Results 1 to 20 of 20

Thread: Dialogue boxes

  1. #1
    Flo
    Flo is offline
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    330

    Dialogue boxes

    Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    When I go to post something here I get a dialogue box that pops up when I click the post button. It basically asks me if I want to allow the site access to my clipboard. Does anyone else get this and is it possible to reconfigure so that it doesnt appear? Im running windows and IE7.

    Sorry if this has been asked before..

  2. #2
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,665

    Re: Dialogue boxes

    Quote Originally Posted by Flo link=1179362899/0#0 date=1179362899
    When I go to post something here I get a dialogue box that pops up when I click the post button. It basically asks me if I want to allow the site access to my clipboard. Does anyone else get this and is it possible to reconfigure so that it doesnt appear? Im running windows and IE7.

    Sorry if this has been asked before..
    It seems to be an IE7 thing as far as I can ascertain Flo....Irritating, no?

    2mcm

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    1,530

    Re: Dialogue boxes

    Seems Coffeesnobs is trying to gain access to your computer and take control of it. Im sure theres an IE patch or six to alleviate this security loophole.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Posts
    72

    Re: Dialogue boxes

    Dont have this problem with Firefox.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    1,562

    Re: Dialogue boxes

    yep.... firefox rocks!!

  6. #6
    Flo
    Flo is offline
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    330

    Re: Dialogue boxes

    Quote Originally Posted by 2muchcoffeeman link=1179362899/0#1 date=1179363100
    It seems to be an IE7 thing as far as I can ascertain Flo....Irritating, no?

    2mcm
    Irritating, yes.



  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2005
    Location
    Sydney Oz
    Posts
    503

    Re: Dialogue boxes

    Yeah I had the same problem and it drove me nuts so I switched to Firefox...never happier! ;)

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    346

    Re: Dialogue boxes

    4th plug for firefox and im on a mac

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    370

    Re: Dialogue boxes

    Firefox on my PC, Mac and the Nix box in the Garage

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Posts
    3,498

    Re: Dialogue boxes

    Yep,

    Firefox is the go! Much more secure than IE as well....

    Running on Linux ere and under Windows on the other 2 PCs.....

  11. #11
    Senior Member speleomike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    913

    Re: Dialogue boxes

    Hi all

    Thats interesting as to how many coffee ppl here are mentioning Linux and Firefox. The last Windows I bought was 3.1 (I have 1.0 and 2.0 at home also!) as I also use Linux and Firefox. The only minor thing is that on this forum the login is ways down the bottom of the page due to some bug :-)

    Mike

  12. #12
    Sleep is overrated Thundergod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    10,496

    Re: Dialogue boxes

    IE 6 works OK.


    3.1 brings back memories.
    I upgraded from 3.1 to 6.22 in one hit.
    It wasnt designed to do that but I was loathe to upgrade for quite some time. ;D

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Posts
    754

    Re: Dialogue boxes

    I use maxthon, works really well.

  14. #14
    Super Moderator Javaphile's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Earth!
    Posts
    15,297

    Re: Dialogue boxes

    Quote Originally Posted by Thundergod link=1179362899/0#11 date=1179408126
    3.1 brings back memories.
    I upgraded from 3.1 to 6.22 in one hit.
    It wasnt designed to do that but I was loathe to upgrade for quite some time. ;D
    I had a laugh You went straight from DOS 3.1 too DOS 6.22? giggled like a schoolgirl


    Java "And I thought I was loathe to upgrade!!" phile

  15. #15
    CoffeeSnobs Owner Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    16,549
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Dialogue boxes


    The IE7 clipboard question is annoying, Ill have a look one day to see what causes it.

    Below is the graphic of current browser usage at CoffeeSnobs.
    Firefox 30%, IE 55% the gap is closing....


  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2005
    Posts
    255

    Re: Dialogue boxes

    Mac users (especially peeps with G4 chips) might want to check out the link below
    http://www.beatnikpad.com/archives/2007/03/29/firefox-2002

  17. #17
    CoffeeSnobs Owner Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    16,549
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: Dialogue boxes

    MS IE7 fix


    Go to Tools -> Internet Options.

    Go to Security tab.

    Select “Internet” zone, then click on “Custom level…” button.

    Scroll down to “Scripting” section (at the bottom few).

    Under “Allow Programmatic clipboard access” option, check or select (tick) disable. Default action for this option is Prompt, which cause the pop-up message whenever there is any attempt to access the Clipboard.

    Click Ok twice to exit from Internet Options.

    Changing the preference to Enable for “Allow Programmatic clipboard access” option can increase security risk. You can set it to Disable to disallow all website’s access to Clipboard’s resident data. However, the better and more secure alternative is to edit the “Allow Programmatic clipboard access” setting for “Trusted sites” zone (steps same as above, only that you select “Trusted sites” in step 3 instead of “Internet”), and add the websites that you trusted and selected into Trusted sites zone.


  18. #18
    Senior Member julsajet's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    200

    Re: Dialogue boxes

    Thanks Andy. That will save me much annoyance.

  19. #19
    Flo
    Flo is offline
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Posts
    330

    Re: Dialogue boxes

    Youre the bomb Andy!! [smiley=tekst-toppie.gif]

  20. #20
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    2,165

    Re: Dialogue boxes

    Yeah youd think he ran coffeesnobs or something to know all that! ;)



Similar Threads

  1. knock boxes
    By Gra in forum Brewing Equipment (non-machine specific)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 22nd February 2011, 04:59 PM
  2. Knock Boxes and accessories in Perth
    By DAF in forum Brewing Equipment (non-machine specific)
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 18th January 2008, 06:35 PM
  3. !! GONE !! Bali God Mountain Boxes
    By BeanPusher in forum SOLD
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 5th June 2006, 10:59 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •