Results 1 to 29 of 29
Like Tree31Likes
  • 4 Post By Dimal
  • 2 Post By CafeLotta
  • 2 Post By 338
  • 5 Post By Lyrebird
  • 1 Post By Mb21
  • 1 Post By CoffeeHack
  • 1 Post By thebookfreak58
  • 1 Post By TampIt
  • 1 Post By gunda
  • 1 Post By beensean
  • 1 Post By 338
  • 3 Post By Dimal
  • 2 Post By gunda
  • 1 Post By EspressoAdventurer
  • 1 Post By 338
  • 3 Post By flynnaus
  • 1 Post By Andy

Thread: Any decent NBN providers with Australian call centres

  1. #1
    Senior Member CafeLotta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Melbourne, Vic, Aust.
    Posts
    1,103

    Any decent NBN providers with Australian call centres

    Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Has anyone come across a well priced NBN provider with Australian (Onshore) Tech support and an Australian call centre?

    We've been holding out on switching over as our area is a HFC NBN area and there's been about a year's delay after initial rollout due to "technical" issues with HFC. A halt to new installations was instigated until recently, when they announced that we have until Nov 2019 to switch.

    We were in no hurry to switch but an over-height truck took out our phone-line this week so no ADSL2+ home internet. I still proudly carry a flip phone with no data on the plan . My partner has a "Smart" phone which gave me some internet access in the evenings, while waiting for the phone line to be fixed.

    Telstra with their Phillippines call centre mucked up booking the phone line fix. After 2 days nothing so when we called back we were told no booking had been made and it would be another 2 days for someone to come out. Yesterday after 4 days without the phone line a fella came out re-attached the pole end of the line and drove off without testing it properly . Got him back and he fixed a broken wire on the house end so finally back in business.

    While this was going on I tried to get a straight answer out of TPG's Phillippines call centre as to whether they could do a quicker connect for NBN (line intact) due to our circumstance. We've been with them for 15 years (?) or more but no special consideration given. Twice was told 2-30 days(WTF?) for NBN switch-over/install. Decided not to take the chance this close to Christmas.

    Anyway, is there a well priced NBN provider who gives a stuff and has Australian based (onshore) Tech Support and call centres?

    Well and truly over Phillippines call centres and their BS as well as the attitudes.

  2. #2
    Mal Dimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Warwick, QLD
    Posts
    16,978
    We changed over to Aussie Broadband some months ago and can highly recommend them.
    Aussie call centre, very responsive, courteous and helpful. Also a very reliable service...

    Mal.
    matth3wh, CafeLotta, gunda and 1 others like this.

  3. #3
    Senior Member CafeLotta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Melbourne, Vic, Aust.
    Posts
    1,103
    Quote Originally Posted by Dimal View Post
    We changed over to Aussie Broadband some months ago and can highly recommend them.
    Aussie call centre, very responsive, courteous and helpful. Also a very reliable service...

    Mal.
    Thanks Mal. Will have a good look at what they offer. Love the fact that their headquarters are listed as being in Morwell.

    The Latrobe Valley needs our support after they closed down the Hazlewood Power Station. Supporting Aussie Broadband hopefully keeps jobs in the Valley, a big plus in my book!
    Dimal and matth3wh like this.

  4. #4
    338
    338 is offline
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    856
    Cafe Lotta, second Mal's suggestion and found them good. There is usually a special somewhere on whirlpool for domestic clients, or I think Mal can recommend you and you both get a free month.

    The trick to make it seamless is just sign up with Aussie and don't cancel your adsl till it is connected. Yes you may pay a little extra but Aussie is at the mercy of NBN for jnstalls. The third guy did mine - after the first refused due to the pit being 15 metres aaay and didn't want to do a pull through a 200mm pipe to the close pit as he had a sore knee! I had even offered to help before the sore knee excuse
    Dimal and CafeLotta like this.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Lyrebird's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    574
    Another option is Internode. I've been with them a while, their tech support is local and they don't assume you are an idiot.
    Dimal, matth3wh, CafeLotta and 2 others like this.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Oct 2016
    Location
    Central Coast NSW
    Posts
    377
    I’ve been with skymesh for 4 years and been good but another recommenced is Aussie as other have said
    CafeLotta likes this.

  7. #7
    Senior Member CoffeeHack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2016
    Location
    Adelaide
    Posts
    115
    I'm also with Skymesh, for about three years (at two separate addresses). Back when the NBN was being rolled out at my previous home I was lurking on the Whirlpool forums to get the low down and all the nerds on there were raving about Skymesh. I was also impressed that reps from Skymesh would get involved in conversations and provide detailed, considerate responses. Their business model is that none of their plans have contracts, thus putting the onus on the company to provide a service good enough to ensure that customers do not want to leave.
    CafeLotta likes this.

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    171
    Aussie Broadband
    CafeLotta likes this.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Rockingham W.A.
    Posts
    1,405
    Mate Telecom - another Oz call centre, staffed by people who actually know what they are talking about.

    Note: To add to the list, not to replace Aussie BeanBay et. al..
    CafeLotta likes this.

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    195
    Recently signed up with AussieBB for the quality local service. No complaints at all, service has been very good. I came from Optus ADSL, and before that TPG. Both overseas service.
    CafeLotta likes this.

  11. #11
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2012
    Location
    Hobart TAS
    Posts
    287
    I'd second Internode. Have been with them for years. Very reliable service, and a local call centre that I have only had to contact once in all that time.

  12. #12
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    fairly static
    Posts
    197
    Internode / iiNet is the high-service brand of TPG which owns them, and which itself provides the low-service option.

    I am a former iiNet user, shifted to Internode before iiNet bought them, and have remained with the gradual agglomeration since then (albeit while disinvesting in all of their shares). Internode's service is basically good. I run my own server including DNS so needed a provider (call centre) which was familiar with how this works, so could ensure correct configuration at their end when I was sorting out any problems I created.
    CafeLotta likes this.

  13. #13
    338
    338 is offline
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    856
    Cafe Lotta, be aware whomever you choose doesn't do the initial install with HFC, you will get sent or handed an Arris modem and NBN will do the install. Be prepared for some mucking around and be pleasantly surprised if you are one whose initial install goes smoothly. After initial install changing providers should be very easy. With HFC, as others have alluded to with full service options, adequate backhaul is a big part of it.
    CafeLotta likes this.

  14. #14
    Senior Member CafeLotta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Melbourne, Vic, Aust.
    Posts
    1,103
    Quote Originally Posted by 338 View Post
    Cafe Lotta, be aware whomever you choose doesn't do the initial install with HFC, you will get sent or handed an Arris modem and NBN will do the install. Be prepared for some mucking around and be pleasantly surprised if you are one whose initial install goes smoothly. After initial install changing providers should be very easy. With HFC, as others have alluded to with full service options, adequate backhaul is a big part of it.
    I had been told by TPG that the 2-30 days wait for install was due to having to book an NBN Tech for the install from the Exterior Box to the wall plug and the rest. Have already decided to leave it to at least February so that with some luck the regular staff should all be back at work to sort out the inevitable teething problems with the install. This is even more likely if we end up staying with TPG due to pre-existing email addresses which are years old and the implications of having to change all of these.

  15. #15
    Mal Dimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Warwick, QLD
    Posts
    16,978
    Quote Originally Posted by CafeLotta View Post
    This is even more likely if we end up staying with TPG due to pre-existing email addresses which are years old and the implications of having to change all of these.
    Yep, this is a real pain...
    A lot to be said for independently hosting your email addresses with your own domain name. Some quite competitive options out there to be had.

    Mal.
    CafeLotta, gunda and beensean like this.

  16. #16
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    195
    There's a LOT to be said for not having your email hosted by your ISP. Gave that up over 20 years ago.

    The other thing to be prepared for with the NBN is that your landline phone(s) will need to be plugged into the back of the modem. And you may also find that any existing phone sockets interfere, even though they no longer work, causing less than optimal speed. Be prepared to get a tech out to rewire and simplify the cabling after the NBN is installed. This is where the local support from AussieBB was useful, as they were very helpful in running tests. Note that I have fibre to the node, and some of this may not apply to other delivery technologies.
    Dimal and CafeLotta like this.

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Qld
    Posts
    88
    Alrighty, the NBN installers have been and gone.

    We were opposed to changing from our BigPond Cable to the NBN arrangement because if it’s not broken, don’t fix it, right? The official story I’m told is, there is no choice. Do it or get cut off unless all internet browsing is done on our mobiles.

    We were quite happy with the speed we were getting with BigPond @57 Mbps. Now down to 12. Woohoo.

    Still have both at the moment so have taken screenshots of speed tests (below). I did quite a few speed tests with seconds of each other, with different servers, but the results were very close.

    Grrrrr.

    You can tell I’m not a tech nerd. Grew up fine without it.

    9284ECF1-2F23-4318-B272-C3093613E763.png

    66D0CD64-27C8-464D-A079-C056A8D5F473.png

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Posts
    303
    Aaah btw your Bigpond Cable Service Changed to an NBN Style service some 12months ago when Telstra sold its copper network wholus bolus to NBN. Fact.
    My TBpCS which ran at 50+mgbs got down to as low as 2mbps Before Telstra would admit it!
    And I was paying up for a legacy service Where I payed an extra fee on top ...for the Speed Enhanced service ! Go figure. Yes they did cause they can.
    Q/ What do you do when your market is controlled by an 800pound Gorilla ??
    A/ Aagh get the govr'nment to give birth to its own 800pound Gorilla!
    two 800pound Gorilla's who snuggle up at night and who both say ..how about we toss you for it!
    NJD likes this.

  19. #19
    Senior Member flynnaus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    4,116
    The NBN HFC network works exactly the same as the Telstra HFC but nbn uses newer technology so theoretically is capable of faster speeds, especially upload speed.
    It maybe that the correct speed profile has not yet been applied to your new Arris connection box and this may be resolved overnight. Reboot your connection box in the morning and try the speed test again with your old BigPond Cable gateway disconnected.

  20. #20
    Senior Member flynnaus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    4,116
    Quote Originally Posted by EspressoAdventurer View Post
    Aaah btw your Bigpond Cable Service Changed to an NBN Style service some 12months ago when Telstra sold its copper network wholus bolus to NBN. Fact.
    Yes, nbn bought the Telstra HFC (cable) network but not the exchange equipment. Nbn is installing its own devices in the exchanges and homes or businesses so there was no Instant conversion to nbn when the HFC network was bought out.

  21. #21
    338
    338 is offline
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    856
    EZCFlair the 12mb is almost certainly because that is the level of service you have paid for - even though I am guessing your provider didn't go through their speed levels available. Generally speeds are 12mb, 25mb, 50mb and 100mb with a few rare other options. Your 12.2mb pretty much exactly matches that so am guessing that is what you have. You didn't mention the technology used but am pretty sure you will be able to upgrade the speed if you want, in a couple of years the minimum will be 25mb mandated.

  22. #22
    Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2018
    Location
    Qld
    Posts
    88
    Quote Originally Posted by 338 View Post
    EZCFlair the 12mb is almost certainly because that is the level of service you have paid for - even though I am guessing your provider didn't go through their speed levels available. Generally speeds are 12mb, 25mb, 50mb and 100mb with a few rare other options. Your 12.2mb pretty much exactly matches that so am guessing that is what you have. You didn't mention the technology used but am pretty sure you will be able to upgrade the speed if you want, in a couple of years the minimum will be 25mb mandated.
    Hi 338

    We paid for the fastest speed that was available from Vodafone but can’t tell you what that is because my better half arranged it. She who knows all and sees all.............

    Subseqent tests have averaged at around 70 to 80 with a fastest recorded of 93!
    About 70 at about 6.15pm so coming into peak time now.

    Not sure why the first result was 12 but much better now.

    Thanks for your info.

    Now at 6.30pm below

    47440E4C-D70A-4C66-8FB9-4C0952CC2C1D.png

  23. #23
    338
    338 is offline
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    856
    Much better. Maybe they connected at base p[rofile to check it worked, then changed the speed after connected and working. Looks like a 100/40 - 100 down 40 up plan, your old Telstra probably was 100/2 so you should notice when you send uploads.
    EZCFlair likes this.

  24. #24
    Senior Member flynnaus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    4,116
    Not sure why the first result was 12 but much better now.
    Because when the cable modem is connected to the network, it has to negotiate with the cable router at the other end. Part of this negotiation involves the modem receiving a config file which includes a speed profile. You probably had the wrong/default profile which the cable router should eventually detect and rectify.
    Dimal, 338 and EZCFlair like this.

  25. #25
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Rockingham W.A.
    Posts
    1,405
    Quote Originally Posted by gunda View Post
    There's a LOT to be said for not having your email hosted by your ISP. Gave that up over 20 years ago.

    The other thing to be prepared for with the NBN is that your landline phone(s) will need to be plugged into the back of the modem. And you may also find that any existing phone sockets interfere, even though they no longer work, causing less than optimal speed. Be prepared to get a tech out to rewire and simplify the cabling after the NBN is installed. This is where the local support from AussieBB was useful, as they were very helpful in running tests. Note that I have fibre to the node, and some of this may not apply to other delivery technologies.
    G'day gunda and other CS'r's

    Unless you have top quality wiring or can do it yourself there is a much better option. Just spend $80 and plug one Panasonic base station directly into the router and get 3 other "handset and charger combos" to spread around the house / shed / whatever. Or buy them at normal price for about $120. Range about "2 normal city blocks".

    A note for the unwary - these replaced my 3 Uniden's (1 base station, 2 charger, 3 handsets total) as Uniden uses a battery pack* which cost more than the new phone system when they needed replacing (over $30 per handset). The Panasonic phones use standard AAA NiMh rechargeable batteries - the kind RS / Jaycar / Altronics sell for peanuts. A welcome extra bonus - they are also far better voice quality on speakerphone. Fool me once Uniden, ...


    TampIt

    *The Uniden battery pack is designed as such a low profile beastie that it is almost impossible to do a home fix and then fit it back into the handset and still keep the contact reliable. Designed in obsolescence or, if you prefer, "captive consumer suckers". Your model may differ from mine - if so you are lucky, the new Uniden version didn't.

  26. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2018
    Location
    fairly static
    Posts
    197
    I did the same with Siemens Gigasets, also with replaceable batteries. The fact that they sit on their stands most of the time tends to waste the battery, which does not really like being permanently peaked.

    When doing this, make sure that only one of your router or phone are SIP registering, where both have the capability.

  27. #27
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2014
    Posts
    195
    We also mostly rely on cordless phones, but they don't reach everywhere in some houses. Even if some brands like Panasonic do, for some delivery technologies like FTTN, existing cabling can serve to slow your connection. I got a jump from 30 to 50 from my cabling simplification, which is my plan limit and also the best I can do given my distance from the node. I've read similar reports of the benefits of cabling simplification on the AussieBB forum on Whirlpool, and the friendly Australian woman on their support line, who ran tests and diagnosed a "bridge cap" said the same from her personal experience.

  28. #28
    338
    338 is offline
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    856
    The other nice thing about the Gigaset, besides the nice Made In Germany quality and 6 lines capability, is they have free calls between Gigasets, very nice if you have friends overseas, even in these days of low cost calls.
    Last edited by 338; 14th December 2018 at 09:10 AM.

  29. #29
    CoffeeSnobs Owner Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    16,950
    Blog Entries
    1
    Anyone here using wireless NBN?

    They have just turned-on a wireless tower near home and we started getting junkmail.

    AussieBB is looking the best and using the recommendations above I might lean that way but was curious if anyone has wireless NBN modem recommendations (or importantly modems to avoid).
    Lukemc likes this.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •