Results 1 to 19 of 19
Like Tree25Likes
  • 4 Post By Dimal
  • 2 Post By CafeLotta
  • 2 Post By 338
  • 5 Post By Lyrebird
  • 1 Post By Mb21
  • 1 Post By CoffeeHack
  • 1 Post By thebookfreak58
  • 1 Post By TampIt
  • 1 Post By gunda
  • 1 Post By beensean
  • 1 Post By 338
  • 3 Post By Dimal
  • 2 Post By gunda

Thread: Any decent NBN providers with Australian call centres

  1. #1
    Senior Member CafeLotta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Melbourne, Vic, Aust.
    Posts
    711

    Any decent NBN providers with Australian call centres

    Has anyone come across a well priced NBN provider with Australian (Onshore) Tech support and an Australian call centre?

    We've been holding out on switching over as our area is a HFC NBN area and there's been about a year's delay after initial rollout due to "technical" issues with HFC. A halt to new installations was instigated until recently, when they announced that we have until Nov 2019 to switch.

    We were in no hurry to switch but an over-height truck took out our phone-line this week so no ADSL2+ home internet. I still proudly carry a flip phone with no data on the plan . My partner has a "Smart" phone which gave me some internet access in the evenings, while waiting for the phone line to be fixed.

    Telstra with their Phillippines call centre mucked up booking the phone line fix. After 2 days nothing so when we called back we were told no booking had been made and it would be another 2 days for someone to come out. Yesterday after 4 days without the phone line a fella came out re-attached the pole end of the line and drove off without testing it properly . Got him back and he fixed a broken wire on the house end so finally back in business.

    While this was going on I tried to get a straight answer out of TPG's Phillippines call centre as to whether they could do a quicker connect for NBN (line intact) due to our circumstance. We've been with them for 15 years (?) or more but no special consideration given. Twice was told 2-30 days(WTF?) for NBN switch-over/install. Decided not to take the chance this close to Christmas.

    Anyway, is there a well priced NBN provider who gives a stuff and has Australian based (onshore) Tech Support and call centres?

    Well and truly over Phillippines call centres and their BS as well as the attitudes.

  2. #2
    Mal Dimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Warwick, QLD
    Posts
    16,102
    We changed over to Aussie Broadband some months ago and can highly recommend them.
    Aussie call centre, very responsive, courteous and helpful. Also a very reliable service...

    Mal.
    matth3wh, CafeLotta, gunda and 1 others like this.

  3. #3
    Senior Member CafeLotta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Melbourne, Vic, Aust.
    Posts
    711
    Quote Originally Posted by Dimal View Post
    We changed over to Aussie Broadband some months ago and can highly recommend them.
    Aussie call centre, very responsive, courteous and helpful. Also a very reliable service...

    Mal.
    Thanks Mal. Will have a good look at what they offer. Love the fact that their headquarters are listed as being in Morwell.

    The Latrobe Valley needs our support after they closed down the Hazlewood Power Station. Supporting Aussie Broadband hopefully keeps jobs in the Valley, a big plus in my book!
    Dimal and matth3wh like this.

  4. #4
    338
    338 is offline
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    529
    Cafe Lotta, second Mal's suggestion and found them good. There is usually a special somewhere on whirlpool for domestic clients, or I think Mal can recommend you and you both get a free month.

    The trick to make it seamless is just sign up with Aussie and don't cancel your adsl till it is connected. Yes you may pay a little extra but Aussie is at the mercy of NBN for jnstalls. The third guy did mine - after the first refused due to the pit being 15 metres aaay and didn't want to do a pull through a 200mm pipe to the close pit as he had a sore knee! I had even offered to help before the sore knee excuse
    Dimal and CafeLotta like this.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Lyrebird's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    227
    Another option is Internode. I've been with them a while, their tech support is local and they don't assume you are an idiot.
    Dimal, matth3wh, CafeLotta and 2 others like this.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Central Coast NSW
    Posts
    307
    I’ve been with skymesh for 4 years and been good but another recommenced is Aussie as other have said
    CafeLotta likes this.

  7. #7
    Member CoffeeHack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    70
    I'm also with Skymesh, for about three years (at two separate addresses). Back when the NBN was being rolled out at my previous home I was lurking on the Whirlpool forums to get the low down and all the nerds on there were raving about Skymesh. I was also impressed that reps from Skymesh would get involved in conversations and provide detailed, considerate responses. Their business model is that none of their plans have contracts, thus putting the onus on the company to provide a service good enough to ensure that customers do not want to leave.
    CafeLotta likes this.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    170
    Aussie Broadband
    CafeLotta likes this.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Rockingham W.A.
    Posts
    1,170
    Mate Telecom - another Oz call centre, staffed by people who actually know what they are talking about.

    Note: To add to the list, not to replace Aussie BeanBay et. al..
    CafeLotta likes this.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    142
    Recently signed up with AussieBB for the quality local service. No complaints at all, service has been very good. I came from Optus ADSL, and before that TPG. Both overseas service.
    CafeLotta likes this.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Hobart TAS
    Posts
    186
    I'd second Internode. Have been with them for years. Very reliable service, and a local call centre that I have only had to contact once in all that time.

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    fairly static
    Posts
    114
    Internode / iiNet is the high-service brand of TPG which owns them, and which itself provides the low-service option.

    I am a former iiNet user, shifted to Internode before iiNet bought them, and have remained with the gradual agglomeration since then (albeit while disinvesting in all of their shares). Internode's service is basically good. I run my own server including DNS so needed a provider (call centre) which was familiar with how this works, so could ensure correct configuration at their end when I was sorting out any problems I created.
    CafeLotta likes this.

  13. #13
    338
    338 is offline
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    529
    Cafe Lotta, be aware whomever you choose doesn't do the initial install with HFC, you will get sent or handed an Arris modem and NBN will do the install. Be prepared for some mucking around and be pleasantly surprised if you are one whose initial install goes smoothly. After initial install changing providers should be very easy. With HFC, as others have alluded to with full service options, adequate backhaul is a big part of it.
    CafeLotta likes this.

  14. #14
    Senior Member CafeLotta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Melbourne, Vic, Aust.
    Posts
    711
    Quote Originally Posted by 338 View Post
    Cafe Lotta, be aware whomever you choose doesn't do the initial install with HFC, you will get sent or handed an Arris modem and NBN will do the install. Be prepared for some mucking around and be pleasantly surprised if you are one whose initial install goes smoothly. After initial install changing providers should be very easy. With HFC, as others have alluded to with full service options, adequate backhaul is a big part of it.
    I had been told by TPG that the 2-30 days wait for install was due to having to book an NBN Tech for the install from the Exterior Box to the wall plug and the rest. Have already decided to leave it to at least February so that with some luck the regular staff should all be back at work to sort out the inevitable teething problems with the install. This is even more likely if we end up staying with TPG due to pre-existing email addresses which are years old and the implications of having to change all of these.

  15. #15
    Mal Dimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Warwick, QLD
    Posts
    16,102
    Quote Originally Posted by CafeLotta View Post
    This is even more likely if we end up staying with TPG due to pre-existing email addresses which are years old and the implications of having to change all of these.
    Yep, this is a real pain...
    A lot to be said for independently hosting your email addresses with your own domain name. Some quite competitive options out there to be had.

    Mal.
    CafeLotta, gunda and beensean like this.

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    142
    There's a LOT to be said for not having your email hosted by your ISP. Gave that up over 20 years ago.

    The other thing to be prepared for with the NBN is that your landline phone(s) will need to be plugged into the back of the modem. And you may also find that any existing phone sockets interfere, even though they no longer work, causing less than optimal speed. Be prepared to get a tech out to rewire and simplify the cabling after the NBN is installed. This is where the local support from AussieBB was useful, as they were very helpful in running tests. Note that I have fibre to the node, and some of this may not apply to other delivery technologies.
    Dimal and CafeLotta like this.

  17. #17
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Qld
    Posts
    25
    Alrighty, the NBN installers have been and gone.

    We were opposed to changing from our BigPond Cable to the NBN arrangement because if it’s not broken, don’t fix it, right? The official story I’m told is, there is no choice. Do it or get cut off unless all internet browsing is done on our mobiles.

    We were quite happy with the speed we were getting with BigPond @57 Mbps. Now down to 12. Woohoo.

    Still have both at the moment so have taken screenshots of speed tests (below). I did quite a few speed tests with seconds of each other, with different servers, but the results were very close.

    Grrrrr.

    You can tell I’m not a tech nerd. Grew up fine without it.

    9284ECF1-2F23-4318-B272-C3093613E763.png

    66D0CD64-27C8-464D-A079-C056A8D5F473.png

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    260
    Aaah btw your Bigpond Cable Service Changed to an NBN Style service some 12months ago when Telstra sold its copper network wholus bolus to NBN. Fact.
    My TBpCS which ran at 50+mgbs got down to as low as 2mbps Before Telstra would admit it!
    And I was paying up for a legacy service Where I payed an extra fee on top ...for the Speed Enhanced service ! Go figure. Yes they did cause they can.
    Q/ What do you do when your market is controlled by an 800pound Gorilla ??
    A/ Aagh get the govr'nment to give birth to its own 800pound Gorilla!
    two 800pound Gorilla's who snuggle up at night and who both say ..how about we toss you for it!

  19. #19
    Senior Member flynnaus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    3,897
    The NBN HFC network works exactly the same as the Telstra HFC but nbn uses newer technology so theoretically is capable of faster speeds, especially upload speed.
    It maybe that the correct speed profile has not yet been applied to your new Arris connection box and this may be resolved overnight. Reboot your connection box in the morning and try the speed test again with your old BigPond Cable gateway disconnected.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •