Results 1 to 30 of 30

Thread: Firefox

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    88

    Firefox

    Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Hey, I just notices that some pages on this website doesnt render correctly in Firefox. For instance the login box appears so far down that I need to scroll to get to it. Same with PMs, etc.

    Any chance of getting this fixed?

    Im a s/w person, so Im happy to spend a bit of time to fix such things if need be :-)

  2. #2
    Senior Member fatboy_1999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    2,129

    Re: Firefox

    I get this in Firefox too.
    The login is only on rare occasions as I log in for keeps, but I do notice it for the PM issue.

    Ive mentioned it before and it the replies seemed to suggest it was not happening for all Firefox users.

    Im using FF at work currently. Ill check how it reacts here.

    Yep - same issues. Version 2.0.0.14
    When selecting PM, or modifying a post, or login, detail only starts some point below requiring page or scroll down.

  3. #3
    Senior Member Magic_Matt's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Northlandia
    Posts
    1,363

    Re: Firefox

    On a not-entirely-unrelated note, June 17 is Firefox Download Day.

    Presumably theyre going by US time as theres nothing to indicate its kicked off as yet...

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    88

    Re: Firefox

    Here is a screenshot of this page in firefox, demonstrating the problem.


  5. #5
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    88

    Re: Firefox

    Quote Originally Posted by m@ link=1213662125/0#2 date=1213662631
    On a not-entirely-unrelated note, June 17 is Firefox Download Day.

    Presumably theyre going by US time as theres nothing to indicate its kicked off as yet...
    Yep, Im waiting for the email telling me to download it! The states are at least 10 hours behind us (i think) so Im not expecting an email for a while yet.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    88

    Re: Firefox

    Ok, I think its something to do with how much content it on the page. If there is heaps, then it displays correctly. If theres not, then it stuffs up.
    Here are screenshots for firefox, ie, and safari showing the differences. I reckon there is some code that is trying to center something vertically (or something) that stuffs up. It seems to work fine for pages with a lot of content.

    Firefox:


    Ie:


    Safari:


  7. #7
    Mal Dimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Warwick, QLD
    Posts
    17,112

    Re: Firefox

    Have been using Firefox for a long time and the couple of odd quirks it may have are far outweighed by all the benefits and flexibility in my opinion. 8-)

    Regarding the Login, why dont you just Login down at the bottom of the front page? Once the page is loaded, hit the "End" button on your keyboard, Login and youre away. Seems pretty straight forward and easy to me? :-?

    Mal.

  8. #8
    Super Moderator scoota_gal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    4,126

    Re: Firefox

    Or do what I do and dont log in or out, just let the browser log you in automatically.

    Im with Mal, it seems to be a lot of worrying over nothing.


  9. #9
    Senior Member speleomike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    942

    Re: Firefox

    Hi all
    Actually when I first joined ages ago I clicked login and nothing happened. I clicked login again and still nothing, I was gonna give up till I paged down and saw the login.

    I think the problem may be that the login is in a div that is floated and something else is pushing the div down the page. With so many divs it may be a hard one to solve. Firefox may be doing everything correctly.

    Mike

  10. #10
    Senior Member fatboy_1999's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    2,129

    Re: Firefox

    I wouldnt say it is worrying.
    I dont really care if this issue remains but surely we should report these anomalies shouldnt we?

    And it isnt just on login. It also happens for me on PM menu and when I modify a post.



  11. #11
    Super Moderator scoota_gal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Posts
    4,126

    Re: Firefox

    Yes...but I have this strange sense of dejavu that it has all been discussed before.

    Maybe we have talked about this and just havent seen it as a big problem... :-?

  12. #12
    Mal Dimal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Warwick, QLD
    Posts
    17,112

    Re: Firefox

    Quote Originally Posted by fatboy link=1213662125/0#9 date=1213688848
    And it isnt just on login. It also happens for me on PM menu and when I modify a post.
    Hmmm,

    I dont strike this phenomenon at all fb, when used in Windows or Linux :-?.... When ever I PM, start a new post, reply to a post, modify a post or any of the variations that are possible, the page always loads at exactly the correct position on the screen. Perhaps it might be worthwhile to check the config of your particular Firefox installation by going to the custom config page and typing in the URL "about:config". You can then refer to the Mozilla website for hints on what each parameter does and how to change them, if necessary...

    Cheers mate :),
    Mal.


  13. #13
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    88

    Re: Firefox

    I hear what youre saying Mal. And now that Ive worked out what its doing Im happy. However, when I first came across this site, i couldnt work out how to sign in. Im only suggesting that we fix it, because this site is awesome, and I dont want people to be deterred from using it because they have trouble logging in. Especially since its probably only one line of code that needs fixing ;-)

    When a page comes up blank, most users (including me) assume that the page doesnt exist, and navigate away.

    Ill have a quick look through the css files later on and see if I can work it out.

    Humphrey

  14. #14
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    107

    Re: Firefox

    Glad this came up, wondered if it was just a glitch my end.

    Did cause me some confusion too when I first joined, would reload pages looking for the content, nothing but the sponsors header would come up?? Twigged after a little while when I spotted the scrollbar on the right... /slaps forehead/

    Once aware of it, its no biggie, I just scroll down to the content, but I agree it is a little confusing for newbies & if possible to be fixed could ease the way for noobs in particular.


    Cheers...................Sean

  15. #15
    Super Moderator Javaphile's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Earth!
    Posts
    15,871

    Re: Firefox

    The download becomes available at 1800 BST.

    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/technology/7457503.stm


    Java "Bite Bill!" phile

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Posts
    61

    Re: Firefox

    And it looks really good and seems a lot faster, much more at Opera speed.

    S

  17. #17
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Posts
    83

    Re: Firefox

    I am running Firefox 3 and the CS login page display problem persists. I think about 50% of new users who struck this problem would leave the site thinking log on was not possible. The same page in IE does not have this problem.

    Chris

  18. #18
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    113

    Re: Firefox

    Quote Originally Posted by cjhfield link=1213662125/0#16 date=1213862768
    I am running Firefox 3 *and the CS login page display problem persists. I think about 50% of new users who struck this problem would leave the site thinking log on was *not possible. The same page in IE does not have this problem.

    Chris
    yeah, i get the same problem with firefox 3, my work around is an auto login..

  19. #19
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    172

    Re: Firefox

    Quote Originally Posted by Javanation link=1213662125/0#17 date=1214295051
    Quote Originally Posted by cjhfield link=1213662125/0#16 date=1213862768
    I am running Firefox 3 *and the CS login page display problem persists. I think about 50% of new users who struck this problem would leave the site thinking log on was *not possible. The same page in IE does not have this problem.

    Chris
    yeah, i get the same problem with firefox 3, my work around is an auto login..

    Auto login doesnt work right either though. I am on FF3 and it still doesnt kick in until I have clicked on a thread. I get the same thing in Safari.

    And now the spinning wheel loading icon keeps going for quite a while in FF3.

    There are probably several programmers who visit who would gladly help to fix it. Or even migrate to a newer system. Just recruit a few people to do it and give them a few beans for the effort.

  20. #20
    Senior Member flynnaus's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2008
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    4,126

    Re: Firefox

    Quote Originally Posted by recurve boy link=1213662125/0#18 date=1215646831
    Auto login doesnt work right either though. I am on FF3 and it still doesnt kick in until I have clicked on a thread. I get the same thing in Safari.

    And now the spinning wheel loading icon keeps going for quite a while in FF3.

    There are probably several programmers who visit who would gladly help to fix it. Or even migrate to a newer system. Just recruit a few people to do it and give them a few beans for the effort.
    I use FF3 on both Windows and Linux and I dont have any problems with autologin on either. Each time I load the CS page I will still be logged in as long as the cookie remains. Do you have FF set to clear private data on exit? If so that may be why - the session cookie is deleted.

    I still get the login window appearing at the bottom. Either the coding of the forum software is changed or Andy adds a message near the top of the screen for FF users to scroll to the bottom

  21. #21
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    172

    Re: Firefox

    Quote Originally Posted by flynnaus link=1213662125/0#19 date=1215650928
    Do you have FF set to clear private data on exit? If so that may be why - the session cookie is deleted.
    Nope. Been there done that. Andy suggested the same thing before. Doesnt work.

    But again. Lets stop offering work arounds and get some volunteers to fix it! Ill help! We can meet every couple Saturdays and code and drink coffee at one of the sponsors. Ill be fun. But not before September! I have to finish my current project first!

  22. #22
    Senior Member speleomike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    942

    Re: Firefox

    Hi all

    The problem originates in the iframe that loads the ads on the left hand side. In the code its marked LEFT MARGIN ADS - 120x120

    IFRAME SRC="/banner-b.asp" WIDTH=160 HEIGHT=550 etc....

    Its this 550 height that pushes down the login. Im not sure why it does push it down. I have a minimal login page that replicates the problem that I can zip up and send people if they wish.

    Now that you know the location of the problem the folks that generate the code dynamically can get a handle on what they need to change to fix it. Perhaps recode the table layout.

    Mike

  23. #23
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    172

    Re: Firefox

    Same problem with iPhone Safari...

  24. #24
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Sep 2006
    Posts
    172

    Re: Firefox

    Hey! Fixed! Thanks!

  25. #25
    Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Springwood NSW
    Posts
    33

    Firefox versus Safari

    I have similar problems but I use Safari instead - as it is too complicated to even bother...... everyone has at least two web browsers...... dont they? So I use Safari instead. Flies like a dream with Coffee Snobs.

  26. #26
    sdg
    sdg is offline
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    368

    Re: Firefox

    Quote Originally Posted by recurve boy link=1213662125/20#23 date=1216909600
    Hey! Fixed! Thanks!

    Not for me it aint >:(

    Every time I go to logon I sit there for a second waiting for something to happen. Grrr.

  27. #27
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    120

    Re: Firefox

    no, its not fixed for FF3...the problem also happens when you do search, for example

  28. #28
    Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    86

    Re: Firefox

    Using the W3C validator, the home page has 214 errors! I expect its the forum code that doesnt comply, so it does funny things from time to time. One page from the forum has 365 errors. Maybe it wouldnt hurt for some of the software gurus to lend a hand one of these days.

    http://validator.w3.org/


  29. #29
    sdg
    sdg is offline
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    368

    Re: Firefox

    I think a few people did indicate willingness to lend a hand with this; sadly there hasnt been a response.

    While I know a bit about html and php, I know nothing about yabb and how it goes about building pages. It might not be as simple as it "looks".

    On the other hand, the pages do display correctly in IE, at least the last time I looked, and that really sux >:(

    Not that Im a Mozilla partisan or anything ::)


  30. #30
    Senior Member speleomike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Nov 2005
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    942

    Re: Firefox

    Hi all

    See my post earlier. I have attached a zip file which shows that if you move the login table and div to just below the TOP BANNER AD 486x60 it will fix the problem in Firefox as far as I can work out. I can send a minimal HTML example if needed.

    See the comments in the file CoffeeSnobs_Login_New/index.html by searching for the 4 lines that contain LOGIN

    I used the ScapBook plugin to save the login page so the structure/files may be different to what is on the server.

    Mike






Similar Threads

  1. I-macros and Firefox users
    By beanflying in forum Off Topic
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15th July 2010, 06:55 PM
  2. Problem with Firefox display?
    By robodoc in forum General News
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16th November 2006, 08:53 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •