Results 1 to 14 of 14

Thread: My Silvia had a bug but I fixed it

  1. #1
    Gar
    Gar is offline
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    52

    My Silvia had a bug but I fixed it

    Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    It literally had a bug last night.

    Went to clear out the drip tray and a nasty big cockroach was having a swim it. Anyway it legged it inside the machine. The thought of it dying inside there was too yucky to think about so I took the top off and managed to get it out.

    I think Ill be checking inside on a regular basis from now on just in case.. >:(

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    259

    Re: My Silvia had a bug but I fixed it

    Try and empty the drip tray after use. I think youll find the "bug" made him/her self at home because there was warmth, food and drink available. All a little bug needs to survive ;) Yuck!

    Terrible thought though, i will keep an eye out for such yuckies :o

  3. #3
    Senior Member Dennis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    4,512

    Re: My Silvia had a bug but I fixed it

    Yuk! Mods, can you lock dwn this thread? Its making me feel sick! :o

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Sydney Straya
    Posts
    144

    Re: My Silvia had a bug but I fixed it

    Whats the prob??

    a little cocky doesnt drink much!

  5. #5
    Sleep is overrated Thundergod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    10,496

    Re: My Silvia had a bug but I fixed it

    The more he drinks the less often youll have to empty the tray.

  6. #6
    Gar
    Gar is offline
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    52

    Re: My Silvia had a bug but I fixed it

    I work in I.T. so Im used to bugs in machines, but not literally.

    Its actually got a serious side to it. If it hadnt happened, I probably would have never bothered taking the top off.

    This is easy to do with the Silvia, just 4 screws undone and you can see right inside the machine. Its worth doing now and again in addition to the usual cleaning / backflushing etc, just to make sure theres nothing nasty lurking inside which could damage the machine.

    Gar

  7. #7
    Super Moderator Javaphile's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Earth!
    Posts
    15,295

    Re: My Silvia had a bug but I fixed it

    Quote Originally Posted by Gar link=1189049135/0#5 date=1189076520
    I work in I.T. so Im used to bugs in machines, but not literally.
    What?! Youre not?!?! You mean you dont run across computer bugs like this all the time?! ::) ;D ::)


    Java "Remember punch cards?" phile


  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Location
    Sydney Straya
    Posts
    144

    Re: My Silvia had a bug but I fixed it

    I had a mouse (very dead) in the power supply of an offsite ATM once.

    At first I thought my security guard had been on the curry again then I found it.......

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Posts
    900

    Re: My Silvia had a bug but I fixed it

    those 328W psupps bbq em good thou,
    great fora day when yo uve forgotten your lunch [smiley=2vrolijk_08.gif]

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    708

    Re: My Silvia had a bug but I fixed it

    Crap! My place is quite susceptible to cockroaches in the warmer days. I have found them in the paper towel holder, in gloves, pretty much anywhere that would ensure you get a good scream out when you encounter them. now Ive got another place to worry about them... These are not the small brown ones either. Theyre the 1 inch long Australian bush cockroaches that seemed to have burst out in numbers in the last couple of years. Assuming you keep the all the lids shut on the silvia, what are the entry points for them to get in?

  11. #11
    Senior Member Dennis's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Posts
    4,512

    Re: My Silvia had a bug but I fixed it

    NewToEspresso - they are eastern suburbs cockies ;)

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    541

    Re: My Silvia had a bug but I fixed it

    I reckon its better to find a full cocky in the silvia than a half cocky in the grinder.

  13. #13
    Gar
    Gar is offline
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Posts
    52

    Re: My Silvia had a bug but I fixed it

    Hey NewToEspresso,

    From the drip tray they can get up behind the front panel and then through a hole into the main area where the boiler is. Plenty of gaps for them to sneak into.


  14. #14
    Super Moderator scoota_gal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    4,126

    Re: My Silvia had a bug but I fixed it

    Yep, this is really an off topic! giggled like a schoolgirl! :D



Similar Threads

  1. new grinder problem, when to get it fixed?
    By summercrema in forum Grinders
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 1st March 2009, 12:54 PM
  2. Fixed Minore
    By Mad_Barun in forum Brewing Equipment (non-machine specific)
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20th February 2006, 09:30 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •