Results 1 to 16 of 16

Thread: IT guys out there?

  1. #1
    Senior Member David8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Annerley, QLD
    Posts
    559

    IT guys out there?

    Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hi all. I know this isnt coffee related. Its in fact, quite off topic. And suited to a number of other forums. But I dont routinely check others, and there is a registration process and all. So I thought Id ask people here first...

    Ive been having problems with network speeds on a certain uni wireless network. Its been really slow. I get fast speeds on the home wireless. But ridiculously slow speeds on the uni wireless. That made me think it was the network. But then Ive had two laptops side-by-side, and using speed-test, the other laptop was getting speeds (I think) 100x faster than mine. This made me think it was MY laptop...

    Ive contacted the uni, and nobody else has reported any problems with this network - also evidence that it could be my laptop...

    Does anyone have any suggestions about what I can do to work out what is going wrong?

  2. #2
    Senior Member dski's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    206

    Re: IT guys out there?

    Quote Originally Posted by 654057484519210 link=1337907342/0#0 date=1337907342
    Ive been having problems with network speeds on a certain uni wireless network.
    Possibly a stupid question, but are they both on the same Uni wireless networks? I know my campus has a couple of different networks - some better than others at various times and locations.

    PS - Just noticed youre in QLD. Im at QUT. If you are too by any chance, the IT dept is great. Dont be afraid to hit them up.

  3. #3
    Senior Member David8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Annerley, QLD
    Posts
    559

    Re: IT guys out there?

    Sorry, that wasnt clear. Same network... We only have 1. HUGE campus. UQ St. Lucia... 1 network. Not cool. We did have 2, but they stopped using the fast one... Stupid idea... But anyway...

  4. #4
    Senior Member flynnaus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    4,127

    Re: IT guys out there?

    If another laptop can get good speeds then it sounds like its your laptop. How old is it?

    [s]You mention a certain uni wireless networ. Are there any other WiFi connections in the Uni you can try?[/s]
    It is difficult to diagnose the problem without checking out your lappie.

    What do you mean by home wireless? Do you mean mean wireless broadband or Wi-Fi? These are different signals so getting good speeds on a wireless broadband connection does not mean good Wi-Fi speed.

    Some laptops use crappy Wi-Fi radio driver software. The first thing to do is look for an updated driver for yours which will allow it to communicate better.* Some laptop manufacturers* provide a utility for this purpose.

  5. #5
    Senior Member David8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Annerley, QLD
    Posts
    559

    Re: IT guys out there?

    Quote Originally Posted by 7C766374747B6F691A0 link=1337907342/3#3 date=1337909169
    If another laptop can get good speeds then it sounds like its your laptop. How old is it?
    Uhm. I got it Christmas 2009. So its not young...

    Quote Originally Posted by 7C766374747B6F691A0 link=1337907342/3#3 date=1337909169
    What do you mean by home wireless? Do you mean mean wireless broadband or Wi-Fi? These are different signals so getting good speeds on a wireless broadband connection does not mean good Wi-Fi speed.
    Good point. I mean wi-fi.

    Quote Originally Posted by 7C766374747B6F691A0 link=1337907342/3#3 date=1337909169
    Some laptops use crappy Wi-Fi radio driver software. The first thing to do is look for an updated driver for yours which will allow it to communicate better.* Some laptop manufacturers* provide a utility for this purpose.
    Ive updated the driver for the wireless adaptor through the windows control panel. I will give it a try with windows update. And see if Asus has some sort of tool that can help.

  6. #6
    Senior Member flynnaus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    4,127

    Re: IT guys out there?

    There is an ASUS Driver update utility but try looking at support.asus.com.

    3 years is not that old but it probably means that you have a g standard wifi adapter.

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2007
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    87

    Re: IT guys out there?

    Did you ring the ITS Service Desk or did you walk into AskIT at the Duhig Library (St Lucia)? You might get some more hands on help if you go into the library and ask at the desk with your laptop.

  8. #8
    Senior Member David8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Annerley, QLD
    Posts
    559

    Re: IT guys out there?

    Quote Originally Posted by 32382D3A3A352127540 link=1337907342/5#5 date=1337913578
    There is an ASUS Driver update utility but try looking at support.asus.com.

    3 years is not that old but it probably means that you have a g standard wifi adapter.
    Will check it out tonight! Thanks!

    Quote Originally Posted by 373726373B3831540 link=1337907342/6#6 date=1337915172
    Did you ring the ITS Service Desk or did you walk into AskIT at the Duhig Library (St Lucia)?* You might get some more hands on help if you go into the library and ask at the desk with your laptop.
    I sent both an email. I will have to walk in to askit. Thats my next solution. =)

  9. #9
    Super Moderator Javaphile's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Earth!
    Posts
    15,876

    Re: IT guys out there?

    Check to see if both laptops have the same network signal strength, are connected at the same speed, and are using the same network settings.


    Java "All wired up" phile

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2006
    Posts
    504

    Re: IT guys out there?

    If youre using both of them on battery and if youre running win7, you might want to check the wireless performance settings in your power plan (ive been caught by this before, on battery it runs in lower power and made the wireless almost unusable)

  11. #11
    Senior Member flynnaus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    4,127

    Re: IT guys out there?

    Quote Originally Posted by 58405A475B5C514A4741280 link=1337907342/9#9 date=1338026864
    you might want to check the wireless performance settings in your power plan
    Yes, good point, and not just on Win 7. If you are running off your battery, whats the performance like if you plug it in instead

  12. #12
    Senior Member David8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Annerley, QLD
    Posts
    559

    Re: IT guys out there?

    Quote Originally Posted by 4E44514646495D5B280 link=1337907342/10#10 date=1338033966
    Quote Originally Posted by 58405A475B5C514A4741280 link=1337907342/9#9 date=1338026864
    you might want to check the wireless performance settings in your power plan
    Yes, good point, and not just on Win 7. If you are running off your battery, whats the performance like if you plug it in instead
    My tests have always been done plugged in.

    That probably makes things harder...

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1,048

    Re: IT guys out there?

    I might have missed it, but whats the OS? XP, Vista or 7, 32 or 64?

    For both home and uni, what is the type of network? ie. WEP, WPA-PSK, etc. What Channel do either use? And are they a/b/g/n? What is your wireless card in the laptop?

    Do you always put your laptop in the same spot at uni, or do you use it with the lid closed on an external monitor?

    Try deleting all traces of the wireless settings at uni and re-join.

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Sydney, Australia, Australia
    Posts
    218

    Re: IT guys out there?

    Even more topic, are you willing to take advice from IT girls? ;D

  15. #15
    Senior Member David8's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2011
    Location
    Annerley, QLD
    Posts
    559

    Re: IT guys out there?

    Quote Originally Posted by 3134313038355D0 link=1337907342/13#13 date=1338453039
    Even more topic, are you willing to take advice from IT girls?* ;D
    Of course. Dont mean to discriminate. :)

    Quote Originally Posted by 343C3433393F5D0 link=1337907342/12#12 date=1338387703
    I might have missed it, but whats the OS? XP, Vista or 7, 32 or 64?
    Windows 7.

    Quote Originally Posted by 343C3433393F5D0 link=1337907342/12#12 date=1338387703
    For both home and uni, what is the type of network? ie. WEP, WPA-PSK, etc.* What Channel do either use? And are they a/b/g/n?* What is your wireless card in the laptop?
    Home is WPA2-Personal. Uni is WPA2-Enterprise. I have no idea about the channel. The wireless card is a Atheros AR9285 Wireless Network Adaptor.

    Quote Originally Posted by 343C3433393F5D0 link=1337907342/12#12 date=1338387703
    Do you always put your laptop in the same spot at uni, or do you use it with the lid closed on an external monitor?
    When you say same spot... Im a student. So I use my laptop all over the place. Never connected to a monitor while at uni (home, yes, but the lid is open).

    Quote Originally Posted by 343C3433393F5D0 link=1337907342/12#12 date=1338387703
    Try deleting all traces of the wireless settings at uni and re-join.
    Tried that... :(

    Ive tried it earlier in the mornings now, and it seems to be a bit better. Ive also heard other people complaining about it. So now Im thinking it is just the network.

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2008
    Posts
    1,048

    Re: IT guys out there?

    Im just going to think out loud here, so sorry if Im waffling. Hopefully something in this mix can get you on the right path.

    If its windows 7 64bit make sure youve installed the 64bit drivers. I dont know if you can mix the drivers, but just in case it might screw things up. Also try checking the latest drivers from your laptop manufacturer, and alternatively try the latest drivers from Atheros if they provide any. Sometimes different versions have issues with particular hardware or firmware. Maybe check for firmware updates separately to driver updates.

    I have issues between personal and enterprise, but usually because its harder to get the combination of settings right - once thats done I havent seen any speed differences. I was asking in case you had (for example) XP and WPA which dont play nice without SP1, but win7 should be fine.

    The channel can matter depending on placement and other users. Even though you say they only have one network theres probably lots of APs designed to pass you around as you move around campus. If your laptop is stuck on a particular channel it might be connecting to a router further away. Typically APs within range of each other use different channels so they dont interfere, so you could try specifically connecting to a different AP. Unfortunately I dont know how to do that in windows :( The "quality" or signal bars can be misleading, but are they near maximum? If you can, check which access point and channel yours and the other laptop are connecting to.

    I was hoping you would say lid closed, as the antenna is probably in the lid. Beware when testing with two laptops, that one can cause various interferences on the other. It could be blocked by another laptop or monitor or steel object. When running the test try moving them both around and see if it makes any difference. If you can confirm or deny that it is only your laptop by doing this then it might help get closer to the cause.

    Finally, if youre handy with linux try and get a recent live USB or CD and run some wireless scanning tools - like iwconfig and iwlist. It might help show up configuration issues. Youll see lots of hidden and visible wireless networks. If it works ok from the live CD but not from windows you know its configuration or drivers. Check first if they support the atheros AR9285.

    thats all from me, hope something helps!

    Quote Originally Posted by 595C5958505D350 link=1337907342/13#13 date=1338453039
    Even more topic, are you willing to take advice from IT girls? Grin
    Wow, the intersection of Girls, IT, and Coffeesnobs must be small... hehe!



Similar Threads

  1. Geeeez! You guys are SERIOUS about your coffee!
    By Dimal in forum General Coffee Related...
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12th June 2007, 02:47 PM
  2. Got my Silvia - Cheers guys!
    By warren in forum Brewing Equipment (non-machine specific)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 4th November 2004, 08:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •