Results 1 to 17 of 17

Thread: HTC Touch Pro

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    194

    HTC Touch Pro

    Gene Cafe Coffee Roaster $850 - Free Beans Free Freight
    Well, because theres an iPhone post from an iPhone, and i just got my new toy... Posted from my HTC Touch Pro

    Totally loving this toy.


  2. #2
    Sleep is overrated Thundergod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    10,496

    Re: HTC Touch Pro

    Interesting.

    I tried logging in with my old Nokia.
    I can get to this thread but dont see any options to post.

    It seems like my login failed.


    EDIT: Verified. I logged out and checked the view. It looks the same as on my phone.
    I wonder why I cant log in from the phone?

  3. #3
    Senior Member Koffee_Kosmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    5,113

    Re: HTC Touch Pro

    I have the older version JasJam made by HTC running on Windows Mobile 6
    I only use it as a contact manager now and as a back up phone

    Works a treat

    KK

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    194

    Re: HTC Touch Pro

    yeah my previous phone was a dopod 838 pro... same as jasjam... The step forward is pretty awesome.

  5. #5
    Senior Member Koffee_Kosmo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Brisbane
    Posts
    5,113

    Re: HTC Touch Pro

    I like the new HTC Diamond with slide keyboard
    I believe that the pro is a diamond with a keyboard (is that right)
    I also heard that WM 6.1 has a few teething problems

    But if I was to get another phone it would be one with Windows Mobile
    Connectivity is important especially word documents and contact manager

    raphec enjoy the new toy ;)
    KK




  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1,077

    Re: HTC Touch Pro

    Raphec
    Who is you provider?
    We are still waiting for our Telstra account manager to advise that they are available on our corporate account.

    KK Yes the pro is the diamond with the slide keyboard. We havent had any teething problems with units running WM 6.1 but aparently battery life is relatively poor

    I am also waiting on the Samsung Omnia to be released in about 4 - 6 weeks i believe, had a play with one at MS TechED and liked what i saw.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2008
    Posts
    194

    Re: HTC Touch Pro

    I am with three. From discussions on wp, it hasnt yet passed telstras testing.

  8. #8
    CoffeeSnobs Owner Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    16,605
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: HTC Touch Pro


    So the 6 month update?

    Im in the market for a phone. Well the wifes phone is about to croak and if I give her mine then I can get a new one
    ;)

    What do I want?

    Pocket sized that with a "go go gadget" turns into a 24" flatscreen and real keyboard so I can post on CS and reply to emails on the move.

    Ok, so that is a few years off.

    The HTC phones look interesting, the Touch Pro and the Touch HD.

    It was suggested to me by a friend that a Bluetooth keyboard in the van might be the best option for typing.... I like that idea.

    Anyway... Im curious how you have found the HTC Touch Pro after half a year.


  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1,077

    Re: HTC Touch Pro

    Hi Andy
    HTC stands for "heap of total crap"
    We have been using HTC as our core PDA for staff, our fleet is about 120 units but not for much longer. They are buggy and show symptops of rebooting, freezing, poor battery life.

    They started to give issues when they release the Touch Dual and havent got any better. I ran an old Dopod for about 2.5 years and yes i had to reset it every couple of weeks, it was still relatively stable.

    Yes our end users are dumb and not IT savvy but they expect results and a stable device. We dont have a massive need for staff to write documents on a PDA, just to be able to view emails and respond, callendar etc.

    I have been trialling the IPhone for the last month or so and surprisingly i am a convert of sorts. Yes it has its limitations like not being able to edit word/excel docs and you have to purchase applications etc for tasks, storing files on the phone. Bluetooth connectivity could be easier and VPN could be a little smarter for those people not running cisco but on the whole its as stable as anything.

    We also have tried the Nokia E71 and thats as user friendly as a sub with flywire screens on the port holes.
    In the last month or so we have had about 10 units back for repair for various reasons both HTC and E71s.

    I am sorting out the enterprise configuration deployment at the moment and if i can get some answers from apple that are satisfactory then i think we will give both HTC and E71s the flick.

    You could look at the Samsung Omnia or the Sony Experian X1 or Googles new unit but who has the time or the money to purchase every unit that comes out and test for staff.

    Good luck with your quest, i sure have no idea on the best unit, with such a plethora of units and them being release all the time i guess its always going to be a difficult decision.

    Mal

  10. #10
    CoffeeSnobs Owner Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    16,605
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: HTC Touch Pro


    Quote Originally Posted by 000D0E00620 link=1222512202/8#8 date=1235334438
    You could look at the Samsung Omnia or the Sony Experian X1 or Googles new unit
    I noticed you had mentioned the Samsung previously (prior to release) and yes, it looks pretty good too as long as the HTC problems that you are seeing are not just WinCE problems.

    Quote Originally Posted by 000D0E00620 link=1222512202/8#8 date=1235334438
    but who has the time or the money to purchase every unit that comes out and test for staff.
    Which is why I rely on the good folk at CoffeeSnobs for my tech-toy fodder.
    ;)

    Thanks Mal, real world stories (not just sales blurb) is great to hear. Ill go and poke and prod some phones today.







  11. #11
    b
    b is offline
    Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2008
    Posts
    76

    Re: HTC Touch Pro

    Quote Originally Posted by 3B36353B590 link=1222512202/8#8 date=1235334438
    HTC stands for "heap of total crap"
    Haha. My Touch Dual takes longer to boot up than my PC, spontaneously and randomly switches off, freezes, randomly refuses to send texts for hours on end, requires charging daily, has a 5% synchronisation error rate with my work server (accurate enough for me to rely on it, inaccurate enough to miss crucial meetings), has a undisableable camera shutter sound that is too loud to use indoors and the picture doesnt take until the end of the 4 second wizzwhiiirrrclickclack!, a useless camera picture, a complete mish mash of a directory structure, insists on converting docs when file transferring, changes the proxy settings if I connect to a PC, randomly refuses to go into bluetooth or come out of airplane mode.

    On the up side, it keeps track of multiple email accounts quite well, I have downloaded a fix for the annoying company security lock-out, the cube allows me to stick 9 speed dial faces on the screen.

  12. #12
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2009
    Posts
    19

    Re: HTC Touch Pro

    Im not sure about the Touch Pro but I have the HTC Touch which I bought in 2007 and its still going strong today. I have found its battery life to be excellent, its easy to operate and there are never any synching probs.

    While my friends were out busting their chops to get their mitts on the new iPhone, I was finding mine worked just as well if not better than some of its features, namely the phone and battery aspects.

    Money well spent.

  13. #13
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Posts
    168

    Re: HTC Touch Pro

    Not to rain on anyones parade.

    But I use a Blackberry Bold, its wondrous with the beta OS 2.37. Speed,y functional, and raw. No fancy bullshit with it.

    Did I mention that its probably the fastest phone on the market as far as OS performance goes? It does have a bit of trouble with the browser in terms of speed compared to other phones in its market, however, lately new browsers such as Bolt have been popping up.

    I regularly check coffeesnobs and jimseven on my little baby. Love the use of the trackball to browse through it all.

  14. #14
    CoffeeSnobs Owner Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    16,605
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: HTC Touch Pro

    Not many blackberry users hate their device.

    I shudder at the thought of the Blackberry server side software that I have setup 3 times in my life and everyone of those times I cursed those french developers. * The last server I configured I called Noxious (as in the weed that Blackberrys are in Australia). *Its still funny seeing all that sites users have to type noxious into their new devices.
    ;) *

    While delivering beans today I dropped into a couple of phone shops and had a fiddle with lots of gizmos

    The Blackberry Storm looked cute, I like the touch screen that depresses. *

    The HTC Touch HD was a real pig, slow, hard to use, had a nice screen though (so dont rush to upgrade Bartolino, you got a good one).

    I liked the Samsung i900 and F480. The Sony Experian X1 had a nice mechanical action but the interface was lacking and the screen pretty small.

    The local Telstra shop was great as they had most of the above phones, real phones, not plastic shells on a wire and they all had sim cards in them so I could connect to coffeesnobs to get an idea of how it would browse.

    Now Im going on a totally different track...

    http://store.vodafone.com.au/OfferLanding.aspx?oid=1132

    Not a phone, a UMPC that will do email and web far easier than a fiddly little stylus or touch screen. *Is far smaller than my notebook and boots a lot faster and has no moving parts.... and with 5GB of data per month it has "unlimited Internet" *(I wont get near that usage on the road). *802.11 wireless, bluetooth and solid-state drive that I can backup to a USB thumbdrive and the total cost is less than $2 a day for a couple of years.

    ...and now I can buy a phone that makes phone calls!


  15. #15
    TC
    TC is offline
    .
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    Melbourne
    Posts
    14,665

    Re: HTC Touch Pro

    Good solution Andy,

    Im going down that pathway too but not with the Voda deal.

    With an outright purchase and prepaid (in my case with 3), I get 12gig to use over 12 months which will be ample for me. All up cost over 2 years is $548 + $278 to set up with 3 + $129 for 12 gig more data next year.

    Chris

  16. #16
    CoffeeSnobs Owner Andy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2004
    Location
    Internet
    Posts
    16,605
    Blog Entries
    1

    Re: HTC Touch Pro


    Even better numbers Chris. Paula and I already use "3" 3G phones, the gotcha for us with 3 is the crazy expense when your 3 broadband roams out of 3 and into Telstra... something like $1.85/Mb

    3 is great in the city but we spend a fair amount of time in between too so the Voda which is slow out of 3g network but at the same cost will work best for us.

    Late last year 3 announced that they will be buying/using wholsale Telstra NextG services so their coverage will get better too (although at slower than NextG speeds when roaming off the 3 network).

    The irony is that 3 and Voda merged a couple of weeks ago so it might not matter at the end of the day.

    Vodafone and Optus are mates, 3 and Vodafone are partners, 3 is using some Telstra infrastructure... weird.

    I think Ive really hijacked this thread, sorry raphec.
    :o

  17. #17
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1,077

    Re: HTC Touch Pro

    Good solution.

    I have been toying with the idea of one of these for use on the train and perhaps dumping my Sony Vaio but i then need to deal with issues such as security, syncronisation of data back to the domain.

    I would then also need to purchase a new home machine to run my home business and i just dont feel like spending the money on that one just yet.

    And we also had our IT budget cut by 150K so its now on the back burner.

    Perhaps next year



Similar Threads

  1. Jura C9 one touch
    By smithmatt0807 in forum Brewing Equipment - Pointy End ($1500-$3000)
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12th September 2010, 08:42 PM
  2. Rocky or K3 Touch?
    By frikanim in forum Grinders
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 25th January 2010, 04:25 PM
  3. K3 touch mod
    By Gra in forum Grinders
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10th January 2010, 07:33 PM
  4. K3 touch
    By coastal_coffee in forum Grinders
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29th June 2007, 09:54 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •