your Pay TV comes from? or how you used to receive your analog free to air signal? Digital Freeview set top boxes should be plugged into the same outlet/cable/source as you were using for analog free to air.

    Generally, I would expect that if you have connected it to satellite then you have connected it to a Pay TV source of some type, and not free to air/Freeview/DVB-T where I would usually expect that you would plug in a Freeview STB.

    clear as mud? ;) :D

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    214

    Re: Freeview TV


    Hi Hazchem,

    Thank for replying.

    Freeview is like a free to air channels service. All you need is a reciever/decoder to receive them. I have connected it up using the diagram provided on their website. Im afraid i probably need to align the satellite or something.

    Quote Originally Posted by 6E677C656E636B060 link=1262045464/1#1 date=1262055402
    When you say you hooked it up to your satellite, is that where your Pay TV comes from?
    Yes i think i have done exactly that.

    Quote Originally Posted by 6E677C656E636B060 link=1262045464/1#1 date=1262055402
    Generally, I would expect that if you have connected it to satellite then you have connected it to a Pay TV source of some type, and not free to air/Freeview/DVB-T where I would usually expect that you would plug in a Freeview STB.
    But this is how they have shown it must be hooked up. :-/

    Appreciate your help.

  4. #4
    hazchem
    Guest

    Re: Freeview TV

    Quote Originally Posted by 222D363A22272235430 link=1262045464/2#2 date=1262056512
    Freeview is like a free to air channels service
    yep, know it well, same here in AUS and also UK.

    So, just reading over the rest of your post, youve done as they asked, which is always a good starting point.

    Can I ask, did you only ever get your Free To Air TV as a rebroadcast from your Pay TV/Satellite provider, or have you previously been able to get it via another source? I would have expected that your house would have an aerial on or in the roof, and that the satellite dish would be an addition to that.

    In your situation, the next thing I would be trying is to plug the Freeview STB into whatever you used to use to get TV before you had pay TV. Again, making some assumptions I would expect that youd have a coax cable outlet in the wall of your lounge room and previously before Pay TV), you would have run a cable from that straight into the aerial input of your TV.

    if you have such an outlet/connection in your lounge room, or the room you are trying to set this up in, Id run coax from that to the freeview box, and then connect the freeview box to your TV and see if that works.

    hope this helps!

  5. #5
    Senior Member fatboy_1999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    2,116

    Re: Freeview TV

    anu,

    Do you have an external aerial or just the satellite reception?

    We have no external aerial at our place and I recently decided to tune our digital receiver in case our cable drops out. The receiver could not tune any channels at all until I plugged in a portable aerial.

    Brett.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    214

    Re: Freeview TV

    Quote Originally Posted by 6A6378616A676F020 link=1262045464/3#3 date=1262057374
    Can I ask, did you only ever get your Free To Air TV as a rebroadcast from your Pay TV/Satellite provider, or have you previously been able to get it via another source?
    Previously ( before i got this freeview receiver) i was using a normal aerial which was hooked directly to the tv. Although this is fine, i can only receive 2-3 channels and also not very clear. Hence the upgrade.

    Quote Originally Posted by 6A6378616A676F020 link=1262045464/3#3 date=1262057374
    In your situation, the next thing I would be trying is to plug the Freeview STB into whatever you used to use to get TV before you had pay TV
    I just tried this solution but still got nothing :-[

    Sorry to be asking but what exactly is a coax cable?

    Quote Originally Posted by 646376606D7B5D333B3B3B020 link=1262045464/4#4 date=1262057534
    Do you have an external aerial or just the satellite reception?
    Hi Fatboy,

    I actually have an small internal aerial thing which i was using before. Now i have a satellite receiver and a satellite on the roof which hopefully still works. ::)




  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    433

    Re: Freeview TV

    are you sure you got a DVB-S tuner, not DVB-T?

    DVBS is standard def freeview, using the sky digital dish type staelites. DVBT is the high def version and uses old fashioned UHF (original sky analog) TV aeriel.

    Other suggestion is that the dish may not be pointing in the right direction. Is it lined up in a similar direction to other sky dishes in the area?

    What satelite is it trying to find. I dont know the name of the NZ satelite Optus B I think, but maybe head on over to geekzone.co.nz or audioenz.co.nz forums, they are the masters with this stuff.

    Cheers

    Sen

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    214

    Re: Freeview TV


    Hi Senator,

    The unit is a Zinwell ZMX-7500. I got it after some research on the freeview website. Its the one used for satellites.

    I checked the direction of all satellites in the area and mine seems to be pointing the right way.

    Quote Originally Posted by 16202B24312A37450 link=1262045464/6#6 date=1262072096
    I dont know the name of the NZ satelite Optus B I think
    I think its optus D1, thats what it seems to be showing.

    Thanks for the websites i have posted some threads there so will see if i get some replies. :-[

  9. #9
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2

    Re: Freeview TV

    Hi,
    How did you get on with your satellite system installation? Is all working ok now?
    I was wondering how you made the decision to go Satellite. If you live in one of the areas that have the terrestrial (Via a UHF antenna) Freeview available, the picture quality on HD is just great. What are on NZ are you in?
    AN dI trust you checked out the Freevie NZ web site www.freeviewnz.tv.

    Rgds

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    214

    Re: Freeview TV

    Hi Steverkordia,

    It didnt go to well. I hooked it all upto my tv. Everything looks fine but it wont pick up any signal. Just says " Service not collected".

    Quote Originally Posted by 7E59485B487F6D66425F49444C7263772D0 link=1262045464/8#8 date=1263431939
    If you live in one of the areas that have the terrestrial (Via a UHF antenna) Freeview available, the picture quality on HD is just great
    UHF antenna? do you mean the one thats on the roof? well dont really have one just have the satallite that has been left from the last tenant.

    Btw, im in Wellington. And yea checked out that freeview website and the coverage said in my area it was most likely so dont know why it wont work. :(

  11. #11
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,665

    Re: Freeview TV

    What Im more interested in is can the satellite dish be used to make a coffee :-?? ;D

  12. #12
    Sleep is overrated Thundergod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    10,496

    Re: Freeview TV

    I dont see how it would be much different to roasting in a wok.

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Posts
    214

    Re: Freeview TV

    I had a laugh you guys are funny :D

  14. #14
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2010
    Posts
    2

    Re: Freeview TV

    Hi again,
    There are two versions of Freeview in the Wellington area - one via satellite that you have been trying to get thru the dish left by the last tennant. - that Zinwell STB should have worked. Reasons it has not - the feeder cable is damaged/corroded; the LNB (the active device attached to the dish that actually receives the satellite signal) is damaged or not working; or probably that the antenna is not now pointing exactly at the satellite - they can get blown off alignment. It does need to be very accurately aligned. Freeview have a quick set up guide I am sure you would have looked at.

    Failing all that try the terrestrial version of Freeview - broadcast from Kaukau. A small UHF antenna pointing in the direction of Kaukau - connected to a DTT set top box (Zinwell make one of these as well) or a Freeview enabled TV might work. Talk to your neighbours and see what they get - the High Definition programs are just great.

    And yes, if you took the dish down and put a fire under it - like a wok - you gould probably roast coffee beans, then use it to crush them and make coffee ...;)



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •