Results 1 to 30 of 30
Like Tree36Likes
  • 2 Post By Dimal
  • 2 Post By Andy
  • 2 Post By Dimal
  • 5 Post By Andy
  • 3 Post By robusto
  • 2 Post By Barry O'Speedwagon
  • 1 Post By TampIt
  • 1 Post By pamount
  • 1 Post By Sullo
  • 3 Post By level3ninja
  • 2 Post By 338
  • 1 Post By fatboy_1999
  • 4 Post By pamount
  • 2 Post By Yelta
  • 1 Post By Dimal
  • 1 Post By Dimal
  • 1 Post By pamount
  • 2 Post By speleomike

Thread: My toaster caused the switch in my smart meter to turn off two or three times

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Posts
    262

    My toaster caused the switch in my smart meter to turn off two or three times

    Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    I havenít used my toaster for a few months because of this. Iíve had no problems like this since I stopped using the toaster.

    Should I buy a different brand of toaster, like maybe a Russell Hobbs? Iíve still got my Breville toaster which, apart from this problem, seems great. From memory, Iíve never had this problem in other places Iíve lived in.

    My unit is only about 4 years old and has a smart meter. Are smart meters more sensitive or something? This problem only happens in the kitchen. The power in the rest of my unit stays on. I just have to turn off my toaster and other appliances at the wall before I turn the switch back on in the smart meter.

  2. #2
    Mal Dimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Warwick, QLD
    Posts
    17,580
    The toaster probably just needs a thorough cleaning out "pamount"...
    Could be a trail of crumbs allowing enough current to flow to trip the Safety Switch.

    Worth a check...

    Mal.
    pamount and doobs like this.

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Posts
    262
    Thanks. I’ll try that and see what happens.

  4. #4
    Senior Member robusto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    3,098
    Toaster tripping meter.

  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    42
    I'm with Mal, it's most likely to be crumbs.

  6. #6
    CoffeeSnobs Owner Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    17,537
    ...or the knife that the kids put in there.
    Dimal and Sullo like this.

  7. #7
    Mal Dimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Warwick, QLD
    Posts
    17,580
    Quote Originally Posted by Andy View Post
    ...or the knife that the kids put in there.
    Haha...

    Indeed mate. One of our sprogs thought it would be a good idea to add a spoon to one of the slots to help get the toast out. Gotta love RCD protection. Of course, no one did it...

    Mal.
    Sullo and Yelta like this.

  8. #8
    CoffeeSnobs Owner Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    17,537
    (Why is it that "no one ever did anything wrong", I though that answer was just in our house.)

    Could also be the total load on that circuit Paramont.

    Kitchens have nearly all your household power usage and sometimes all on the one circuit. Microwave, dishwasher, coffee machine possibly all on the same 10amp circuit and your toaster tips it over the limit.

    If it's not crumbs in your toaster then worth isolating some other devices to see if it's load related

    ie: your toaster might work fine with the coffee machine off although I would cook bread on the BBQ before I turned the coffee machine off.
    dan77, Dimal, pamount and 2 others like this.

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Posts
    262
    I see small crumbs trapped in the bottom, but not on the crumb tray, that’s pretty much impossible to get out unless i had some thin brush on a thin long handle. Plus what looks like bits of melted raisin near the bottom, that’s also hard to get out.

    I’ve had this toaster for a few years. Is it just safer to get rid of it and to buy a new toaster? They sure make these things hard to clean.

  10. #10
    Senior Member robusto's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    3,098
    Pamount, plug your toaster in another power point in another room and see what happens.
    Andy, Dimal and 338 like this.

  11. #11
    Senior Member Barry O'Speedwagon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Location
    PRL
    Posts
    2,807
    Quote Originally Posted by robusto View Post
    Pamount, plug your toaster in another power point in another room and see what happens.
    Better still, if your neighbour has an exterior power point.....
    Sullo and 338 like this.

  12. #12
    Mal Dimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Warwick, QLD
    Posts
    17,580
    Quote Originally Posted by Barry O'Speedwagon View Post
    Better still, if your neighbour has an exterior power point.....
    Hope you don't live next door to us Pamount...

    Mal.

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Location
    Rockingham W.A.
    Posts
    1,505
    Quote Originally Posted by pamount View Post
    I see small crumbs trapped in the bottom, but not on the crumb tray, that’s pretty much impossible to get out unless i had some thin brush on a thin long handle. Plus what looks like bits of melted raisin near the bottom, that’s also hard to get out.

    I’ve had this toaster for a few years. Is it just safer to get rid of it and to buy a new toaster? They sure make these things hard to clean.
    That is why I have a workshop sized air compressor with 2 water traps in series. Hit it with about 40psi of dry air blast and those crumbs just disappear into the wide blue yonder. Safe for all electronics / electrical gear. Just make sure you are outside the house or your "significant other" may read you the riot act over the mess...
    magnafunk likes this.

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Posts
    262
    Quote Originally Posted by TampIt View Post
    That is why I have a workshop sized air compressor with 2 water traps in series. Hit it with about 40psi of dry air blast and those crumbs just disappear into the wide blue yonder. Safe for all electronics / electrical gear. Just make sure you are outside the house or your "significant other" may read you the riot act over the mess...
    How can a mere mortal like me cope?
    338 likes this.

  15. #15
    Senior Member Sullo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    State Of Insanity
    Posts
    1,377
    i had a toaster for years before i knew it had a removable tray wifey pointed out
    an your the technical one an didnt see that?
    yeah yeah but your shorter an can see it closer ��
    Dimal likes this.

  16. #16
    Senior Member level3ninja's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2013
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,998
    I just tip the whole toaster upsidedown and rattle/tap it to get the extras out
    Dimal, pamount and 338 like this.

  17. #17
    338
    338 is online now
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2017
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    1,028
    How many water traps do you use Ninja?
    Dimal and Yelta like this.

  18. #18
    Senior Member fatboy_1999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    2,137
    We had this happen once and it turned out to be a tiny bit of wire causing the trip. I gather it came loose from somewhere within but had landed in a place that caused a trip every time we clicked it down.
    A good clean helped to find it even though there were not a lot of crumbs at the time.
    If your toaster does not have a removable tray at the bottom, then perhaps you are better off with a new one.
    I thought the removable tray was pretty much standard over the last 20 years.
    Dimal likes this.

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Posts
    262
    I shook my toaster upside down and got a lot of crumbs out. It does have a crumb tray.

    After that I made toast. I boiled water in my electric kettle at the same time, to simulate the times the switch turned off in my smart meter. Apart from a slight smell from the toaster, nothing bad happened. I guess I just need to clean the toaster more often.
    Andy, Dimal, Javaphile and 1 others like this.

  20. #20
    Senior Member Yelta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2009
    Location
    Moonta SA.
    Posts
    7,367
    Quote Originally Posted by 338 View Post
    How many water traps do you use Ninja?
    I've got an old rabbit trap down in the shed, does that count?
    Too many rabbits in China..png
    Dimal and 338 like this.

  21. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Posts
    262
    (cough, cough) My Russell (cough, cough) Hobbs 2 slice toaster (cough, cough) works fine now.

    (I stopped using my Breville 4 slice toaster. I was told a 2 slice toaster would use less amps).

  22. #22
    Senior Member speleomike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    977
    Hi Pamount

    Stop reading these posts about what to do :-)

    Either get it checked out out by a qualified electrician who can use a PAT (Portable Appliance Tester) for shorts and earth leakage OR cut off its lead and send it to the local councils electronics recycling place.

    If it fails a PAT test then it still is probably repairable. Just a clean and rewiring by a qualified electrician. Much better for the environment to get it fixed. This might cost you more than getting a new one.

    Mike
    I'm also glad I don't live in his Unit :-)

    Posted in the interests of safety.
    Last edited by speleomike; 25th December 2019 at 07:24 PM. Reason: Added "qualified electrician" in case it was not obvious.

  23. #23
    Mal Dimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Warwick, QLD
    Posts
    17,580
    I don't think any of the advice offered by the any of the professionals here is beyond standard home maintenance practice.
    No one has suggested that he attacks any of the innards, wiring, elements, etc...

    Even my 92 yo mother knows how to do basic troubleshooting on appliances like toasters without causing risk. If the problem isn't obvious or simply rectified, then of to the appliance repair shop it goes.

    Mal.
    Yelta likes this.

  24. #24
    Senior Member noidle22's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Location
    Bathurst
    Posts
    1,257
    Quote Originally Posted by Dimal View Post
    If the problem isn't obvious or simply rectified, then of to the appliance repair shop it goes.
    There's no parts support for any toasters unless it's a Dualit (may possibly be more but they're the ones i know). I barely ever see toasters for this reason. Just last week i had a Breville toaster come in which needed a new power cord. I use quality silicone sheathed cables and including the labour, i charged as low as possible to make it viable for the customer otherwise they just would have gone and bought another one. It was pretty tight.

    Toasters and other small kitchen appliances have been relegated to hobbyists now really.

  25. #25
    Mal Dimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Warwick, QLD
    Posts
    17,580
    Yep, understand that Ok.
    Just making the point is all...

    Mal.

  26. #26
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Posts
    262
    I tried looking in the instruction book for my old 4 slice Breville toaster and I couldn't find how many amps it uses. It's the Breville 4 slice "Lift & Look Plus" BTA380, as per this link

    https://www.breville.com/au/en/produ...rs/bta380.html


    The Russell Hobbs 2 slice toaster I bought on sale, as part of a breakfast pack, is described at this link (as it happens, my Breville electric kettle wasn't always turning itself off when the water boiled. I bought it over a year ago).


    https://au.russellhobbs.com/products...d-kettle-black

    Again, I don't know how many amps this Russell Hobbs toaster uses. I just know I haven't experienced a problem so far.

    I've had the Breville toaster for some time and I don't know if it got damaged somehow when I moved house. I know my old fridge stopped working soon after I moved house and I wound up buying a new fridge.
    Last edited by pamount; 26th December 2019 at 12:29 AM.

  27. #27
    Mal Dimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Warwick, QLD
    Posts
    17,580
    From the website. this one draws 1.85KW - ~7.7 Amps.

    This one doesn't have the power spec's listed anywhere but I would allow 1.0KW - 4.2 Amps.
    Should be listed on the manufacturer's label under the toaster...

    Mal.
    pamount likes this.

  28. #28
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Location
    Melbourne, Victoria
    Posts
    262
    I looked underneath my new Russell Hobbs toaster and the sticker just says 220-240v, 50-60Hz, 715-850w.
    Last edited by pamount; 26th December 2019 at 05:27 PM.
    Dimal likes this.

  29. #29
    Senior Member speleomike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    977
    850W / 240V = 3.54 Amps but round it up to 3.6 anyways.

    But our "official" voltage is no longer 240 V but has been dropped to 230 V several years ago so it will probably pull a bit less current than this and not run at 850 Watts, that's a maximum.
    Dimal and pamount like this.

  30. #30
    Mal Dimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Warwick, QLD
    Posts
    17,580
    Should still allow for catchup with regard to line voltage...
    Lots of areas still operate at a nominal 240V despite the standardisation to 230V.

    Mal.



Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •